We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic accommodation in Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Rina Country House Amalfi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Rina Country House Amalfi to your Saves list
Villa Rina Country House Amalfi
Via Maestra dei Villaggi, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Idyllic accommodation in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Rina does say 'there are many steps', don't dismiss these words of warning!

But don't whatever you do let that put you off having a truly wonderful Italian holiday. Rina is there to help in whatever way she can, has great tips and advice and is a sensational cook. We stayed there for 5 days in June and those stairs put us in good stead for hiking in other parts of Italy. It's hard work but we did find out about a bus that stops high above the villa which makes it easier and it is a decent walk into Amalfi.

Would I stay there again, without hesitation, yes. Rina was a fantastic cook and walks into Amalfi each day to buy fresh what she doesn't grow, her Tiramisu was the best we have ever tasted. Superb fresh fish wrapped in lemon leaves, fresh seafood, all amazing.

Breakfast out on the balcony each morning was a great way to start the day. You can watch the little boats going out to fish, the ferries bringing their first load of passengers in and the occasional liner.

It's quiet here, a place to step away from the chaos of Amalfi centre. Wake up in the brass bed, open the shutters and let the sun melt into your bones, it's a wonderful way to start the day. Rina wants to make sure you love Villa Rina as much as she does, it isn't too hard.

Note - any trips booked through Rina require a cash payment when checking out and wi fi could be an issue.

Room Tip: They all face the ocean! The room at the top has a large balcony, great for sunbathing and washing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    7
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
62
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was a real find for us on weeks holiday around the coast - Rina's cooking is the best we have ever had and her hospitality and advice were much appreciated. It is a 20 minute walk from Amalfi but the views en route make it worth it - We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haderslev, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Is it luxury that matters to you, there are plenty of top-class and mainstream hotels in Amalfi to choose from, but is it more about the experience of authenticity in hospitality, helpfulness and outstanding italian food, Villa Rina is absolutely a necessity to have in consideration when the trip to Amalfi should be planned. Rina is a splendid host and she delivers a total experience of highest quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Yes, we did come back to this place. To get married at Villa Rina in Amalfi, the most beautiful place in Italy and definitely one of the most beautiful places in the world! We were thinking how to celebrate our wedding in Moscow and both my husband and I didn't like the idea. Then we started to think of different countries, cities, places but nothing seemed good enough. Suddenly my husband suggested to ask an advice from Rina, the owner of the villa (whom we knew from our previous visit) if she can recommend anything to us. To our surprise Rina told us she had one more villa renovated and opened in several months and confirmed it would be ready by the wedding. So we were absolutely thrilled by the idea and started the preparation. We even flew to Amalfi for an on-site visit to chose food, flowers, cake, meet photographer, make-up artist, etc. We checked the other villa called Il Porticiollo ourselves and it was amazing. There are hardly any words to describe this place. Rina was so keen about the wedding, she took over all the arrangements, took care of everything, she was so attentive to details and to all our wishes. I can’t tell you how helpful and useful she was. Rina did everything for us, besides, she is local and knows all the people and places around. Her ideas were brilliant and everything was truly perfectly organized. She event selected the small presents for our guests.
Villa Rina and Il Porticiollo accommodated 23 of our guests for 3 nights and 4 days, for the rest we rented out rooms in another place nearby. The rooms are so comfortable and so well decorated. The wedding ceremony was held in the beautiful garden overlooking the sea at Villa Rina. Then we had a reception on the terrace outdoor and in the evening we had a dinner and party at Villa Rina. We performed our wedding dance on the top of the villa, there is another terrace out there and it was terrific. All the guests were so shocked by the beauty of the place and the location.
The food and drinks were cooked by Rina and her assistants, it was all homemade, fresh and tasting like in a Michelin restaurant. There was such an assortment of different starters, anti-pasti and so on. I am not telling you how exceptional was the wine and limoncello. There were musicians playing and then the DJ. Also Rina found the Russian speaking lady who led the ceremony and we were so happy all our Russian guests perfectly understood her. The flowers arranged for the wedding were so unique and truly adorable. I had a bouquet of kalas and lilas.
All our big day felt like a beautiful dream. We also rented a Maserati car and went to Ravello with our photographer for a walk. In the meantime our guests were sent on a treasure-hunting quest in the heart of Amalfi. They enjoyed it so much. On the next day we rented a ship and went to Capri with all the guests. Rina prepared all the food and drinks for the trip and it was amazing again. All our guests keep telling us how perfect our wedding was. We could have never imagined our wedding would be so unique and so beautiful. We even planted a lemon tree in the garden to come back one day. Thanks to Rina and her place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We spent 4 nights in this fully restored B&B perched high above the Mediterranean. The innkeeper, Rina, is a delight. She makes delicious and breakfasts and full course Italian dinners. The food is so good, there is no reason to go to a restaurant. We had wonderful pasta and fresh fish every night - and the deserts were sinful.

The house is very clean and surrounded by Rina's garden were grows everything used at each meal. Rina makes her own wine, lemoncello (sp?) and olive oil. It's that you must climb many steps to get to Villa Rina, but, it is well worth the climb.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea. Ours had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed four very pleasant nights staying at Villa Rina in November 2012. Rina is a gracious and helpful host and her sound advice on where to sight see and when was invaluable. She is generous and warm hearted like a favorite aunt and her place is well situated and well appointed.Come and go as you please and she will brew up a welcome pot of tea when you arrive back. The food is great plenty to eat at breakfast and a lovely patio overlooking the sea to sit and enjoy. Very delightful and I would have no trouble recommending it to people who prefer a natural setting in the lemon groves and gardens.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent 3 nights with our wonderful hostess, Rina, and I cannot emphasize what an incredible experience it was. There were four of us and Rina could not have made our visit any better--except to maybe install an escalator to get to the Villa. There are definitely 400 steps to reach the villa and I can tell you I was absolutely terrified of the thought of those steps. It was not easy but I did it and it was worth the long sweaty 20 minute walk up the side of the mountain. Rina welcomed us with fresh made lemonade, a huge smile and a big hug. She is most enchanting and the best cook. Every ingredient she used came from her garden inc. the olive oil, wine, lemons and fresh herbs. Fresh bread. Desserts. And each morning Rina walked down into the village and purchased the fish for the evening meal. Straight off the boat so to speak. CAn't get much fresher! I will never forget the beautiful meals she prepared for us each evening. Believe me it was not worth eating in the village when you can sit comfortably on the terrace at Villa Rina's, overlooking Amalfi and the ocean and enjoy the best food in Amalfi prepared for by Rina. The rooms are modest but certainly sufficient and exceptionally clean. The views were breathtaking and something we will never forget. The walk to the village of Amalfi was a wonderful experience. We highly recommend a visit to Villa Rina. And Rina is someone you will never forget. Oh, and don't forget to try her own lemoncello! Did I mention the wine she made?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Rina Country House Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rina Country House Amalfi

Address: Via Maestra dei Villaggi, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Rina was formerly the residence of one of the noblest families of Amalfi. The villa has been fully renovated, and now offers all modern comforts, absolute privacy, a great view, and traditional cuisine. While preserving the character of the original 14th century Amalfi villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Rina Country House Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Rina Country House Amalfi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.