We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Floridiana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Floridiana Hotel to your Saves list
Floridiana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Brancia 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Floridiana came well-recommended from TripAdvisor. We recently stayed there for four nights and it was even better than we expected. It is conveniently located around the corner from the main road through Amalfi. It only takes a minute or two to walk to all of the shops and restaurants in the main part of Amalfi, including the Duomo, and only takes five minutes to walk to the beach or the bus stop (for excursions to Positano, Ravello, etc.). And even though you are right in the center of town, you get to the hotel by ducking down a small alleyway that leads you to a hidden courtyard, making the hotel a quiet oasis away from the hustle and bustle.

The hotel and rooms are beautiful and spotless. With two teenagers, we stayed in the quadruple junior suite. It had a queen size bed and large bathroom downstairs, and a loft with two pull-out beds for the kids, another bathroom, and a Jacuzzi tub. It is a great value and perfect for families traveling with older kids.

The included breakfast was also excellent and served in a dining hall with an incredible painted ceiling (it’s almost like a mini-Sistine Chapel). There was not only a wide range of foods to eat for breakfast, but lots of delicious cakes and pastries, too.

Probably the best part of our stay, however, was the staff. There are all amazingly friendly and helpful, and will happily answer all of your questions and provide recommendations for places to eat or things to do, and generally help you with anything that might come up. If we ever travel to Amalfi (or the Amalfi Coast) again, we would never consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: The two-level quadruple junior suite is perfect if you have older children. The main level has a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    49
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
68
285
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We started off our trip of Italy in Amalfi at the floridiana hotel and it was a great start. Perfect location lovely room, and excellent breakfast. Staff were very helpful not more I can say but thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Located right in the middle of town this is the place to stay if you come to Amalfi!!! After entering the reception area we were warmly greeted by I think the owner who was super friendly and offered us a drink straight away. The rooms are spacious and clean. The wifi works great and the breakfast had a wide selection to choose from. Every staff member we came across was so friendly and really made this place special. If you arrive by bus, walk to the main square and it is a 2 minute walk past the the church on the right just after after the traffic light.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Que, Canda
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great stay at the Floridiana, Agnese and her staff were wonderful, friendly & always helpful. From answering my emails with questions before leaving to bus & ferry schedules on site, and greeting us with a cold drink upon arrival.
My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights while on our honeymoon, and we were very happy with our selection offered by Air Transat.
Nestled in the Amalfi piazza, at walking distance from the piazza, beach, dock, and bus station.
Our room was spacious, with a large bathroom, in-room safe, and small fridge as well. Also 2 grocery stores available in town in case you want to do some shopping for fresh foods or water.

Hotel Floridiana offers a variety at breakfast time. From pastries, croissants, cereals, yogurt, toast….

Avoid room #2. We would be awoken every morning because our door would shake loudly. It sounded like it was the shaking from someone else slamming their door. Try to avoid this room to avoid the shaking.
Having been to Amalfi a few times, I knew getting there would not be easy if you don’t have a rented car. We took the bus from right outside the train station in Salerno, it’s a bit chaotic due to the fact that locals take this bus as well, and from there caught the bus to Amalfi for a long ride of the beautiful coast.
Salerno is 1.5 hours away bus ride or a 25 minute water jet/boat ride if in the peak time. Hotel offers a free baggage porter service which was very convenient, especially if your luggage is heavy, except if you arrive late or depart at an early time.

