We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in the most beautiful town on the Amalfi Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Centrale

Save Saved
You added Hotel Centrale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Duchi Piccolomini, | 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in the most beautiful town on the Amalfi Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Had an amazing one night stay here last week. Thanks to Giancarlo for picking us up at the port. A wonderful hotel in the most beautiful small town on the Amalfi Coast. We travelled here by boat from Capri......if you get the chance, visit both of these places !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    40
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
18
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We spent three nights in Hotel Centrale - and it does live up to its name! You couldn't fint anywhere more central in Amalfi. The hotel is situated in the central square of the town and you are juy a few steps away from all the restaurants, shops and the beach. At the same time we did not have any trouble with noise from the street, apart from church bells in the morning - but they provided a very nice wake up call! Breakfast is served at the rooft top terrace where you have a wonderful view of the town and the sea. Although the beakfast selection is very limited, the croissants are fresh and very tasty ( you can also have yoghurt, cereal, bisquit toast and a couple of different types of cake + juice and coffee). Rooms are quite simple, and of acceptable size. We also had a small terrace with a sea view. The staff are very nice and cheerful, and helped us when we needed it even though their english was not great. However, at times there was noone at the reception so we had to wait quite a while to get help.

All in all this is a great place to stay in Amalfi if you are on a budget - we would definately book it again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalow, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I only stayed the one night here, but found this hotel good value. There's a few steps to get to it (but where doesn't in Amalfi?), but it is very reasonably priced and very central. The breakfast area has a great view of the central square and church. Beds are on the hard side, and the rooms are quite small but adequate.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We arrived on a Saturday at about 6pm and it took a while to realise the hotel was the second hotel up from the street. The receptionist had only a very small knowledge of English and I needed hand signals to let her know I needed 4 bags brought up from the street. She sent 4 children down to retrieve the luggage. We were then shown to our room which turned out to be 50 steps from the street up and down each day. Our travel agent said she had requested an upgraded room but we had a room that overlooked part of a street below and the back of buildings. it had a minute view to the sea between buildings. The room was bright and colourful and the bathroom very adequate for an Italian bathroom. The shower has been criticised in other reviews but we found it quite ingenious the way water did not get on the floor.
However, suggest you have a shower either early or at night because the water gets lukewarm by 8.30am. You must also decide if you want to use the refrigerator or the TV because there was only one PowerPoint that would fit the plugs for these appliances. We assumed the frig was broken until we pulled it out, discovered the power cord and swapped the TV for the frig.
The mattress on the bed was as hard as a rock which might suit some people but the pillows were also very hard.
Security at the front desk was non-existent. You left your key on the bench in the morning, with no one around, and picked it up in the afternoon and there was still no one around!
The breakfast room was sunny and lovely especially if you were lucky enough to get a table outside under the awning but it was very hot inside. The cereal was adequate, the only fruit available was prunes and there was no toaster because the bread choice was croissants or hard Italian bread rolls. However, there were plenty of sweet biscuits and cake if you should have a sweet tooth in the morning.
Having read about the family hospitality at this hotel we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

It was pouring down rain and nothing seem to be open the time of year that we came to Almalfi, Feb 2014. However, we found Hotel Centrale and were happy we did. The staff, family operated, greeted us at the door and were very helpful. They gave us a great rate for the rooms we booked. The floor was tiled and heated which was wonderful after being in the cold rain. The shower was big but I wanted hotter water. The room included wifi and breakfast. The breakfast was great. The owner made us awesome cappuccinos in the morning. The view from the breakfast terrace was beautiful because you overlooked the square and had a direct view of the church across the street. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The only negative was the noise from the kids in the hotel. I believe they were part of the family and live at the hotel. It wasn't a big issue and the noise stopped eventually at night. This was a great find on our stormy night. The location is terrific because it was not far from the buses back to Sorrento. Almafi is beautiful and this hotel definitely made our stay pleasant and welcoming.

Room Tip: There is a 3 person room that over looks the square which is very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel aviv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We arrived without a reservation to that hotel,Giancarlo the own er of the place is amazing.. help us with everything.. From that moment we arrived, dropped , helped us with luggage , helped us with everything we needed , given current recommendations and most importantly did it all with a smile and truly from the heart .. we spent there three nights , when after the first night we asked to change into a different direction .. He helped us and even moved out luggage while we was outside. Besides of that,the hotel located on front of centre square and duomo/cathedral of Amalfi .. amazing, square surrounding the cafes and restaurants, right in the heart of Amalfi , until late at night walking around where people , despite the noise we were really fun, the hotel you can take a bus to nearby towns ravelo/Positano and more , you can take a cruise to Capri and Positano .. and you can walk crossing amalfi among all the restaurants and shops ..
Very fair price for compensation , the bed was fine, a bit small TV ( 21 inches ) and the toilet and shower were in excellent condition and clean .. Parking at the hotel is very expensive and Giancarlo attached us to someone that takes your car away for parking for 20 euros a day ( Giancarlo finally helped us get it little down for 3 nights) ... really had fun at the hotel and we strongly advise you to book your hotel safely with guaranteed (again depending on the price - we paid about 70 euros per night )

Room Tip: room 23 balcony is directed to the square, beautiful view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Finding this hotel if you drive into Amalfi is a little tricky as you need to park in the main circle by the water and they park you somewhere up the road for your stay. However, our stay was wonderful- the hotel is very cozy, family run, looks out over the main square and the Duomo, is surrounded by tons of restaurants and attractions and has a terrace up top. We brought back wine one night and the manager happily let us go up and use their glasses at the kitchen bar and we sat outside and enjoyed the evening. The only draw back was the early morning construction going on in the square that started around 6 or 7 each day, but I am sure that won't be ongoing indefinitely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Largo Duchi Piccolomini, | 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Centrale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.