We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in the most beautiful town on the Amalfi Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Centrale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Centrale to your Saves list
Hotel Centrale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Duchi Piccolomini, | 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in the most beautiful town on the Amalfi Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Had an amazing one night stay here last week. Thanks to Giancarlo for picking us up at the port. A wonderful hotel in the most beautiful small town on the Amalfi Coast. We travelled here by boat from Capri......if you get the chance, visit both of these places !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghReds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights in Hotel Centrale - and it does live up to its name! You couldn't fint anywhere more central in Amalfi. The hotel is situated in the central square of the town and you are juy a few steps away from all the restaurants, shops and the beach. At the same time we did not have any trouble with noise from the street, apart from church bells in the morning - but they provided a very nice wake up call! Breakfast is served at the rooft top terrace where you have a wonderful view of the town and the sea. Although the beakfast selection is very limited, the croissants are fresh and very tasty ( you can also have yoghurt, cereal, bisquit toast and a couple of different types of cake + juice and coffee). Rooms are quite simple, and of acceptable size. We also had a small terrace with a sea view. The staff are very nice and cheerful, and helped us when we needed it even though their english was not great. However, at times there was noone at the reception so we had to wait quite a while to get help.

All in all this is a great place to stay in Amalfi if you are on a budget - we would definately book it again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneifr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalow, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I only stayed the one night here, but found this hotel good value. There's a few steps to get to it (but where doesn't in Amalfi?), but it is very reasonably priced and very central. The breakfast area has a great view of the central square and church. Beds are on the hard side, and the rooms are quite small but adequate.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We arrived on a Saturday at about 6pm and it took a while to realise the hotel was the second hotel up from the street. The receptionist had only a very small knowledge of English and I needed hand signals to let her know I needed 4 bags brought up from the street. She sent 4 children down to retrieve the luggage. We were then shown to our room which turned out to be 50 steps from the street up and down each day. Our travel agent said she had requested an upgraded room but we had a room that overlooked part of a street below and the back of buildings. it had a minute view to the sea between buildings. The room was bright and colourful and the bathroom very adequate for an Italian bathroom. The shower has been criticised in other reviews but we found it quite ingenious the way water did not get on the floor.
However, suggest you have a shower either early or at night because the water gets lukewarm by 8.30am. You must also decide if you want to use the refrigerator or the TV because there was only one PowerPoint that would fit the plugs for these appliances. We assumed the frig was broken until we pulled it out, discovered the power cord and swapped the TV for the frig.
The mattress on the bed was as hard as a rock which might suit some people but the pillows were also very hard.
Security at the front desk was non-existent. You left your key on the bench in the morning, with no one around, and picked it up in the afternoon and there was still no one around!
The breakfast room was sunny and lovely especially if you were lucky enough to get a table outside under the awning but it was very hot inside. The cereal was adequate, the only fruit available was prunes and there was no toaster because the bread choice was croissants or hard Italian bread rolls. However, there were plenty of sweet biscuits and cake if you should have a sweet tooth in the morning.
Having read about the family hospitality at this hotel we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scheza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

It was pouring down rain and nothing seem to be open the time of year that we came to Almalfi, Feb 2014. However, we found Hotel Centrale and were happy we did. The staff, family operated, greeted us at the door and were very helpful. They gave us a great rate for the rooms we booked. The floor was tiled and heated which was wonderful after being in the cold rain. The shower was big but I wanted hotter water. The room included wifi and breakfast. The breakfast was great. The owner made us awesome cappuccinos in the morning. The view from the breakfast terrace was beautiful because you overlooked the square and had a direct view of the church across the street. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The only negative was the noise from the kids in the hotel. I believe they were part of the family and live at the hotel. It wasn't a big issue and the noise stopped eventually at night. This was a great find on our stormy night. The location is terrific because it was not far from the buses back to Sorrento. Almafi is beautiful and this hotel definitely made our stay pleasant and welcoming.

Room Tip: There is a 3 person room that over looks the square which is very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel aviv
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We arrived without a reservation to that hotel,Giancarlo the own er of the place is amazing.. help us with everything.. From that moment we arrived, dropped , helped us with luggage , helped us with everything we needed , given current recommendations and most importantly did it all with a smile and truly from the heart .. we spent there three nights , when after the first night we asked to change into a different direction .. He helped us and even moved out luggage while we was outside. Besides of that,the hotel located on front of centre square and duomo/cathedral of Amalfi .. amazing, square surrounding the cafes and restaurants, right in the heart of Amalfi , until late at night walking around where people , despite the noise we were really fun, the hotel you can take a bus to nearby towns ravelo/Positano and more , you can take a cruise to Capri and Positano .. and you can walk crossing amalfi among all the restaurants and shops ..
Very fair price for compensation , the bed was fine, a bit small TV ( 21 inches ) and the toilet and shower were in excellent condition and clean .. Parking at the hotel is very expensive and Giancarlo attached us to someone that takes your car away for parking for 20 euros a day ( Giancarlo finally helped us get it little down for 3 nights) ... really had fun at the hotel and we strongly advise you to book your hotel safely with guaranteed (again depending on the price - we paid about 70 euros per night )

Room Tip: room 23 balcony is directed to the square, beautiful view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomer1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Finding this hotel if you drive into Amalfi is a little tricky as you need to park in the main circle by the water and they park you somewhere up the road for your stay. However, our stay was wonderful- the hotel is very cozy, family run, looks out over the main square and the Duomo, is surrounded by tons of restaurants and attractions and has a terrace up top. We brought back wine one night and the manager happily let us go up and use their glasses at the kitchen bar and we sat outside and enjoyed the evening. The only draw back was the early morning construction going on in the square that started around 6 or 7 each day, but I am sure that won't be ongoing indefinitely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelDoug18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.0 mi away
Albergo Sant'Andrea
Albergo Sant'Andrea
#10 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lidomare Hotel
Lidomare Hotel
#22 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#17 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#27 of 29 in Amalfi
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Largo Duchi Piccolomini, | 1, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Amalfi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing