We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Floridiana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Floridiana Hotel to your Saves list
Floridiana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Brancia 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Naples, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

My husband and I are lucky enough live in Italy and we stayed in this hotel for a quick weekend trip to Amalfi. This is by far the best hotel we've stayed at in Italy! We had a junior suite (with jacuzzi) and thought the extra 20 euro a night was well worth it. The room had a second floor with a sitting area, the jacuzzi, and half bathroom. The second floor gave the room that extra something to open it up more and make it really special. The floors were tiled, and the room was directed in a beautiful blue and orange/gold theme.
The bathroom was simply wonderful! It was huge by any standard, and made even more so with what we are used to getting by with in Italian/European hotels. The shower had a sliding door, stone floor and tiled walls and had great water pressure.
Just so your expectations aren't TOO high- the bed is very hard but this is true of every single hotel we have stayed at in Europe, including some high end ones. The headboard also looked a bit incongruous in the room and the comforter appeared a bit shabby, but everything else was spotless.
Hotel also just started a free English tour of the town (possibly just once a week on Sunday though I can't be sure since we were only there a couple days; also cannot say how long this will last). Guide was very good, spoke English very well... I believe I heard him say he was part of the historical society. Everyone tipped him generously at the end, but it was still the cheapest tour I've ever taken and worth every penny. Increased my enjoyment of Amalfi much more than if I had just read the same old facts written in the tour books.
The directions provided in the confirmation email were right on- we had no troubles at all finding the garage and hotel. It is just off the main street and piazza, but far enough in that you don't get any of the noise. I think I counted 28 steps from the main street to the hotel door. About half of these stairs are pretty hefty- about a foot and a half tall- but you have to climb stairs in Amalfi!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    45
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
261
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, SK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

Just wanted to say thanks to TripAdvisor for this one. What a great place and all the positive reviews here are true. Can't say enough about it. I'd like to go back and stay longer. My only tip, you must go to Ravello for a day, it too is a don't miss. I don't normally post reviews about things but the service and hospitality of the staff at the Floridiana was so excellent that it spurred me on. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

Charmign little hotel in Amalfi. The location is superb. Just 2 mintue walk from the main square. Very nice staff. Consulted with them on many things, and they gladly helped. Price was very reasonable - payed ~80Euro per night.
Bed was very comfortable, room very bright and full of sunshine. Ask the reception for advice and recommended restaurants - they have some very good tips for off the beaten tourist track places.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2008

We stayed in the Hotel Floridiana in October this year and had a fantastic time. We stayed for 3 nights in the Junior suite and would recommend it to anyone staying in or around Amalfi. The directions were great and the drive from Naples was beautiful, we arrived mid afternoon on a Friday and the traffic was fine.

Upon arrival we were greated by name, with Prossecco in our room and lovely lotions next to the jacuzzi. At all times we were treated like family and we loved every second of it. I could get very used to a jacuzzi with a glass of prossecco of an evening! The bathroom was awsome, I am thinking of putting some blue nights in mine as i loved the look so much. The minibar was great, very reasonable, prossecco for 2euro a mini bottle.

The only thing I would say is that the buffet was not brilliant, but the coffee was lovely. To be honest though the food is so good in the region that you dont want to be full for lunch!

If anyone has any questions please feel free to get in touch!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2008

The roads getting into town were a little nerve racking, however the drive was beautiful and worth it.
The hotel parking (was free) but again the roads are narrow. The hotel gives excellent directions.
The hotel is located in the town square next to the cathedral, many restaurants and shops. It is also just a one minute walk to the sea where there are beautiful beaches and views. All the public transportation (buses and ferries) are also close and convenient.
The staff was warm friendly and extremely helpful.
The rooms were spacious clean and comfortable, I couldn't have asked for more.
This hotel was definitely worth the price, and I would recommend it to anyone traveling to Amalfi.

  • Liked — The location was perfect and the staff was excellant
  • Disliked — There were no views from the room as the hotel is in town.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

Having read the reviews I knew I must stay at the Hotel Floridiana in Amalfi when arranging my holiday in Italy. Agnese and MariaRosa are fantastic. Every morning Agnese and MariaRosa ask if everything is OK, do you need anything? what are your plans today? and then give information / suggestions. Room was big by Italian standards and the bathroom - well it was huge with a shower big enough to actually stand in AND turn around !! It really is like staying with family - Agnese gave me a hug and kiss when I left. Ciao Bella.

  • Liked — The genuine interest of the proprietor and staff to the guests
  • Disliked — Steps were a chore but there are steps everywhere in Amalfi!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

This small 13 room hotel was a gem. I loved the location and was impressed with the modern decor and clean rooms. The day staff speak perfect English and were right on top of the bus and ferry time schedules, which constantly change every week.

  • Liked — The helpful staff and the convient location
  • Disliked — The entrance is tucked away and not well defined
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Floridiana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridiana Hotel

Address: Via Brancia 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Floridiana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Floridiana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floridiana Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floridiana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.