We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pergola Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Pergola Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Pergola Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Giovanni Augustariccio 10, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantasy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

A little ways outside of the town of Amalfi is La Pergola Hotel. It was nice to get out of the town after a day of exploring. The first nice thing was that the hotel has a small parking garage available to guests for a small fee...do not underestimate the importance of this! The service was friendly and helpful. Our room was charming and had a balcony with a gorgeous view. There is also the Lemon Terrace up on the roof that is large and relaxing and surrounded by the terraced gardens typical to the Amalfi area. When we wanted to go to dinner, the hotel called one of the nearby restaurants to have them send a car to get us. This was fantastic, since you do not want to access your car until you are ready to go somewhere else. The restaurant we visited was a little pricey, but totally worth it for the quality of the food and the service...and the view! I would stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    67
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
105
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel with very customer friendly staff. Our experience from the moment we arrived was great. It's a scary drive along the amalfi coast so we parked the car for the few days and used the buses as recommended by the staff - very helpful with best value tickets and ideas as to where we must see. Very good value for money and evening dinner was traditional Italian home cooked. Would be happy to recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My partner and I spent a long time trying to choose the perfect hotel for our first holiday together, but La Pergola surpassed all of our expectations. After a bit of a nightmare journey (the buses were on strike and no one seemed to know what was happening once we reached Napoli) we arrived at the hotel feeling a bit overwhelmed, but the staff were welcoming and extremely helpful. Our room had a balcony with a small table and chairs overlooking the sea, and could not have been more romantic!

The room and bathroom were spotless, and the service throughout our stay was excellent. Bus timetables, history of the area, where to buy tickets for trips - you name it, the staff will help. As a smaller, family run hotel La Pergola has a great atmosphere. The food at the hotel is also of a really high standard if you don't feel like walking into Amalfi, and you will almost certainly be offered a glass or two of free limoncello (which will blow your head off, in the best possible way). The roof terrace is open at all hours and extremely romantic, particularly in the evening.

The only point I would make is that I wouldn't stay here with young children. It's hard to say for sure as it might be different when the buses are running normally in the area, but what was a romantic and picturesque 25 minute walk along the coast road for a young couple would be very difficult for anyone with mobility problems or parents trying to keep young children out of the way of oncoming traffic. The hotel is not in central Amalfi, which is a bonus for anyone looking for a romantic getaway or a trip with friends, but not convenient for those with dependents.

I wish I could adequately express how picturesque and special this trip was, but I can't. Just stay at this hotel. Seriously, book it now!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I agonized choosing a hotel for our trip (not the first) to Amalfi and was very satisfied with my final choice. There are so many hotels along the coast to choose from. The hotel is located just outside of Amalfi. You either need a car or have to rely on the bus system. If you rent a car it should be as small as possible. Food in hotel was great and we ended up eating there twice. Would return again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalfi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We found the staff to be outstanding. They were so helpful and the hotel was clean and bright. They understood english and were customer friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I am without words. This is a truly a special Hotel that makes you feel a part of a family. The rooms has fantastic sea views. Room number 7 is my choice as it has a big balcony. The lemon terrace is fantastic. Fantastic fresh food served for breakfast and dinner.
Coffee and tea is made to your individual taste and the staff in this family run hotel could not be more helpful and welcoming. An evening meal is a delight and is cooked to your individual request by Rita who is an amazing chef and a hidden gem at this hotel. Pasta and seafood were delicious and her cakes and pastries are to die for. Daniele,Sara and Mario at reception speak very good English and give you information on the best way to travel around the area. This is a Hotel you will be coming back to again and again....

Room Tip: Room number 1,2,3 and 7 have a fantastic balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I've just returned from a week in Amalfi staying for the second time at this lovely hotel above the stunning Amalfi coast where we experienced Italian hospitality at it's very best. The hotel is in a pefect position to explore the whole of the Amalfi Coast with the Sita bus stopping outside in one direction to Positano and Sorrento and in the other direction 5 minutes into the centre of Amalfi with connections to buses and ferries for the whole region. All of the bedrooms have a sea view, some with balconies. The rooms are spotlessly clean and are serviiced each day and all have ensuite bathrooms, TV, hair dryer, mini bar etc There is wireless access in the bar/reception area and a laptop for guest useThere are two terraces with sea views where you can relax. The hotel is surrounded by it's own lemon grove and vegetable garden so you can wander up the terraces and enjoy the scent of the lemons. Breakfast is the best I have enjoyed with a selection of fresh fruit, pastries, yoghurts and wonderful Italian bread, salami and cheese etc. Coffee and tea is made to your individual taste and the staff in this family run hotel could not be more helpful and welcoming. An evening meal is a delight and is cooked to your individual request by Rita who is an amazing chef and a hidden gem at this hotel. Pasta and seafood were delicious and her cakes and pastries are to die for so no weight loss on this trip!!!Daniele,Sara and Mario at reception speak very good English and are a mine of information on the best way to travel around the area. We are already planning our next stay .

Room Tip: Four rooms have balconies with a table and chairs. Three rooms have a balcony just for standing, oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Pergola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pergola Hotel

Address: via Giovanni Augustariccio 10, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Amalfi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Pergola Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and Otel so you can book your La Pergola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Pergola
La Pergola Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pergola Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;