We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but loud church bells..!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fontana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fontana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fontana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Duomo 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, but loud church bells..!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Fontana with a friend of mine in June 2010 for four nights. The hotel is in a great location, if you take the SITA bus from Sorrento, when the bus pulls into the main bus stop by the water in Amalfi, you can see Hotel Fontana from there. I was looking for it as we pulled it and saw it straight away.

Rooms: we had the most basic room, and perhaps that was our mistake....we faced the church, not the water, and paid for it with the incessant ringing of the church bells...I think it was 15 minutely until about 11pm at night, then started again at 7am. Definitely bring ear plugs!

Breakfast was included: they would make you a cappucino, or you could have tea or juice. There was cereal, oddly enough provided in cups (I see other travellers have commented on this too - would be really good if the hotel would get some bowls!!), there was also meat/cheese and bread.

Getting there: we hadn't realised how long the journey from Rome is! DEFINITELY worth it, but good for other travellers to be aware.
We caught a bus in Rome to the main train station, then caught a train for 10.50 euro Rome-Naples. This took two and a half hours (apparently there are express trains though, which are obviously faster but more expensive). At Naples, we then followed the signs for the Circumvesuviana Trains to Sorrento. This took 90 minutes and was about 4 euro. At Sorrento train station, you take the SITA buses to the town of your choice. It is 7.20 euro for a 24 hour bus pass. It is 45 minutes from Sorrento-Positano, and another 45 minutes to Amalfi. So all up it was a long day travelling! If I come to the Amalfi Coast again (and I am sure I will, it was so beautiful!), I would probably stay in the town of Positano though, it is a bit bigger and a bit more central.

Amalfi was lovely, but there isn't heaps to do in the town. Might suit some people more though. We definitely weren't bored, there are heaps of great places to eat, and it was still a good spot to be to explore the other coastal towns such as Ravello and the island of Capri.

This hotel was good value for money but the church bells really interrupted sleep! I imagine that would be better if you paid more for a room with a water view. Having said that, if I was going to pay more I might go for a 3 and a half or 4 star hotel...but do your research, Amalfi Coast is expensive in summer so I think we got a great deal!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    65
    29
    17
    7
See reviews for
29
60
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

This hotel is right on the coast and very close to the Sita bus station. The location was really the only good thing about it though. The room was old and though clean, didn't look it. The bathroom was never restocked with enough toilet paper or tissues and the hot water ran out every day. We had cold showers every morning. Breakfast was terrible, just a few cut up shop bought cakes and some bread rolls. The coffee was made to order but was often cold or the order forgotten. The breakfast room was tiny and you had to squeeze past other diners to get to where the food was. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahara
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

It's a dated building with an inconvenient entrance up a flight of stairs, but were were amazed to have a big room with a sea view for the price we paid! Nice breakfast of cheese, meat, pastries, cappuccino, juice, yogurt. Amalfi is tiny, but the location couldn't get any better.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Hotel Fontana was a BASIC hotel. Some of the rooms overlooked the water and had a porch which was a huge bonus. Rooms were clean but a bit run down, and BASIC. If you want to stay in Amalfi, this hotel is probably the best for your money. The town of Amalfi is extremely commercialized. If you are looking for an authentic Italian experience this is NOT the town for you. I would recommend a visit to Amalfi but staying in Positano. Positano might be a bit more expensive, but there is much more to do and see. If you want touristy, this is your town. If you already booked a stay in this hotel, no worries. This hotel is reasonably priced, bare bones basic, and a base for the other Amalfi Coast towns you wish to visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Ideally located right on the waterfront with the square, shops, restaurants, bus stop and ferry terminal on your doorstep. But rooms and bathrooms, whilst clean are very small. Breakfast consists of pastries and the usual array of sheese and salami. Cereal was available but only if you were prepared to eat it from a large cup. Juice was served in plastic cups.
The entry is via 2 flights of step, uneven stairs so if you are not reasonably fit you will struggle to reach the checkin counter carrying your bags. Also, no internet in the hotel, but a very slow service was available at a nearby internet cafe but not if you used your own laptop.
We had a great stay in the area, but the hotel was a disappointment.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

I stayed at Hotel Fontana for 3 nights, 27-29 Sept 09 as a single lady traveller in room 117 paying EUR75 per night incl breakfast.

