We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms and service but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Villa Annalara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Relais Villa Annalara to your Saves list
Relais Villa Annalara
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via delle Cartiere 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 32 Amalfi B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice rooms and service but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

On our arrival we were told that our room was actually in another building ( i had heard such stories earlier about other hotels but only when it happened to us i realized how frustrating it is). Anyway post a short discussion we were offered a room in the same building (big relief but not the start you'd hope for). The room itself was quite nice with a clean bathroom, a TV and a mini bar. The breakfast was good too.

The hotel is about 800m uphill from the historic center which is not a huge problem unless you are manually carrying a huge amount of luggage or if there is an aged person in your group. After the 800m walk there is a lift at the end of a private tunnel that takes you to the hotel (slightly cumbersome approach if you are carrying a huge amount of luggage). The hotel boasts of wifi but the connectivity is limited to the reception area.

The terrace has a sea view!

Room Tip: There is aroom with a Jacuzzi if you fancy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    36
    4
    7
    4
See reviews for
24
82
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days whilst in Amalfi. The location is excellent - a short stroll down the main street to the cathedral and the seafront, and with stunning views from the very pretty terrace. Our room was lovely, spacious with a generous-sized bed and very clean bathroom. Breakfast is simple but enjoyable, and can be eaten on the pretty terrace overlooking Amalfi. The friendly owners were helpful and knowledgeable, and gave us a warm welcome. I would suggest asking for their help if parking a car, and bear in mind it's quite a walk so leave suitcases at the villa first!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was told 2 weeks before we were to stay there I had to have surgery for cancer. We contacted them right away, but we were still charged one night's stay plus 20% of a weeks stay. I understand that is their policy, but show some compassion. We would have loved to go, but could not. We booked this B&B thru Italia Booking and they took a percentage of the cancellation fee immediately after we notified them. Each one blamed the other for the charge. We were able to get all our money back from everywhere we were to stay including the airlines. They were the only ones who really could not care less. We were very much looking forward to this trip and would have been satisfied with a credit for a future trip, but that was never offered.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. Prior to this, we had a couple of sleepless nights in Sorrento, so the tranquility here was a blessing. Just a short walk up the main street, we were close enough to the main part of town, yet far enough back to enjoy the solitude. The villa had an amazing view of both the town and of the mountains behind it. There is an elevator that goes from street level to the villa, which was truly a blessing!

When we arrived, we were treated to a complimentary cappuccino, and they stored our luggage until the official check-in time. When we did return from our day trip, our luggage was already in our room waiting. We were given bus and ferry times and possible sight seeing itineraries were suggested.

Friendly staff, excellent service, and a decent breakfast. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here for 11 nights for our honeymoon and loved it! Its conveniently located less than 10 mins walk from the main square, but is far enough away to be quiet, The walk is very safe, and not at all 'shady' as in a previous review. The Annalara is situated part way up the valley side, so a convenient lift is located to take you from road level through a short tunnel. The tunnel is not accessible to the public.

We stayed in the Ciclamino room on the upper level with a small terrace. The room was nice, and the bed large. The views were fantastic down across Amalfi from the room terrace and also the breakfast terrace.

Breakfast was a simple self service continental style with cheese, ham, salami, bread, croissants, cereal etc, and delicious coffee made to order. The staff were very helpful, and we were given a bottle of wine on departure which was a nice touch. Payment by card is accepted, and receipts provided.

We would definitely stay here again!

we would no recommend taking a car to Amalfi. There's no need as the public transport is so good, and parking in the town is 20Euro/day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed two nights here in the Ciclomina room, as we had booked their sister hotel, Anticarepubblica and in the notes on the booking website, we asked for a sea view. As a result, they sent us here. They had a buggy collect us from Anticarepubblica and drive us up to the villa.

The room was up a few flights of stairs (although there was a lift this was not a wheelchair accessible room), and opened out onto a beautiful balcony overlooking Amalfi and the sea. The room itself had gorgeous decorative tiled floors, and walls, and a bath with jets for extra luxury!

The villa itself is about 5 minutes walking to the very middle of town.

Breakfast (included in the price) was coffee, cereals, bread, salami, cheeses, yoghurts, juice, croissants, and biscuits (cookies).

The villa didn't have great WiFi reception, although it was free, and there was no WiFi in our room, but we only needed to walk downstairs to use it.

Staff were friendly and even spoke a little English!

Overall, we thought this was a beautiful place to stay, and we thought the value was great.

(have a look at our attached photos)

Room Tip: We LOVED the Ciclomino room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Rooms were kept clean - the breakfast was good - The view for breakfast was awesome - it is also a great place to sip wine and enjoy the ocean/town and cliff views.

The walk to the property is short, pleasant, from the town center. The stairs/elevator were both fine options - we did stairs down, elevator up.

Both hosts were quite helpful and friendly -

As typical of these type inns, the rooms may have some architectural challenges (sloped ceiling height, or slightly awkward shower) and yeah, if they didn't exist, that would make it perfect - but it was darn close - Would make a 4.5 if I could, the only slight deduction in rating was for lack of broadband -

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Villa Annalara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Annalara

Address: Via delle Cartiere 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Villa Annalara 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Annalara is located on a steep rock, "la Villa", suspended between the mountains and the sea, in the historical center, in a particularly suggestive position. Ideal place where you can revitalize your body and soul, offers relax and strong emotions. The lift will lead our customers on a big terrace, nestled in the green landscape made of lemon trees and age-old plants, surrounded by bougainvilleas, rhododendrons and geraniums. It is like a window on the charming panorama of Amalfi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relais Villa Annalara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Hotel Annalara
Relais Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Villa Annalara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.