We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace & Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cloister of Paradise (Chiostro del Paradiso)

Cloister of Paradise (Chiostro del Paradiso)
Largo Filippo Augustariccio, Amalfi, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 16 Attractions in Amalfi
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Worksop, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Peace & Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Walking into the cloisters with it's Mediterranean garden at it's centre, exuded a peace and tranquillity rarely found in an area of such activity as Amalfi. the frescoes from the middle ages and the early Roman & Greek remains told the story of the history of Amalfi. I would recommend that everyone should have 5 minutes of the peace of this place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    24
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“too small and nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I felt the fee to enter is donation to the Duomo. Unless you are interested in the historical architect or something, it may be worth, but otherwise, I could not find any special here for pay.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I had no idea that this wonderful place existed in Amalfi's cathedral. We walked down the marble steps and into a beautiful sanctuary. I sat quietly for several minutes and just took in the elegance and glory of this amazing place. In all of Italy, it was one of my favorite spots. The artwork is amazing and the statues are superbe. There were very few people, which made the visit even more pleasant. The history of this place is rich with intrigue and mystery. We are going back to Amalfi next year and I will be visiting this magical place again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

A lot of reviewers highly recommend this. The cloister is lovely, calm and peaceful. Interesting place to see.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Ancient, peaceful, beautiful, fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Next to Amalfi's cathedral is il Chiostro del Paradiso (the cloister of paradise), built in 1266 as the cemetery for Amalfi’s nobility, its white columns and pointed arches reflect the Arabic influence often seen along this coastline. It’s now an open-air museum, with ancient pillars, sarcophagi and mosaics on display and a beautiful central garden.
Adjoining the cloister is the Basilica of the Crucifix, built in 596AD it was the original cathedral and is now a museum containing some beautiful frescoes. We spend an hour or so of our last rainy morning in Amalfi wandering through the almost deserted cloister, basilica and crypt ... raindrops plunking into the fountain in the cloister’s courtyard creating a perfect soundtrack. Despite visiting Amalfi twice before I had no idea these beautiful ancient sites were here - no wonder it’s a UNESCO site.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cloister of Paradise (Chiostro del Paradiso) also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Cloister of Paradise (Chiostro del Paradiso)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cloister of Paradise (Chiostro del Paradiso), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.