We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Amalfi!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Antica Repubblica

Save Saved
You added Hotel Antica Repubblica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Antica Repubblica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vico dei Pastai 2, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Great Stay in Amalfi!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at this boutique hotel (only 7 rooms) in April.as part of attending a destination wedding. The rooms were spotless and spacious! Service was great. They even arranged for the staff to come in early to prepare breakfast for our group so we could get early starts on the events each day. Speaking of breakfast, which was included with the room, the food (pastries, meats, cheezes, fruit, juices) and the BEST cappuccino, was fabulous and never ending. Maria, the manager during our stay worked tirelessly to ensure that each of the members of our group was extremely pleased with their hotel. I would stay there again without hesitation!!!

Room Tip: Every room was great but there are one or two that have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    46
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
30
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

February visit. Our quadruple room worked out well for two parents and two older teenagers. One room with a king bed, a second room with two bunk beds, and a bathroom in between. Location was great, but because the B&B is up an alley/stairway off of a limited traffic zoned street, husband parked in a space at the waterfront while the rest of us rolled our luggage to the B&B, about a three or four minute walk away. Though they advertised assistance with parking, they gave us a map and showed us how to get to the public garage. (The garage actually turned out to be convenient and well-guarded for 13 Euros/day.) Breakfast was a couple of choices of pastries, cereal, orange juice and hot drinks made to order. We would have rated this stay more highly if we hadn't been bowled over by the cigarette smell in the lobby and breakfast areas that we needed to walk through every time we went in or out of our room. In addition, the advertised wireless was spotty, or the passwords worked for some but not all of us; the front desk staff tried to help but with little success.

Room Tip: Our room was called "Il Cavaliere." On same floor with lobby and breakfast area which has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

It was a breeze to stay at this hotel, just a few minutes walk from the bus stop and the "major" sights of Amalfi (I say "major" because there's not much). Its a great place to base yourself while exploring the rest of Amalfi coast. The room was clean, well-maintained and opened out to a balcony. The service, while not overly-accommodating, was good enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed at Antica Repubblica for three nights in the 'Il Valletto' room, and also stayed at their sister hotel (Relais Villa Annalara, also in Amalfi).

The hotel is right in the middle of town, only 2 minutes walk to the water, bus stop (for Salerno, Positano, Sorrento), and all the restaurants and limoncello shops you could ask for.

The staff were friendly and the hotel was quiet, so when we arrived they informed us they had given us a room with a small balcony, table and chairs for our stay, which was lovely! The room itself was cosy and clean.

Highlight of the room was the incredibly spacious shower!

Our room also had a mini bar/bar fridge available for use.

Breakfast is included and they offer coffee, cereals, pastries, juice, yoghurts, fruit, and biscuits/cookies.

Antica Repubblica also offers free Wifi, which worked in our room.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here, and thought it was good value for the quality of the room and the location.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Il Valletto room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balnarring
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We have just read three terrific reviews on this page and would agree with them all. This is a relaxing, warm, central and very comfortable hotel, staffed by helpful, happy and pleasant people. We too, had a family room (two rooms with the bathroom in between) and they were clean and comfortable and as quiet as you can expect in a busy little town in tourist season. We were made to feel very welcome, and loved the terrace at the top of the building where we not only had breakfast every morning, but spent a few quiet, peaceful hours in between all the other things you do while on the Amalfi Coast. Don't be put off by the lack of sea views - the sea is only minutes away by foot and you will see it whatever you do while in the Amalfi region. We would recommend this hotel to anyone, and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We had a wonderful holiday in Amalfi and were very happy with our choice of hotel. The location was ideal, nice and central, and surprisingly nowhere near as noisy as I had expected in such a central location. We stayed in the adjoining family rooms (two separate bedrooms, one single with balcony, one double, with a private bathroom located in your own little hallway inbetween) called il Cavaliere. It was simple and really provided great value for the three of us - and was kept spotlessly clean throughout. All the staff were delightful - helpful and friendly and really made us feel part of the family. We'd definitely stay there again when we return to Amalfi (which we hope to do so as soon as possible!).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.devon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

just returned on 10.10.11 after a weeks stay at this lovely hotel. Central position in Amalfi, a 5 minute walk to the seafront and 2 minutes to the central square in front of the famous cathedral. Everything is so near to this hotel, restaurants, surrounded by shops, supermarket right opposite up an alleyway. Fruit , cake and ice-cream shops surround you. Our balcony from our junior suite with 4 poster bed and jaccuzi overlooked the main thoroughfare and you can just sit and watch the world go by. Breakfast is continental and weather permitting is on the roof terrace, which i really enjoyed. The hotel staff are extremely helpful and friendly and our room was spotlessly cleaned everyday of our stay. We had a wonderful time there.

Room Tip: We were at the front of this hotel room was perfect, but if your a very light sleeper you may be wok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Antica Repubblica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antica Repubblica

Address: Vico dei Pastai 2, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Antica Repubblica 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This tastefully antique hotel, situated in the historical centre of Amalfi, overlooks the main street of the town and is just a few minutes walk from St Andrew' s Cathedral and 50 mt from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Antica Repubblica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Repubblica Hotel
Antica Repubblica Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Antica Repubblica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.