We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Place to stay in the Amalfi Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Floridiana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Floridiana Hotel to your Saves list
Floridiana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Brancia 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“THE Place to stay in the Amalfi Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Just stayed here based on the reviews of the other guests and it lived up to the reviews. First of all, the location is great! Right in the middle of town but hidden away in its own oasis. Rooms were clean and very charming. Staff is knowledgeable and friendly. Breakfast (included in the rate) was the best in Italy! Definitely stay here if you're thinking about staying along the Amalfi coast - easy access to the other towns and it isn't as congested as Sorrento or Positano.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    45
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
264
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

As soon as we stepped through the door of the Hotel Floridiana we knew we'd be well looked after. The staff were so friendly & accommodating and were concerned that we'd had to wheel our bags the 5 minute walk from the port to the hotel as they have a free luggage service!! The room was very spacious & the hotel very charming and full of character. The location is fantastic although the only downside of being so close to the Duomo is the bells which ring from about 7 in the morning so not much chance of a lie in! Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I liked everything about the place including breakfasts, free parking and free internet. Rooms are gorgeous.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed at the Floridiana for 9 nights in September 2010 and would heartily recommend both the hotel and the area for this length of break. You don't need a car as the buses are regular and the ferries are a great way to travel, although there aren't so many from mid-September onwards. The hotel staff were very welcoming but not in an in your face kind of way and the breakfast will keep you going for hours. We had a superior double room which was very spacious. We weren't bothered by the church bells, partly as we kept the window shut and the air con on low.

Amalfi has plenty of character but use the buses to explore Ravello and Positano (the buses run till late so you don't need to eat in Amalfi every night), the ferries to venture further afield and there are plenty of interesting walks, although you will need to climb a fair bit! There are a number of good restaurants in town (Da Gemma, Il Tari, Maccus, Pizzeria Donna Stella) and the bar opposite the Duomo is hard to beat at any time of day.

Getting there from Naples airport can be tricky to plan but we got the bus straight to Salerno and the ferry from there to Amalfi - a great way to arrive, and leave. All in all a great trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We booked 5 nights at Floridiana as part of a 10 day tour of the Amalfi Coast. I liked the look of the hotel and the reviews on tripadvisor promissed an excellent stay. We weren't dissapointed. On arrival we were greeted by the owner Agnese, who was very helpful (as were all the staff during our stay) and offered us a drink (it was quite walm when we arrived). She told us about everything we needed to know and nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel is completely spotless and I mean spotless. The rooms are well appointed with good quality fittings, minibar and gorgeous power shower. Probably the only things the room lacked was a full length mirror and views out the windows, but it is after all in the centre of town. The breakfast room is beautiful as is the breakfast itself.

I would definatly recommend visiting Amalfi by car, yes by car. Forget all the reviews on the net about not hiring a car, it is the only way to get around here. The hotel has a free garage. If you arrive along the coast from either Salerno way or Sorrento way just turn away from the seafront at the little roundabout (there is only one) in Amalfi into the main square. Ignore the no entry signs, you're special, you're stopping at the Floridiana and therefore you're allowed. Drive past the Cathedral thats on the right to the traffic light. This controls the traffic the the street which is only wide enough for one car at a time. It can be on red for up to 5mins so remember to turn off your engine or you'll get told off by the locals like i did. When green, drive up the street. The hotel is located up the first archway on your right just after the lights by only on foot. Keep driving up the street, I know its narrow but honestly, keep going you haven't gone wrong. Eventually the road widens to 2 lanes and the garage is located on the corner straight in front of you on the right.

The garage is open till 10pm but even after that you can obtain the remote key for the doors to put your car in at night. The hotel also has a porter who drives a little golf buggy to collect you and your luggage and drive you to the hotel. He also recommended the restaurant La Taverna Del Duca which is just by here the road widens, but honestly don't bother it is rubbish.

Agnese lets you use the internet anytime you want which is always useful. And will help you book any trips or tickets you want. She booked the Ravello concert tickets for us which is definatly worth going to. If you do go to Ravello, eat at the Restaurant Vittoria, very very good and not too expensive either. Easily the best meal we had it Italy.

To summarise, The Floridiana is spotless, welcoming and agnese is it's best asset. Of all the hotels we have stopped in this is one we will remember. The only thing that really lets the hotel down is Amalfi itself. A beautiful place no doubt, but just a bit small and not a lot going on. All that i would say is go to Amalfi, just not for more than a couple of nights. You could however, spend weeks at the floridiana.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

The hotel is located up a narrow flight of stairs off the main street of Amalfi, so within minutes of bars/restaurants/shops, but perhaps not so good for anyone with mobility problems. The free hotel car park is around 200 meters beyond the steps to the hotel, and they have a luggage service to bring your luggage from the car park to the hotel.

Our room was relatively small, but perfectly adequate. The hotel has a junior suite if you want something larger. Everything was immaculately clean and well kept. We found the hotel very quiet at night, but it’s close to the cathedral, and the church bells are rung every quarter hour from 7am to 10pm, so not so good if you’re not an early riser.

The electricity sockets in the hotel are not the standard European ones and the adaptors we had taken with us did not fit. However, there was one additional adaptor in the room which we could plug our normal European adaptor into. I have attached photos of the type of 3 pin sockets they have, although these photos were not taken at this hotel.

The 2 ladies who man the Reception (one is the owner) both speak perfect English, and were very welcoming. I have stayed in hotels all over Europe, Canada and USA, and I have to say that these 2 ladies were the most friendly and helpful of any Reception staff I have ever met! They made us coffee on arrival while we waited for our luggage to be brought down from the car park, gave advice on local buses and boats, and even let us use their own hotel computer and printer so that we could check-in online for our flight back to the UK.

If you like a small and friendly hotel, I would most definitely recommend Floridiana.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

A great location right in the heart of the main square in Amalfi. We paid 130EURs a night which included a parking spot at their garage. Although a little hard to find at first even with the instructions we worked it out and had a great 2 night stay. Continental breakfast was nice and the Manager was full of knowledge and always happy to help. We had the room right next to reception so it was a little noisy in the morning but have already recommended this to friends who are heading to Amalfi this week.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Floridiana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridiana Hotel

Address: Via Brancia 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#2 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Floridiana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Floridiana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floridiana Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floridiana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.