We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Villa Annalara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Relais Villa Annalara to your Saves list
Relais Villa Annalara
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via delle Cartiere 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 32 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Accra, Ghana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Villa with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. Prior to this, we had a couple of sleepless nights in Sorrento, so the tranquility here was a blessing. Just a short walk up the main street, we were close enough to the main part of town, yet far enough back to enjoy the solitude. The villa had an amazing view of both the town and of the mountains behind it. There is an elevator that goes from street level to the villa, which was truly a blessing!

When we arrived, we were treated to a complimentary cappuccino, and they stored our luggage until the official check-in time. When we did return from our day trip, our luggage was already in our room waiting. We were given bus and ferry times and possible sight seeing itineraries were suggested.

Friendly staff, excellent service, and a decent breakfast. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    36
    4
    7
    4
See reviews for
24
84
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here for 11 nights for our honeymoon and loved it! Its conveniently located less than 10 mins walk from the main square, but is far enough away to be quiet, The walk is very safe, and not at all 'shady' as in a previous review. The Annalara is situated part way up the valley side, so a convenient lift is located to take you from road level through a short tunnel. The tunnel is not accessible to the public.

We stayed in the Ciclamino room on the upper level with a small terrace. The room was nice, and the bed large. The views were fantastic down across Amalfi from the room terrace and also the breakfast terrace.

Breakfast was a simple self service continental style with cheese, ham, salami, bread, croissants, cereal etc, and delicious coffee made to order. The staff were very helpful, and we were given a bottle of wine on departure which was a nice touch. Payment by card is accepted, and receipts provided.

We would definitely stay here again!

we would no recommend taking a car to Amalfi. There's no need as the public transport is so good, and parking in the town is 20Euro/day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed two nights here in the Ciclomina room, as we had booked their sister hotel, Anticarepubblica and in the notes on the booking website, we asked for a sea view. As a result, they sent us here. They had a buggy collect us from Anticarepubblica and drive us up to the villa.

The room was up a few flights of stairs (although there was a lift this was not a wheelchair accessible room), and opened out onto a beautiful balcony overlooking Amalfi and the sea. The room itself had gorgeous decorative tiled floors, and walls, and a bath with jets for extra luxury!

The villa itself is about 5 minutes walking to the very middle of town.

Breakfast (included in the price) was coffee, cereals, bread, salami, cheeses, yoghurts, juice, croissants, and biscuits (cookies).

The villa didn't have great WiFi reception, although it was free, and there was no WiFi in our room, but we only needed to walk downstairs to use it.

Staff were friendly and even spoke a little English!

Overall, we thought this was a beautiful place to stay, and we thought the value was great.

(have a look at our attached photos)

Room Tip: We LOVED the Ciclomino room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Rooms were kept clean - the breakfast was good - The view for breakfast was awesome - it is also a great place to sip wine and enjoy the ocean/town and cliff views.

The walk to the property is short, pleasant, from the town center. The stairs/elevator were both fine options - we did stairs down, elevator up.

Both hosts were quite helpful and friendly -

As typical of these type inns, the rooms may have some architectural challenges (sloped ceiling height, or slightly awkward shower) and yeah, if they didn't exist, that would make it perfect - but it was darn close - Would make a 4.5 if I could, the only slight deduction in rating was for lack of broadband -

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Not what I expected based on reviews on Trip Advisor.
Amalfi is a small town, and the location was on the outskirts out of the town and had to walk through suburban areas. The walk was unpleasant as you had to walk through a large tunnel and an overgrown garden. Very dark at night to walk up and seemed shady. The service of staff was average, and the rooms were not ready on check in. The room was not as clean - no doona cover, towels had small (alive) spiders in them.The staff also demand cash, and do not accept credit cards. They also do not provide receipts after taking the cash!! (Not a service they provide, as they explain in broken english).

In the morning, an under average breakfast was prepared - just crackers in packets and yoghurt and stale looking ham and cheese slices.

Unable to leave luggage at the hotel, and was told to go to the sister hotel 'Hotel Antica'. We enquired twice to ensure that the rang ahead to ensure we could leave our luggage. They assured us there would be someone there, however due to the unprofessionalism of this B&B, they did a dodgy on us. There sister hotel was locked, closed and no one answered the door. We were informed by another hotel that this Antica had closed up.

So in summary, unable to check in on time, a shady walk, unclean room with insects, poor breakfast, and staff were pushy to rush check out at 10am, even though breakfast was meant to complete at 10am. Unable to issue a receipt of payment when paying by cash.

This place has potential, but unfortunately run like a scam. I would recommend to stay in a larger more reputable hotel next time closer to the Amalfi action.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in early October 2010. Great location in quiet area away from main square, but we echo same comments of other reviews about steps & walk up hill. We quite enjoyed the location & took the steps many times all the way up. Incredible staff service and excellent dinner recommendations given!
Wi-fi would have been nice but don't know how good it would be since the internet signal was poor in Amalfi. Would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Villa AnnaLara is on a little hill called Villa some 300 m from Amalfi centre. It is away from all the tourist noise and has the most awesome view. The hotel may be reached by stairs, but also with a little elevator. The elevator is at the end of a small tunnel which is very cool and great after a long and hot day. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We asked many questions and all were answered promptly. A great getaway and definately deserves a higher place than 7th B&B in Amalfi!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Villa Annalara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Annalara

Address: Via delle Cartiere 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Villa Annalara 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Annalara is located on a steep rock, "la Villa", suspended between the mountains and the sea, in the historical center, in a particularly suggestive position. Ideal place where you can revitalize your body and soul, offers relax and strong emotions. The lift will lead our customers on a big terrace, nestled in the green landscape made of lemon trees and age-old plants, surrounded by bougainvilleas, rhododendrons and geraniums. It is like a window on the charming panorama of Amalfi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Relais Villa Annalara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Hotel Annalara
Relais Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Villa Annalara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.