My room was a tiny weeny sized room (really the size of 2 single beds, but with only 1 bed in the room) and the bathroom was equally small literally 1.5m x 1.5m. The water from the shower curtin flooded the bathroom every morning and I had to mop up as best I could. The toilet didn't flush properly and seemed to take ages to refill.

The room had a great double wardrobe and small but super powerful hair dryer which girls love! The real WOW factor is the view ... double doors that open to a balcony with ocean front view of the whole of the Amalfi sea side. (I had a look in room 118 next door and that was a FANTASTIC room, huge and airy with the same magnificent view - request that if you can). The aircon worked albeit slowly. My 3 mission critical things are always (1) wakeup calls - yes, you just ring Reception and they program for you. (2) Hairdryer - yes, small but powerful and did the job (3) CNN - yes it had English speaking TV for solo travellers who like a bit of chatter in the background.

Location - you cant get better if you want to be in the middle of all the action. The main SITA bus stop is on one side of the hotel and the main piazza is on the other. Buses go to Salerno, Ravello, Sorrento every 20-30 mins or so in summer. Too easy. You must buy your bus tickets beforehand at a small Cafe across the road from the bus terminal or any Tabbachi (tobacco store). Price is approx EUR 6 for 2 hour card, EUR3 for 90 min card and EUR2 for 60 min (or something similar) ie. going to Salerno takes just over an hour so you buy a 90 min card etc. Going to Sorrento takes a bit less than 2 hours so you buy the EUR6 card etc.

Breakfast starts at 8am. A bit late for some like me so I took a walk first and came back for bf. No chance of low cal, high protein choices if you are a gym junkie like me ... just 10 varieties of cake, bread rolls, jam etc. Oh yeah, there was some yoghurt. Just remember you are on holidays and GIVE IN!! I tell people I went to Italian Boot Camp for a month with a very strict diet of pastries, salami and cheese rolls and spaghetti every day. Funny thing is that I walked about 10 hours a day and actually LOST weight (ha ha ha). There is a supermarket in Piazza dei Dogi nearby if you need to stock up - but it closes on Sunday and for riposo (rest period around 1pm to 4.30pm).

Overall I enjoyed my stay, but I would pay the extra money for a double and get room 118 next time. May I also suggest to you that you just go down the road to Atrani - it is a 10-5 min walk away and I'm sure you will get nicer accomm for less money there albeit the town itself is slightly shabbier in appearance than Amalfi.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

Amalfi : Fontana Hotel Amalfi :
“Romantic break”
June 01-10, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Fontana Hotel Amalfi for 7 nights ( 01/10/08). Very impressed with location. We had booked a suite with sea view, and large balcony. Our suite was room 102, so if you like 2 large balcony’s for ‘people watching’ with 2 sun loungers then this is the room for you. This balcony is the business, it’s in the prime position in the middle of Amalfi, it just needs a parasol. Other rooms had very small, fit a chair on type balcony.. The suite was large with 2 sofa beds and also the main double bed. This suite is the one with the spindle balustrade, on the main brochure pictures. The walk in wardrobe was large but would have been better with a mirror. However my wife found this suite claustrophobic as the only opening was a door onto the balcony. Large bathroom, but the shower was rubbish. Power/massage shower did not work properly. If they installed a decent ordinary shower, it would be fine. No meals are served in the hotel apart from breakfast, which were OK but not fantastic. They definitely seem to be watching the cost here. We had problems getting ice for drinks from the restaurant on the ground floor, which always seemed to be closed when you wanted ice. There are plenty of places to eat within a 200 meters. The best restaurant we found was Da Maria about 50 metres on the right, up the main street from the hotel. Its where the locals seem to eat and has a good atmosphere. The chef / owner is a big very friendly chap and you are made welcome. This was a late week away after the main season, but Amalfi was still busy, with cruise and boat trips coming in. Hotel was not full, just a few in for the time of year. This hotel is in a good central location, and we think this was its best feature. This hotel was below our usual standard of what we expect. I would not stop here again as there were quite a few other central located hotels.

Mike & Beverly

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — Needs refurbishment
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontana

Address: Piazza Duomo 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontana 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.