We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Compassion” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Villa Annalara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Villa Annalara to your Saves list
Relais Villa Annalara
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via delle Cartiere 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€90 (EUR)
Ranked #8 of 36 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“No Compassion”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was told 2 weeks before we were to stay there I had to have surgery for cancer. We contacted them right away, but we were still charged one night's stay plus 20% of a weeks stay. I understand that is their policy, but show some compassion. We would have loved to go, but could not. We booked this B&B thru Italia Booking and they took a percentage of the cancellation fee immediately after we notified them. Each one blamed the other for the charge. We were able to get all our money back from everywhere we were to stay including the airlines. They were the only ones who really could not care less. We were very much looking forward to this trip and would have been satisfied with a credit for a future trip, but that was never offered.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    39
    4
    7
    4
See reviews for
30
89
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. Prior to this, we had a couple of sleepless nights in Sorrento, so the tranquility here was a blessing. Just a short walk up the main street, we were close enough to the main part of town, yet far enough back to enjoy the solitude. The villa had an amazing view of both the town and of the mountains behind it. There is an elevator that goes from street level to the villa, which was truly a blessing!

When we arrived, we were treated to a complimentary cappuccino, and they stored our luggage until the official check-in time. When we did return from our day trip, our luggage was already in our room waiting. We were given bus and ferry times and possible sight seeing itineraries were suggested.

Friendly staff, excellent service, and a decent breakfast. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here for 11 nights for our honeymoon and loved it! Its conveniently located less than 10 mins walk from the main square, but is far enough away to be quiet, The walk is very safe, and not at all 'shady' as in a previous review. The Annalara is situated part way up the valley side, so a convenient lift is located to take you from road level through a short tunnel. The tunnel is not accessible to the public.

We stayed in the Ciclamino room on the upper level with a small terrace. The room was nice, and the bed large. The views were fantastic down across Amalfi from the room terrace and also the breakfast terrace.

Breakfast was a simple self service continental style with cheese, ham, salami, bread, croissants, cereal etc, and delicious coffee made to order. The staff were very helpful, and we were given a bottle of wine on departure which was a nice touch. Payment by card is accepted, and receipts provided.

We would definitely stay here again!

we would no recommend taking a car to Amalfi. There's no need as the public transport is so good, and parking in the town is 20Euro/day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed two nights here in the Ciclomina room, as we had booked their sister hotel, Anticarepubblica and in the notes on the booking website, we asked for a sea view. As a result, they sent us here. They had a buggy collect us from Anticarepubblica and drive us up to the villa.

The room was up a few flights of stairs (although there was a lift this was not a wheelchair accessible room), and opened out onto a beautiful balcony overlooking Amalfi and the sea. The room itself had gorgeous decorative tiled floors, and walls, and a bath with jets for extra luxury!

The villa itself is about 5 minutes walking to the very middle of town.

Breakfast (included in the price) was coffee, cereals, bread, salami, cheeses, yoghurts, juice, croissants, and biscuits (cookies).

The villa didn't have great WiFi reception, although it was free, and there was no WiFi in our room, but we only needed to walk downstairs to use it.

Staff were friendly and even spoke a little English!

Overall, we thought this was a beautiful place to stay, and we thought the value was great.

(have a look at our attached photos)

Room Tip: We LOVED the Ciclomino room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Rooms were kept clean - the breakfast was good - The view for breakfast was awesome - it is also a great place to sip wine and enjoy the ocean/town and cliff views.

The walk to the property is short, pleasant, from the town center. The stairs/elevator were both fine options - we did stairs down, elevator up.

Both hosts were quite helpful and friendly -

As typical of these type inns, the rooms may have some architectural challenges (sloped ceiling height, or slightly awkward shower) and yeah, if they didn't exist, that would make it perfect - but it was darn close - Would make a 4.5 if I could, the only slight deduction in rating was for lack of broadband -

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Not what I expected based on reviews on Trip Advisor.
Amalfi is a small town, and the location was on the outskirts out of the town and had to walk through suburban areas. The walk was unpleasant as you had to walk through a large tunnel and an overgrown garden. Very dark at night to walk up and seemed shady. The service of staff was average, and the rooms were not ready on check in. The room was not as clean - no doona cover, towels had small (alive) spiders in them.The staff also demand cash, and do not accept credit cards. They also do not provide receipts after taking the cash!! (Not a service they provide, as they explain in broken english).

In the morning, an under average breakfast was prepared - just crackers in packets and yoghurt and stale looking ham and cheese slices.

Unable to leave luggage at the hotel, and was told to go to the sister hotel 'Hotel Antica'. We enquired twice to ensure that the rang ahead to ensure we could leave our luggage. They assured us there would be someone there, however due to the unprofessionalism of this B&B, they did a dodgy on us. There sister hotel was locked, closed and no one answered the door. We were informed by another hotel that this Antica had closed up.

So in summary, unable to check in on time, a shady walk, unclean room with insects, poor breakfast, and staff were pushy to rush check out at 10am, even though breakfast was meant to complete at 10am. Unable to issue a receipt of payment when paying by cash.

This place has potential, but unfortunately run like a scam. I would recommend to stay in a larger more reputable hotel next time closer to the Amalfi action.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in early October 2010. Great location in quiet area away from main square, but we echo same comments of other reviews about steps & walk up hill. We quite enjoyed the location & took the steps many times all the way up. Incredible staff service and excellent dinner recommendations given!
Wi-fi would have been nice but don't know how good it would be since the internet signal was poor in Amalfi. Would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#12 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Antica Repubblica
Hotel Antica Repubblica
#11 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Hotel
Residence Hotel
#13 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#27 of 30 in Amalfi
3.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Miramalfi Hotel
Miramalfi Hotel
#19 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lidomare Hotel
Lidomare Hotel
#24 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Annalara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Annalara

Address: Via delle Cartiere 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Villa Annalara 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Annalara is located on a steep rock, "la Villa", suspended between the mountains and the sea, in the historical center, in a particularly suggestive position. Ideal place where you can revitalize your body and soul, offers relax and strong emotions. The lift will lead our customers on a big terrace, nestled in the green landscape made of lemon trees and age-old plants, surrounded by bougainvilleas, rhododendrons and geraniums. It is like a window on the charming panorama of Amalfi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Relais Villa Annalara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Hotel Annalara
Relais Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Villa Annalara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.