Overall experience was great, would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room #2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Prior to arriving I had numerous questions about where to arrive into Amalfi and how to get to my next destination. I received prompt and helpful replies from both Agnese and Eva.
The hotel was very close to the main square, and they have a free baggage porter service which was very convenient. I was impressed with the ease that the porter threw the bags onto his back, and quickly ran up the stairs and placed them in our room (smiling all the time).
The room was one of the renovated rooms (#3) and was large. The bathroom was also large with a great shower.
Breakfast in the morning was more European in style, rather than North American.
The hotel is in a great location. Close to the main square where you can easily catch a bus or ferry. Food options are plentiful, however some locations will only accept cash or they may only accept a credit card if you are having a full dinner. So best to ask first if this is an issue.
One of the great features of the hotel was the rooftop terrace. It was very peaceful and spacious. Each night we took our bottle of wine (purchased locally) upstairs with us to cap off the evening and take in the beautiful background.
We highly recommend this hotel. From our 9 day stay on the coast, our stay at the Floridiana was the most enjoyable.
(Note: We found a great restaurant that was somewhat hidden up a staircase off the main street. It was called restaurant de la Meme. We had dinner here twice. Great food, pricing and service. We also enjoyed a lunch by the marina at Lo Smeraldino.)

Room Tip: The first floor has renovated rooms. We were in #3. It was clean, new and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights in July, it was a great place to stay, the owner could not do any more for you, any thing you asked and that she could do she did. The hotel is very clean, the staff very friendly, the breakfast was all you could want and the breakfast room was amazing, it made me feel very special eating in such an amazing room. The hotel also has a roof terrace with a hot tub which was very welcome at the end of the day. if you are looking for a great hotel at a great price please stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms would be ok as you do not really spend any time indoors, we did have a room with a jet bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My brother and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights; we made this as the base to go around the Amalfi Coast and it was the right decision! It was our 4th day of a 17 day itinerary, we came from Matera (3 hour plus drive), and we had a thrill driving along the famed SS163 strada! Good thing I read about the place around the hotel, because when we reached Amalfi, I would not expect that it is allowed to go inside the town center, since it was pretty narrow and a lot of people milling around the center and shopping for goods in the stores at the sides! But we braved, turned right and entered the city center! We did not see that there was a stop light! LOL! So we just went straight ahead, and I was thinking that we had no right driving there even though I knew otherwise! We were moving at a snail's pace waiting for the people to get out of the way, I was thinking that these people did not know that cars are allowed to be there! Good thing the owners/staff of a store or two were helping us and asking the people to stand aside! We went straight to the garage (since I read about that here), and it seems someone tipped the hotel that there were guests asking for Hotel Floridiana, because after a minute or two of asking someone regarding the hotel's garage, a person on a Vespa, was driving pass us and directing us to the right garage! He told us to leave our luggage there and someone will bring it to the hotel for us! Which was pretty sweet since it would be hard navigating our luggage through that crowd!

This hotel is at the heart of Amalfi and you are able to see how the locals live! The hotel is near the duomo of Amalfi, it is the first right after the small stop light, if I remember correctly, it is either the first or second after the stop light!

The owner and staff were pretty nice, we were able to have a conversation with the owner during breakfast. The breakfast was pretty good too, all the essentials were there. We expected more from the breakfast but that was just because of the breakfast we had when we stayed in Sextantio hotel in Matera, which was beyond AMAZING! But that is for a different review! The room was pretty good, all the essentials were there, and the wifi connection was pretty good, fast and consistent! In our trip, we stayed in big cities, and the wifi in this hotel beats them hands down, which is pretty sad for the hotels that we had stayed in those cities!

I can't say more that this hotel is a good place to stay, where you can roam around the town. When you cross the road from the town center and go to the coast/beach,the sights that you can see from left to right, north and south, were breathtaking!!! I can't explain how beautiful Amalfi is!

We also took the local bus to Ravello (we did not dare to use our car since it would take more energy getting the car out from the center and drive uphill to Ravello). From Amalfi we also rode the ferry to Positano and unexpectedly to Capri; we were reserving going to Capri when we are staying in Naples, which was in 2 days time that time, but since we had time, we decided to go to Capri; we had extra time because we decided not to do the Footpath of the gods hike since the bus going to Bomerano, the start of the hike, is not available until the afternoon, it was a Sunday.

I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#13 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floridiana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridiana Hotel

Address: Via Brancia 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Best Value Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Floridiana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Floridiana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floridiana Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floridiana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.