We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colourful hotel in the centre of Amalfi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sharon House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sharon House to your Saves list
Sharon House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Curiali 4, 84011, Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Colourful hotel in the centre of Amalfi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

We arrived in Amalfi by boat and walked to the hotel, which was less than five minutes from the port. The whole place reminded me of a childrens nursery, it was very colourful ! The staff were friendly, breakfast had a good selection of different foods and our room was quiet and airy.. One of the main advantages of this hotel is that it is in great position for the bars, shops and restaurants. If I was staying overnight in Amalfi I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
BC Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Sharon house is clean and tiddy that is true. But is very basic at best, with minimal accomodations. The hotel is very difficult to find when driving a car, as the main road they are on is limited to local traffic only. The breakfast other reviewers are raving about consisted of cereal, yogurt, bread and some cheese slices. Served in a dorm like atmosphere?

Don't get me wrong..it's not that I dislike the place, I just think it isnt worth the price to be a liitle closer to Amalfis highly commercialized main road.

Next time we will stay at one of the other "hotels" with more services and comfort, and walk alittle further to the town.

Oh did I forget to mention the tomb like staircase that houses the industrial elevator?

Sorry, but Sharon House is not for us.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malatoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Ok so you've read it's a great location but the staff are also friendly and helpful. I was pleasantly surprised that this bed and breakfast place was more like a hotel. Rooms were bright, very roomy, had air conditioning and smelled of sweet fragrance all the time...I couldn't work out where it was coming from. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was very modern.

I enjoyed my stay here very much and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone, it's in the heart of everything but tucked away from the noise, after exiting the hotel and walking onto the cobbled footpath there is a convenience store which sells all food supplies you will need. We bought our drinks and food from here to save on money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

We chose to stay at this hotel after reading its excellent reviews on tripadvisor.com...and it was a good decision.

The hotel is very little and is located in a building shared with another hotel and private apartments. It might get a bit difficult to find, because Via dei Curiali is a small alley, but you only have to pay attention to a sign located on Lorenzo D´Amalfi street and you will have no problems.

A reviewer described the hotel as a "hidden gem"...well, he is absolutely right. T

he location is more than excellent: two blocks away from the Duomo, and close to Amalfi´s main street, Via Lorenzo d´Amalfi. In consequence you can reach ALL Amalfitan attractions walking (Just check it on Google Earth). Souvenir shops where you can by the typical lemon products and restaurants are wtihin meters from the hotel. And to make things more convenient there is a small supermaket next to its entrance.

The rooms were great. They included a big and clean bathroom, cable TV, air conditioning and a small refrigerator. There was also plenty of natural light and space. And from the windows you could see the mountains surrounding Amalfi.

Breakfast was also very good (it also included prosciutto), as different food was offered to you.

But the best thing of the hotel was its staff. They were very attentive and they help you in everything you needed, and they are willing to help you discover the Amalfitan coast as they are pleased to tell you tips on how to enjoy more your stay. They also help you to choose the best way to go to Naples´ Capodichino Airport (In fact one of the girls at the front desk saved us from loosing our flight).In addition, they help us to recover our bags after Air France left all of them at Charles de Gaulle Airport. Every member of the staff didn´t hesitate to assist you in any possible way...including the husband of one of ladies working there.

The bottom line, an excellent price-quality relation, wonderful staff and superb location, make the Sharon House Hotel one of the best places to stay in Amalfi.

  • Liked — Location, Staff, Price-Quality Relation
  • Disliked — The Lift
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TitoMontevideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

I stayed one night while touring the Amalfi coast. This was a great hotel. Quiet and close to the shops, restaurants and beach. Tip: Go to Atrani to swim. The beach is much nicer and less crowded. Both front desk woman who I spoke to were nice and spoke great English. Odd; checkout is the night before and they kept my passport until I paid.

  • Liked — quiet and nice location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank injerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

The hotel has a lively, mediterranean atmosphere with bright colors. It is right in Amalfi; the Cathedral, the beach, plenty of restaurants, cafes and shops are easily reached in no time.

Our room was comfortable, spacious and clean.

The breakfast was good enough (by Italy standards) and although staff were overseeing us, we were not offered any tea or coffee on our first morning.

We were not at all impressed by the hotel's policy of retaining passports for the duration of the stay and found some of the other terms and rules a little draconian, such as requesting guests to settle their account bill by 9pm the night before the departure..

They were very conscious about run-away visitors who did not pay at the end of their stay and clearly every visitor were treated as a pottential run-away. Ironicaly there was no-one at the reception in the mornings to check-out. In fact, we often found no-one at the reception.The security was very poor. Consequently there was nobody to keep an eye on the keys left at the reception (very much insisted that we leave). It appeared that anyone could walk in and out and help themselves to the keys all too easily.

The hotel has some assets, like central location but the security issue and some of hotel policies need to be revised for customer satisfaction.

We would recommend this hotel mainly because of its central location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Security was very poor
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perihelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tana, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

Location, in the middle of the city. Cleanliness. Helpful and friendly staff. Quiet despite location near by the crowded main road. We think value wasn't the best, but we were there in the middle of august and there were very few alternatives.

  • Liked — New and modern, location, quietness.
  • Disliked — Lift - to small. No place outside (rooftop)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frans68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Floridiana Hotel
Floridiana Hotel
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Albergo Sant'Andrea
Albergo Sant'Andrea
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#5 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharon House

Address: Via dei Curiali 4, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#6 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sharon House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Sharon House" is a brand new B & B located in the Center of Amalfi town in a very convenient and strategic position for tourist that want to visit freely the entire "Amalfi Coast" or that want to enjoy the summer bathing on the beautiful beaches of the area or who is just passing through to reach new goals… In any case, the "Sharon House" remains the Ideal Location, being close to the bus terminal and to the tourist pier or from the main public and private parking. Despite its centrality the "Sharon House" remains very quiet and far from the noise of "trafficking" town, with its rooms overlooking a beautiful private garden or on a characteristic and typically charming square, ensuring guests moments of relaxation and serenity ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Sharon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharon Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing