We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Floridiana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Floridiana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Floridiana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Brancia 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 hotels in Amalfi
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights in July, it was a great place to stay, the owner could not do any more for you, any thing you asked and that she could do she did. The hotel is very clean, the staff very friendly, the breakfast was all you could want and the breakfast room was amazing, it made me feel very special eating in such an amazing room. The hotel also has a roof terrace with a hot tub which was very welcome at the end of the day. if you are looking for a great hotel at a great price please stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms would be ok as you do not really spend any time indoors, we did have a room with a jet bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    37
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
217
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My brother and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights; we made this as the base to go around the Amalfi Coast and it was the right decision! It was our 4th day of a 17 day itinerary, we came from Matera (3 hour plus drive), and we had a thrill driving along the famed SS163 strada! Good thing I read about the place around the hotel, because when we reached Amalfi, I would not expect that it is allowed to go inside the town center, since it was pretty narrow and a lot of people milling around the center and shopping for goods in the stores at the sides! But we braved, turned right and entered the city center! We did not see that there was a stop light! LOL! So we just went straight ahead, and I was thinking that we had no right driving there even though I knew otherwise! We were moving at a snail's pace waiting for the people to get out of the way, I was thinking that these people did not know that cars are allowed to be there! Good thing the owners/staff of a store or two were helping us and asking the people to stand aside! We went straight to the garage (since I read about that here), and it seems someone tipped the hotel that there were guests asking for Hotel Floridiana, because after a minute or two of asking someone regarding the hotel's garage, a person on a Vespa, was driving pass us and directing us to the right garage! He told us to leave our luggage there and someone will bring it to the hotel for us! Which was pretty sweet since it would be hard navigating our luggage through that crowd!

This hotel is at the heart of Amalfi and you are able to see how the locals live! The hotel is near the duomo of Amalfi, it is the first right after the small stop light, if I remember correctly, it is either the first or second after the stop light!

The owner and staff were pretty nice, we were able to have a conversation with the owner during breakfast. The breakfast was pretty good too, all the essentials were there. We expected more from the breakfast but that was just because of the breakfast we had when we stayed in Sextantio hotel in Matera, which was beyond AMAZING! But that is for a different review! The room was pretty good, all the essentials were there, and the wifi connection was pretty good, fast and consistent! In our trip, we stayed in big cities, and the wifi in this hotel beats them hands down, which is pretty sad for the hotels that we had stayed in those cities!

I can't say more that this hotel is a good place to stay, where you can roam around the town. When you cross the road from the town center and go to the coast/beach,the sights that you can see from left to right, north and south, were breathtaking!!! I can't explain how beautiful Amalfi is!

We also took the local bus to Ravello (we did not dare to use our car since it would take more energy getting the car out from the center and drive uphill to Ravello). From Amalfi we also rode the ferry to Positano and unexpectedly to Capri; we were reserving going to Capri when we are staying in Naples, which was in 2 days time that time, but since we had time, we decided to go to Capri; we had extra time because we decided not to do the Footpath of the gods hike since the bus going to Bomerano, the start of the hike, is not available until the afternoon, it was a Sunday.

I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights while on our honeymoon, and we were very happy with our choice! Centrally located, it was easy to get to Positano, Ravello, and the rest of the nearby areas. It was also smack dab in the middle Amalfi, so we never had far to walk when going out to eat. After a long day of travel, the hospitality we received when arriving was refreshing. Our bags were taken for us, and our front desk person (wish I caught her name!!) told us to relax and got us a nice cold beer while we waited. Already I was happy. The room was large and the Jacuzzi was a nice touch for our stay. Breakfast was lovely, and we were asked every morning how our night was and if there was anything they could help us with. A very nice stay, and we recommend it! The only thing I would say (not anyone's fault) is that there is not a view - but to be honest, we saw the views from so many other activities, that having a friendly, hospitable, reasonable and convenient hotel was a much bigger draw.

Room Tip: We had a room with an upstairs and a Jacuzzi bath(2 bathrooms). maybe more room than we needed, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Floridiana Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Almalfi and offers free car parking in a secure garage which was great. The garage is located a short distance from the hotel itself and a free luggage shuttle service is available to transport bags to the hotel. Our room, a junior suite, was not available for our first nights stay due to the previous occupants having an unfortunate scooter accident before our arrival. To compensate us for this the staff at Floridiana gave us a discount off our entire stay, as well as, a bottle of champaign in the standard room on the first night. Breakfast was lovely and is served in a beautiful room with a stunningly painted roof. The roof top terrace is a wonderful place to sit and relax with a glass of Vino and the Junior Suite with spa is great. On our check out we were given a small gift (ceramic figurine) which we thought was a lovely gesture. Overall the hotel is lovely and the staff very helpful and hospitable. We would definitely stay at Floridiana Hotel again.

Room Tip: Book a Junior Suite for extra room and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The staff here were very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. My two biggest complaints are: one, that the internet did not work well. We had to keep connecting and many sites did not work because they did not trust the network. Also, I woke up every morning because our door would shake loudly. It sounded like it was the shaking from someone else slamming their door. Try to avoid room 2 to avoid the shaking. Otherwise a good experience and a great value.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2 so you can have a quiet morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

An absolute delight in one of the most gorgeous cities in Italy (if not the world).
Perfect location: right in the middle of the main street, just steps from the Duomo, but tucked into a courtyard, so there's a sense of privacy and no noise.
Lovely rooms. Bed was a bit smaller than we're used to, but we managed just fine.
Very nice breakfast in a beautiful parlor room.
Extremely helpful and nice staff.
Free parking up the road from the hotel -- a major advantage!

Highly recommended, and thanks to TA for recommending it to us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The good:
Great and very helpful staff
Location literally seconds from Duomo
On arrival and departure pick up and drop off from the bus station
Stunning breakfast room where you feel like you are in a palazzo
Very good breakfast, no hot food apart from what you can warm up/toast in the grill
(skip the pre-pared omelettes and try the little triangular ribbed pastry Sfogliatelle)
Very clean comfortable room with great firm beds and good pillows

The not so good:
The walls are paper thin, so you can hear some one in the next room as though they are standing outside your door, and at around 7-7:30 when people begin walking on the tiled floor and the room door rattles every time the hotel front door opens you will be glad if you brought ear plugs.
Our room was a bit on the dark side and not a place you would want to spend time in but I am sure there are better rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Floridiana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridiana Hotel

Also Known As:
Floridiana Hotel Amalfi
Address: Via Brancia 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Floridiana Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Floridiana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floridiana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.