We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel worthy of its top ranking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Floridiana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Floridiana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Floridiana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Brancia 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel worthy of its top ranking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, beautifully situated in the very centre of Amalfi, yet very quiet. The owner is present most of the time and extremely helpful and welcoming.
Breakfast takes place in a beautiful room and was the best we had in Campania. There were fresh tomatoes and mozzarella, cold meats, gressini, torta Caprese, sfogliatelle, all kinds of delicious fresh foods; in Italy, it is often more limited to some croissants and crackers.
We also enjoyed the terrace on the roof with lounge chairs and a jacuzzi after our many walks in the area.
We would definitely stay there again and recommend it warmly. At 130 euros/night, this hotel was a bargain for this area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    41
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
246
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottkarenny
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at Floridiana for 5 nights while we took in the sights of the Amalfi coast. For us, the location was perfect. We were right in the central square, two minutes walk to the beach, the ferries, taxis and buses. And, we were steps away from wonderful restaurants, gelaterias, pasticherias and shops. Agnese and her staff could not have been more welcoming or more helpful to us. They made reservations for our travel back to Rome, helped us reserve a boat trip to Capri, guided us to several great restaurants, instructed us on the buses and ferries we should take for our planned activities, and more. The breakfasts were wonderful, featuring everything from the freshest pastries, to yogurts, cereal, eggs and, of course, coffee.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here for the first four nights of our two week holiday in Italy in May. Although Hotel Floridiana is 3 star and our other hotels were 4 star, this hotel definately outshone the others.

The good (and bad) points:
1. The room: the room was spacious, spotlessly clean and had a great bathroom and shower. Initially we were disappointed as it was right beside reception. This turned out not to be an issue as the hotel was very quiet. However our room overlooked a lane leading to a mini-market, and this could be noisy early in the morning. The room also had a mini-bar and a safe, both of which were very useful. Slippers too! There was also good WI-FI coverage (possibly due to the proximity of reception).
2. Location: Right in the centre of Amalfi, perfect location (hence no view). Amalfi is small, you could easily get a hotel with a sea view that was a very short walk away. However you will pay a significantly higher price for these (we checked).
3. Service: Excellent. We arrived after a twelve hour trip from Dublin and received a warm and friendly greeting - and also a glass of wine - from Agnes. She was very helpful with any query we had. Every morning at breakfast she checked in with each table. If you didn't want to talk (like us), she would move on. If you wanted to chat, she would stay. On our first night we brought a bottle of wine back to the room, and drank the wine out of the plastic glasses provided. The next day we found wine glasses in the room after it was serviced. This was a really nice touch, which we greatly appreciated. We also got an iron & ironing board for use in the room when we requested it - none of our 4 star hotels did as much (one had an ironing room, another offered to iron for us and the third said we'd have to send out - what is it with Italian hotels and irons??)
4. Facilities: Breakfast looked fine but not to our taste. The hotel has a roof terrace - this is a big plus, which we didn't fully appreciate until we stayed in all the hotels that didn't have one. If you can't afford a room with a good balcony, this is a great alternative.


Before we arrived in Amalfi, we wondered if four days was too much. As it turned out, we wanted to stay longer, depite the fact that it rained for half of it. Don't miss Ravello. We took the bus up to Ravello and walked down to Amalfi - would recommend this. Also don't count on the boats running if the sea is the slightest bit rough.

Room Tip: We flew into Naples. It's not easy to get to Amalfi, but we took the bus from right outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Upon immediate arrival at Hotel Floridiana in Amalfi, we knew we chose well. Agnese, our innkeeper could not have been more welcoming if she were a long-lost relative. The hotel is just what you need to escape the tourist chaos of the Amalfi Coast. Once inside, the hotel is peaceful, calm, and squeaky clean. The rooms are well-appointed with gorgeous ceramics made for the hotel by a local artist and the bathrooms are far larger than typical Italian baths.

The staff at the hotel are lovely people, prepared to accommodate your every need. Thank you, Agnese, Marina, Eva, and the evening gentlemen for caring for us during our short vacation. Ci vediamo ancora!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

It's nice and cosy but I wasn't that impressed, I guess because I had really high expectations for it after such brilliant reviews on tripadvisor. Central location with free parking which was fabulous. Breakfast - simple italian and really nice. Church bells rather loud but didn't disturb me too much. I guess the dinner recommendations were a bit of a mess, one day their recommended a restaurant which was closed and the next day the place with fabulous pizzas actually had only house wine (and a pretty horrible, the worst italian wine I ever tried). This hotel has a really nice terrace with fabulous views and jacuzzi - but you are not allowed to up the temperature of the water in jacuzzi and water was pretty cold so we didn't even try to use it. Otherwise, my boyfriend loved this hotel more than me and it seems people like it a lot. So, try it, you might love it too.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Floridiana Hotel In May 2012. We spent one night here. We were greated by Eva, who is absolutely lovely, friendly and helpful. We had a deluxe room. The room was clean and had a lovely tall window. The bathroom was recently renovated and very modern. The upstairs area had a jacuzzi and a nice breakfast table. Overall we were very happy with our room. The dining room is really lovely with a painted ceiling and a nice spread of food. One of the greatest things: This hotel has a daily "free" tour/excursion available for guests. We happened to be there on a Friday, where the excursion was a free walking tour of Ravello. The tour took us through churches, parks, and scenic overlooks. It also gave us the history of the town as well as Amalfi. This was a wonderful perk for guests of the hotel and I strongly encourage you to consider taking advantage of it! Overall our stay was lovely and we were very happy!

Room Tip: Try a room on the 1st floor (which is the top floor of the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

The friendliest staff with Agnese being the most delightful host.Breakfast was beautiful with the wonderful chef standing waiting for orders help-also discreet and lovely cleaning staff. This was our first stop in Italy and it was worth every minute of travel from K.L. Nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff even the extremely strong men who carried our heavy suitcases on their shoulders through tunnels and up stairs...Thankyou Agnese for an unforgettable beginning to our holiday.

Room Tip: Junior suite with spa helpful if you have travelled a fair distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Floridiana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floridiana Hotel

Address: Via Brancia 1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
#2 Family Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Floridiana Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Floridiana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floridiana Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Floridiana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.