We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Palme

Save Saved
You added Le Palme to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Venere.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Le Palme
via Salita Dello Spinale, 23, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 31 hotels in Amalfi
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“A very pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This B&B is amazing. I originally planned to just take a day trip from Rome to Amalfi to take the Amalfi Coast powerboat tour, but I was advised to stay the night prior so I can make it to the tour early morning. Le Palme was suggested to me by the tour organizer as a reasonably priced, family-owned B&B. I therefore emailed Le Palme to get a quote, and got an immediate reply. Based on the quote, I was expecting a room with no windows, with just a bed, which was exactly what I was looking for, as I did not plan to stay long.

When I entered the B&B, I was pleasantly surprised. It was nestled in the hills of Pogerola, facing the Amalfi coast, with dramatic views of the ocean. Every room I was told had a view of the ocean, including mine. Antonietta, the receptionist was very friendly. I loved my room which was spacious, had a large bed, TV, A/C, safe, closet, bathroom (small). It had glass doors so you can see the ocean in the distance, with separate wood panels that can be closed if total privacy is desired. It was a bit late when I arrived, and I asked where I could have dinner. Antonietta recommended the restaurant uphill which the owner also ran. The owner himself and his little tyke, came to get me in his Vespa and 3 of us rode back (10-min romantic walk or short bus ride uphill) to his restaurant where his wife herself prepares the food. The place had open dining, and had a very nice twilight view of the small houses dotting the surrounding hills. Reminded me of those little Italian hamlet towns they feature on travel magazines, only known to seasoned travellers. Food was decent, housewine superb!

The only draw back to this place is that it is a good 15min bus ride from downtown Amalfi. However, it is located along the trail running from the top of the mountain to downtown, and I was told it was only a 30min leisurely trek downhill to get downtown from the B&B. Personally I would have loved to do it if I had time, as the view would be breathtaking. It is also about an 8min walk downstairs from the highway above, though someone can meet you at the bus stop to help with your luggage. (You might wanna factor this in if you're planning to catch a bus at a specific time schedule to go downtown).

All in all, this is definitely not the Ritz, but a great value for the price! I ended up staying for 2 nights and 3 days, and enjoyed every minute of it! Pogerola has a very enchanting view of the coast, and this little B&B was perfectly positioned for one to appreciate the grandeur of the Mediterranean, especially at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    72
    10
    5
    10
See reviews for
31
144
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Antoinetta and her extended family provide gracious and warm hospitality in this stunning small hotel nestled into the cliffs above Amalfi. The view is one of the best on the Peninsula, the pool is relaxing and the rooms very comfortable. Prepare to do some stairs (301) to get to and from your car but it is so worth it. Try the Expresso Limona!!

Brian and Madeleine, Caledon, Canada

Room Tip: Ours was on the main floor adjacent to the terrace. Very comfortable! There is also a stunning littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Le Palme for 2 nights and felt warmly welcomed and well looked after throughout. There were always offers of delicious red orange juice when we returned from being out. Antonietta and Sonia couldn't have been more helpful, even using the internet and making phonecalls to find information for us about boat times and how to make some journeys.

The bed was comfortable and the terraces were very tranquil places to relax and soak up some sun when you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of Amalfi for a while! The breakfast was big and tasty- ham and cheese toasties, toast, cakes, jam filled croissants, coffee, and set us up for the day.

As other people have mentioned, the hotel is uphill from Amalfi, so be prepared for a climb, but definitely don't let this put you off- It is worth it! And it is a pleasant walk past interesting buildings and lemon groves, etc. Going downhill is no problem and to get back you can walk or take a short bus trip to near Pogerola (Excelsior Hotel), and then walk downhill to Le Palme. While we were there, they were fitting a stairlift to the hotel from the entrance uphill, so soon after taking the bus uphill, you can get the stairlift down.

Also, we would recommend going to their restaurant in Atrani (also called Le Palme). Delicious food and great service. Highly recommend the pasta with scorpion fish sauce!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitaia, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for three nights as part of our hiatus to Europe. The service was great - all the staff were really friendly and helpful - we were even greeted with a glass of cold orange juice which was nice after lugging our backpacks down the hill. The breakfast and coffee in the morning was great. The homemade lemoncello in the minibar was delicious (plus all the mini bar was reasonalbly priced). We also went to their restraunt in Atrani - much recommended. The rooms were spotless and the hotel is a really nice place to relax. The owner was fantastic, and we felt like we were treated like old friends rather than just customers. It did not seem like the staff were out to make money at all - they even did a load of laundry for us!

