We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Value. Thank you Giancarlo !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Centrale

Save Saved
You added Hotel Centrale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Centrale
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Duchi Piccolomini, | 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Tel aviv
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, Great Value. Thank you Giancarlo !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We arrived without a reservation to that hotel,Giancarlo the own er of the place is amazing.. help us with everything.. From that moment we arrived, dropped , helped us with luggage , helped us with everything we needed , given current recommendations and most importantly did it all with a smile and truly from the heart .. we spent there three nights , when after the first night we asked to change into a different direction .. He helped us and even moved out luggage while we was outside. Besides of that,the hotel located on front of centre square and duomo/cathedral of Amalfi .. amazing, square surrounding the cafes and restaurants, right in the heart of Amalfi , until late at night walking around where people , despite the noise we were really fun, the hotel you can take a bus to nearby towns ravelo/Positano and more , you can take a cruise to Capri and Positano .. and you can walk crossing amalfi among all the restaurants and shops ..
Very fair price for compensation , the bed was fine, a bit small TV ( 21 inches ) and the toilet and shower were in excellent condition and clean .. Parking at the hotel is very expensive and Giancarlo attached us to someone that takes your car away for parking for 20 euros a day ( Giancarlo finally helped us get it little down for 3 nights) ... really had fun at the hotel and we strongly advise you to book your hotel safely with guaranteed (again depending on the price - we paid about 70 euros per night )

Room Tip: room 23 balcony is directed to the square, beautiful view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    40
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
18
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Finding this hotel if you drive into Amalfi is a little tricky as you need to park in the main circle by the water and they park you somewhere up the road for your stay. However, our stay was wonderful- the hotel is very cozy, family run, looks out over the main square and the Duomo, is surrounded by tons of restaurants and attractions and has a terrace up top. We brought back wine one night and the manager happily let us go up and use their glasses at the kitchen bar and we sat outside and enjoyed the evening. The only draw back was the early morning construction going on in the square that started around 6 or 7 each day, but I am sure that won't be ongoing indefinitely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our room looks out directly over the central square and Duomo of Amalfi. In the evening, the pleasant October activity hummed us to sleep. But the morning was like listening to Stravinski, first a few lone motos or trucks, then a sweeper who dropped his broom, by 6 AM the garbage truck opened a fugue, and at 7 AM the church bells rang their first greeting of the day - enough rest for the wicked who went out to eat at a fashionable Italian hour the night before.
Our room is small, but clean, modern, and quite adequate. The owner has limited English and simply showed us the room upon arrival (we felt fortunate to have found the place off the square to the left and up a narrow flight of stairs. Neighborhood kids were playing soccer on the little square- at least we were not in the tourist rat race below. We had to ask about internet and time for breakfast- this information was neither printed or given to us at our not so gracious greeting. Breakfast on the roof is scenic, adequate, basic. The croissants were the high point.

Room Tip: QUieter at the back of the building, but view not as special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Right in the heart of Amalfi, a good spot to base your self to explore the area. A relatively basic hotel with a 3 star rating but the staff are friendly and helpful. In the evening head up to the terrace with a bottle of wine and watch the activity in the main piazza. Sure you can get better accommodation in Amalfi at higher prices but it will not match the location of the Centralle.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is an ideal little hotel for a short stay in Amalfi. It is right in the heart of the town and so within easy walking distance of all the attractions. Don't expect any frills, but the rooms are clean and comfortable albeit noisy at times due to the location. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly, breakfast is modest but the terrace is delightful. For a three star hotel this is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Very kind people. the highlight is certainly the terrace for breakfast . Location is perfect, central yet silent and everything readily accessible. Then of course Amalfi speaks for itself, it is such a dainty and romantic location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel has a fantastic location right in the centre of Amalfi overlooking the main square. However this does make it noisy, our room was at the back, but it was still quite noisy and a lot of clocks / bells chiming. The hotel staff were helpful and there is free wi-fi in the lobby. The room was clean, but definitely no frills. Air conditioning was noisy but didn't seem to actually cool the room at all. The breakfast was not great with coffee, which can only be described as horrible and the food selection was poor, but the location on the roof terrace was spectacular. I would stay here again, but don't expect luxury or a good night's sleep!

Room Tip: Back of the hotel doesn't have views of the square and is still quite noisy but a lot quieter th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Centrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Centrale

Address: Largo Duchi Piccolomini, | 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Centrale 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Centrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Centrale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.