We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, bright and beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sharon House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sharon House to your Saves list
Sharon House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fresh, bright and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I chose this based on trip advisor recommendations and it is surpassing my hopes and expectations. Sharon House has so much to recommend it. Lovely bright clean spacious bedroom ( we are in room 3), Monsoon shower, complimentary tea making facilities, fridge stocked with wine, juice and water. Wifi access. Gorgeous roof top with chairs and 2 sun loungers. Stunning view up there of duomo and the sea and mountains. The breakfast is amazing. Lovely selection of cereal, fresh and canned fruit, cakes, cold meats, cheese, eggs and delicious vegetables in olive oil.
Lisa and Maria offer free guided tours of Amalfi and Ravello of which we took advantage plus they booked a day trip for us to Pompeii and Vesuvius and guided us to jet boat trip to Capri. Also recommended and booked superb local restaurants. What a service! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
71
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anfeh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

spent 3 night in this amazing hotel, great location in Amalfi Coast, just few meters to the center. the room are lovely, clean and big. I had 11 days vacation in italy and i stayed in 3 different hotels including this one. Sharon house was the best between all. I do recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I was there in 7/2012 in a family of four with parents approaching 60 and two children in mid and late 20s. We are a middle class family with middle class travel expectations. Subjectively, we thought this was our best hotel in Italy of the 5 cities we stayed in. Objective positives: was extremely clean and comfortable. We had a loft setup, with two twin beds on the upper part and queen on the bottom. The colors and furniture were bright, fresh, clean, and new. The shower had enough room for a woman to shave her legs (it was a problem for me and my mom in other cities). Located in the center of the piazza del duomo of amalfi. Polite and helpful staff which assisted with planning of excursions. Breakfast was the most plentiful of any hotel. Dairy, of course sweets/carbs, meats and cheeses, and canned fruit. Fresh whole fruit also available and coffee varieties are prepared cup by cup upon request to the morning staff (as opposed to a machine in other hotels).

Objective negatives: not many. The water leaked onto the bathroom tiles from the shower. There are church bells near by that go off frequently, but are hard to hear while sleeping. When other guests start moving around in the hallways it is a bit audible, especially on the upper floor. The a/c unit is directed downward, so the upper level becomes quite warm and difficult to sleep in.

Personally, we thought it was easy to find but agree that the signage could be more frequent. The hotel gives great directions in advance if requested.

Overall, wanted to stay there longer and would gladly stay there for a month if needed! Best hotel, for us, in Italy. Easily meets needs of comfort for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Lovely little hotel, perfectly situated for everything in Amalfi. I was worried it could be noisy at night as it's just off the main street but it was really quiet We stayed in the Junior Suite for 5 days which was great. Staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. I made a small complaint one day about the pillows being really flat , and they said they understood and made sure they got new ones for us that night. This is the only minus point I can make. The breakfast buffet was great considering it's pretty hard to get a decent breakfast in Italy and the coffee was great. Would 100% stay here again as it's fantastic value for money and a lovely friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Juior Suite is great and quity roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Location is great but a little difficult to find. There was a sign on the main road but when continuing along, the next sign wasn't until INSIDE the lift. The only reason we found the place was because the staff member had come down to greet us and thank goodness or we would have been lost for hours!

The place had a funny smell which just gave us a headache! We were glad we had windows to open to air out the room.

The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. What I did very much like was the fact that they had a safe! The shower however, so hard to manage the temperature. One day boiling hot, the next day luke warm, very strange.

The breakfast was ok. They had A LOT of cakes, twinkies, donuts, just sweet stuff in general and those items do not go down well at that time of the morning. On the bright side, some are individually wrapped so great to take with you for snacks during the day. For breakfast, we stuck to juice, yoghurt, cereal and toast which we were happy with. Oh! The croissants were nasty. Very very old!

Overall, I think 100 euro per night is ok with daily breakfast for 2 but I walked away not feeling anything special.

I recommend this place but it doesn't hurt to do some research in the area too.

Oh! I do need to mention that the tour company they recommended to go to Pompei was awful! Do not do it!!! At least find your own transport or hire a scooter. If you do want to do a tour organise it yourself, don't rely on the hotel because they only use "certain" agencies. They tell you that you can only go to the volcano and Pompei on Tuesdays and Saturdays BUT I found a Rome company that does it FIVE days a week...
www.sightseeing.com

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at Sharon House as a solo traveller. I thought it was reasonably priced. Great location just off the main street and quite clearly signposted - I found it easily without even looking at a map or asking anyone where it was. The place feels quiet, comfortable, modern, spacious, bright and cheerful. My room and bathroom were very clean. If you don't want to stay in your room there is a roof terrace, a dining area, and a common lounge with books and sofas.

The breakfast buffet was outstanding, the best I had on my 4 week trip. It included bread, cereal, cakes, pastries, biscuits, quiche, omelettes, hardboiled eggs, fruit, yoghurt, tea/coffee/juices/water, cold meats, cheeses, skewers... actually I did have one disappointment - there wasn't enough room in my stomach to try everything on offer!

The staff were very friendly and helpful. On arrival I was given a map with recommendations as to where to eat and places to visit. The free evening tour of Amalfi suggested by Lisa, the owner, was an informative and entertaining introduction to the town and it's history (and included a limoncello tasting!)

Fantastic B&B, I don't think you could go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
269 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at Sharon House for four nights in their Junior Suite and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our visit. Centrally located, about 25 meters from the Duomo, this delightful B&B is more like a boutique hotel. Our suite had a separate sitting area for the TV, desk and mini-bar and our bathroom had a jacuzzi which was much appreciated after long walks in the hill towns near Amalfi. Breakfast included cappuccino, made to order, plus a wide range of fresh pastries, yogurt and juice. The front desk staff were extremely helpful coordinating ferry and bus schedules to facilitate our visits to Capri, Positano, Ravello and Paestum. Exceptional! We were especially appreciate for the help of Maria at the front desk, an extremely beautiful and kind young woman. I told her if I were a Hollywood talent scout I would offer her a film contract! :-) Our room rate (110 euro May 2012) was extremely reasonable considering the quality of the lodgings and the central location. It looks like they recently remodeled the entrance including a new elevator. We will definitely stay at Sharon House for our next trip to the Amalfi Coast! Heartedly recommended!

Room Tip: I would opt for the Junior Suite, with a charming view over a quiet piazzetta, jacuzzi tub and room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Floridiana Hotel
Floridiana Hotel
#2 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#7 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharon House

Address: Via dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#6 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sharon House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Sharon House" is a brand new B & B located in the Center of Amalfi town in a very convenient and strategic position for tourist that want to visit freely the entire "Amalfi Coast" or that want to enjoy the summer bathing on the beautiful beaches of the area or who is just passing through to reach new goals… In any case, the "Sharon House" remains the Ideal Location, being close to the bus terminal and to the tourist pier or from the main public and private parking. Despite its centrality the "Sharon House" remains very quiet and far from the noise of "trafficking" town, with its rooms overlooking a beautiful private garden or on a characteristic and typically charming square, ensuring guests moments of relaxation and serenity ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sharon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharon Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharon House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.