We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location, lovely rooms, basic facilities but very comfortable, friendly staff - nothing too much trouble” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Antica Repubblica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Antica Repubblica to your Saves list
Hotel Antica Repubblica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vico dei Pastai 2, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great central location, lovely rooms, basic facilities but very comfortable, friendly staff - nothing too much trouble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

We enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Antica Repubblica in early May 2010, my wife and I taking along our two mums. The service was very friendly and efficient - thanks very much to Maria, Rossella, Anna and the rest of the team. The rooms also very good - we had a junior suite at the front of the hotel and enjoyed the space and the jacuzzi bath, although a little bit of street noise evident at the front of the hotel (ask for a back room if concerned - the other half of our party heard nothing) from pre-breakfast if you're not used to it. Good service to get you and your bags into the hotel on arrival - just ring reception - then you are right in the centre of Amalfi's charming and traffic restricted centre. We had a car for visiting Pompei, which you need to garage off site for an extra fee - too be honest in this area you are better using the good boat / bus public transport. Overall thoroughly recommend the hotel and would go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    47
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
31
57
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
italia
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

I booked in this hotel because of the good feedback on tripadvisor but I was very disappointed about it. This hotel is lousy, noisy and expensive with small and unconfortable rooms with the smallest bathroom I've ever seen. Breackfast is poor and the service too. Surely there are better options in town.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We had the room with a balcony right over the street. What a great way to people watch and the space is big enough for a table and two chairs. At night, workers will unload supplies right outside your window, but closing the French doors eliminates most of the noise. The bed was very comfy, the size of the room ample. As expected, the bathroom is small like most in Europe, but the shower was very cramped, especially if you utilize the plastic shower door, this was the thing I enjoyed least about the room. The service was spotty: very friendly on one hand, but they couldn't figure out how to get an outside phone or use the TV remote. These are basic things they should know. Oh, if the lady is having an intense phone conversation, you could do cartwheels in front of her and she won't look up. The breakfast was very weak. Lastly, they overcharged our credit card and we had to get a reversal. mmm....

The restaurant right next door was the highlight as was the proximity to the shops. We almost opted for a quite place way up the hill, but there was something very energizing about being right there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varmland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Good location in center of Amalfi, a little noice from the street below. Very comfortable beds, airconditioning worked fine. Lovely terrace where Manuel served us our breakfast with splendour. Maria did everything to help us with timetables and local information. We would return any time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

This hotel is situated very close to the main square of Amalfi. Not too many stairs to climb which is important when you have heavy bags. The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast served on the roof top terrace is adequate. Our room faced the square so it was very noisy at times, and we experienced a number of blackouts that were very quickly fixed by the staff. There are quite a few excellent restaurants nearby and the staff were very helpful with organising day trips to places such as Capri and Pompeii.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Very convenient location, right in the center of Amalfi, the rooms are clean and the fact that there are only seven of them makes you feel at home.
Ana, the owner, and Manuel her son, will take care of you!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights. The location of the hotel is very central. The room was very nice and comfortable. Above all, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
The only thing that could be improved is the breakfast, which range of choice was a little dull. A minor drawback considering that this hotel was the cheapest we could find in downtown Amalfi.
By the way: the Amalfitan Coast is gorgeous!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Antica Repubblica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antica Repubblica

Address: Vico dei Pastai 2, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antica Repubblica 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This tastefully antique hotel, situated in the historical centre of Amalfi, overlooks the main street of the town and is just a few minutes walk from St Andrew' s Cathedral and 50 mt from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Antica Repubblica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Repubblica Hotel
Antica Repubblica Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Antica Repubblica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.