We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the maddening crowd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Floridiana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Floridiana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Floridiana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Brancia 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Away from the maddening crowd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Excellent location right in the centre of the town, but hidden up some narrow steps so that it feels muc more remote from the tourist melee than it actually is. The rooms are average, to be honest, but good value for what we paid and about what you would expect for a three-star. The proprietors and staff were very helpful and attentive. Nice terrace on the roof.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    43
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
251
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed three nights and wish it could have been longer. The location could not be more central and great value for such a popular resort. It is reached up several flights of steps through a narrow entrance on the main street and stands on a secluded courtyard away from the hustle and bustle. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, nothing is too much trouble, and give very useful information on restaurants and places to visit,. The hotel is very clean and well maintained and the breakfast room is stunning. Breakfast has a wide range on offer, hot and cold, and is very generous. We had upgraded the room to the Junior Suite which was well worth the extra as it is very spacious accommodation on two levels (see the hotel website). There is a roof terrace (with a hot tub) which is good for relaxing. As we had a car the fact that Floridiana has a secure parking garage was a major factor in choosing it and a great relief not to have to think about the car during our stay. Their garage is towards the top end of the main street through town and steady nerves are needed to edge your way through the crowds on the narrow street. One way traffic flow is controlled by lights at each end of the long street so be prepared for a wait if they are red. Having phoned ahead to let the hotel know of our imminent arrival we were met at the garage by their staff and us and the luggage transported to the hotel by 'golf buggy'. The luggage was then carried up the steps to reception. All the information needed was given to us before arrival. A few steps from the hotel and you are in the main square in front of the cathedral and there is a host of restaurants to choose from, the L'Abside on the Piazza dei Dogi is excellent. The first night we just wandered up the main street and ate at La Taverna del Duca which looked very pleasant with al fresco dining. It was terrible beyond belief, the worst meal ever and appalling service. Do try to visit Ravello which is lovely and easily reached by bus. If you want a full day boat trip along the coast and grottoes with three hours at Capri the Amalfi Boat Excursion company is brilliant, just twelve people on a beautiful fast boat. Not cheap but well worth the money although try to book online in advance as it is very popular. If we return to Amalfi the Floridiana would definitely be the place to stay.

Room Tip: The junior suite is well worth the extra. Very spacious on two levels with a sitting area, two bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A very central location to visiting other locations on the coast . If you phone ahead about
20 minutes they have a service to help you with your luggage I think it stops about 7pm.
If the steps are to much for you there is a back exit and a grocery store right out the
Back door to pick water, wine or snacks.
I had a few questions prior to our visit and the owner always responded promptly and was
Very helpful. The lady at the front desk was wonderful to help us book tours.
I had asked if they had any strawberry yogurt one morning and the next morning the owner
Came to my table to make sure I strawberry yogurt. She had heard about my request
And bought some for me. The breakfast was so good we skipped lunch.
We opened our window at night and you could hear some noise but you ate in a city.
I travel a few times a year and have never came across a hotel that was this helpful
And always had a smile.
Even after we checked out and couldn't find our transfer they called for us.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We booked I think it was the superior room and were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Floridiana September 26 – 30, 2013. Their accommodations and service are OK (considering that it is only *** hotel). Perhaps the worst is the shower. It is a little 2 foot radius corner (see picture enclosed). So, if you’ll drop your soap, it is virtually impossible to pick it up. Nobody mentioned yet that there are a total of 38 steep steps leading there. Quite a hike.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delamere, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at Floridiana to 'celebrate' my 50th. A great location, right in the middle of beautiful Amalfi. The hotel was just perfect - lovely staff, great rooms and the breakfasts are superb. Amalfi is a great location to be based. Places to visit - Ravello (2.50 Euro return bus trip), a 16 Euro return boat trip to Positano and a guided tour to Pompeii (which is a must) which cost 46 Euro. We will return to Amalfi soon and will definitely stay at Floridiana again.

Simon & Tracey Underwood, Cheshire. UK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very nice place in the middle of Amalfi. Breakfast was awesome. So much food in a great room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have free parking although it's a hassle to get to their nearby garage. They have a hot tub you can ask for, but we didn't know beforehand so we didn't have our swimsuits. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I wasn't real sure I had selected a good location , but it turned out well. The whole Amalfi coast has an excellent transportation network to and from the major sites and the city of Amalfi seemed pretty centrally located. The hotel is what I would call " basic nice" with very friendly and helpful staff. I don't know if Eva is an owner, but she treats her customers like she is. The breakfast wasn't the best I experienced in Italy, but it was adequately average. For the money it was an excellent value. I would recommend to a friend who was looking for an excellent value

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Floridiana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridiana Hotel

Address: Via Brancia 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#2 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Floridiana Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Floridiana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floridiana Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floridiana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.