We were aware that there was a long walk with many steps to Amalfi, but the walk was really scenic and stunning. Not to bad if you have a good base of fitness. There was talk of the hotel putting a lift in sometime soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Hotel Pros - Away from manic Amalfi town, great views, peaceful quiet surroundings, cheap minibar for emergencies, nice terrace for outside dining/ drinks, safe area for walking anytime, authentic rustic place to stay, good maid service, Jacuzzi bath!!!

Cons - Bit far from town/shops, have to walk up to bus or looong way down to town, no internet, boring breakfast of croissants, cake and ham/cheese toastie EVERY DAY, prices on mini bar cropped up on final bill which happens a lot in Italy!

Naples Airport to Amalfi/ Le Palme:
3 euro shuttle bus to Naples Centrale Sation (25 mins)
Regionle train to Salerno (40 mins) (From Platform 23-25) 3 Euro approx (make sure you get on correct train as Naples station is crazy, beggers everywhere, confusing place)

Ferry to Amalfi - (35 mins) 6 Euro (better than bus and realxing) from harbour, only 5 min walk from train. If not running, get SITA bus to Amalfi (get ticket from Tabacco/newsagent shops before.)

In Amalfi - get SITA bus 2.40 Euro to Hotel Excelsior from main shelter, walk down steps that start just at edge of hotel just along from hotel enterance (look like fire escape or private hotel steps but they are for Le Palme) Keep walking, can't get lost, hotel is on your right through gate.

To reach Amalfi from Le Palme - walk back to Excelsior and get SITA (Bus tickets avail. from Excelsior reception) or walk down abotu 20 mins to town (not for the unfit though - liek me)

TIP FOR SHORT CUT UP/DOWN HILL: Take the Excelsior lift which is half way down hill up to their pool area, walk round to hotel entrance to get to bus or sneak in hotel door to get the other lift to their reception. Pretend like you are a guest of course or they will quiz you.

Also, their internet access is just past their reception - its free - so walk in and use it. Only advised for confident people who can bluff the hotel staff if quizzed. Enjoy their cocktail lounge too, they show sports on TV. 4 star services for free!! lol!

HIT: Positano, Capri, Pompeii, "Andrea Pansa" cake shop in main piazza - GORG CAKES!
MISS: Atrani, Naples, Sorrento

Italy has a "Me First" culture for queues/ boarding bus etc, hanging back is a sign of naivety or stupidity, so stand your ground to rude Italians and don't lose your place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

whats good:
- lovely place and great rooms; wonderful view of the sea
- very friendly staff (they will try to make anything happen for you... cooking classes, fresh sea food.. just ask!)

whats bad:
- you have to take a detour i.e. change bus, go uphill, climb down about 300-400 stairs to get there; - having said that, the staff helped us with carrying luggage up and down.
- its very tough to find it on your own

make sure u call them before you land up so they can help you find the place and carry luggage.

Overall, if you only want to sit back, stare at the sea, have great roast port and wine and relax... definitely a YES!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We spent a week in Le Palme Hotel and I would happily recommend it to anyone. Yes, there are the steps to deal with! But as long as you're of a reasonable level of fitness, it's not a major problem, and in return for aching legs you receive wonderful personal service and a slice of authentic, beautiful Italy. The views are out of this world. The family who run the hotel are so friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was gorgeous, croissants, cakes, coffee and toasties every morning served on the sunny terrace overlooking the coast. The room itself was pretty small, but perfectly adequate and very clean. The air conditioning worked a treat and the mini bar was very reasonably priced. At these amazing rates (cheapest we found in Amalfi), you can't ask for anything more!

The area itself is breathtakingly beautiful. Amalfi is a lovely little town which has a fantastic buzz after dark. Ravello, high in the mountains, is very quaint and romantic. Positano is another lovely little place to visit, and everywhere we went the service was friendly, welcoming and mostly english-speaking. And the food........ahhhh the food!! So fresh, simple and delicious, in almost every restaurant we went in. Naples, by contrast, we found to be a total disappointment. It's a dirty, neglected city which we couldn't wait to leave! We spent a day at the ruins of Pompeii and I can easily say it's the one thing you must see in the area. It's just jaw-dropping and way exceeded our expectations.

All in all we would heartily recommend this little hotel. It's tucked away, but well worth the minor inconvenience for such a relaxing, welcoming experience in a stunning location. Thanks to all the family at the hotel for making out holiday on the Amalfi Coast such an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palme

Also Known As:
Le Palme Amalfi
Le Palme Hotel Amalfi
Address: via Salita Dello Spinale, 23, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amalfi
#11 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The warm welcome of the Cuomo Family, the comfort of the room, the small swimming pool, the wonderful view on the Amalfi Coast, guarantees you a relaxing stay at very convenient prices.The House is linked with a restaurant situated just 20 meters away from the beach of Atrani, which proposes a traditional and creative cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Palme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.