We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fontana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fontana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fontana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Duomo 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Chatteris, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel is right on the main square in Amalfi and very close to the harbour, beach, buses and all facilities.
The location means that you can walk to a range of restaurants and shops.
The main attraction though is the friendliness and helpful attitude of the staff, all of whom were attentive and really seemed to care that we enjoyed our stay.
It is true thta there are stairs up to the hotel entrance and the bustle of being in the centre of the town does mean that there is some noise from early morning until late in the evening but you can't expect peace and tranquilty as well as the convenience of a central location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    62
    28
    17
    7
See reviews for
30
56
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

A cute little hotel with a great location in Amalfi. It's right on the coast, across the street from the beach, right next to the big cathedral and in the main square. The hotel itself is up a flight of steep stairs, but not too bad. There is a small lift within the hotel, which is great. We had a room on the third floor and it was huge. The view was of a wall, but we didn't mind as we prefer quiet as opposed to a view. Thankfully we were higher up and on the backside. We had read reviews that had said the hotel was loud from the street noise. We did not encounter this during the day, quite quiet. However in the evenings we could hear people partying, but it wasn't too bad. Nothing ear plugs couldn't fix. This hotel can accommodate families of up to 5, which is hard to find in Europe.

The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, pillows were great.
The bathroom was quite large, shower worked great.
The best part about it: Air conditioning and a mini fridge! This is hard to find!
The mini fridge also has water and soda and beer for sale at very reasonable prices.

The staff were extremely friendly and offered us beach towels to take to the shore.
The breakfast was decent considering it's Italy. Croissants and buns and yogurt. There was also cappuccinos, tea and juices. Croissants were made fresh every day.

After a dismal week of poor hotels, this one made us quite happy to end off our trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a room overlooking the street and cathedral. Privileged view.
It's an old building but historic. Although it could be refurbished to recategorize the property.
Anyway, it's a proper place to stay.
Breakfast is very basic and scarce.
The location is the best.

Room Tip: It is a small property. I guess the best rooms are those at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The workers were great and helpful. The breakfast was good, but being in the main square it was way too loud. The square didn't quite down till 1:00am and then you would wake up at 5:30 or 6:00 to vehicles going by or delivery trucks backing up to unload. The shower didn't drain so you would have to stop before it overflowed. I wouldn't stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I came to Amalfi for a friends wedding and this hotel is fab. I read other reviews about the noise and breakfast etc but was not put off. Firstly the location is bang smack in the middle of things so you would be silly not to grab breakfast out, nevertheless there is a continental style breakfast that will suffice if you so wish. The staff are super friendly and the place has a laid back family feel. My room was huge for the price and I had a window overlooking the square. Now yes it is noisy-ish as you are facing the main square in Amalfi but the view of the cathedral was spectacular and I enjoy listening to the hustle and bustle! I left my windows open at night and at 6am you can smell bread being baked which was divine! This is a 3 star hotel but it has everything you need and the hairdryer in the room was good. (I bring my own wherever I go!)

Getting up to the reception is difficult because there are stairs if you are by yourself and have a lot of luggage. However if you are in twos just wait with the bags and ask at reception for help. This is typical of a few hotels in amalfi as the place is all stairs! Not great if you have mobility issues in general and Amalfi is definitely not the place if you use a wheelchair.

The only thing I would have liked is a safe in my room (unless I couldn't find it!) .

I'd stay here again the price point is brilliant!

Room Tip: For bread smells and a view of the square go with a square facing room, for quiet and the sea ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Hotel Fontana is so easy to reach, 2 minutes down from the bus and you are there, in the middle of Amalfi town. Cathedral, cafes and beach on your doorstep. Arriving and leaving was so easy. I loved its location, so central. And also the fact that I got a sea view room, so nice!! Also the service was quite good, particularly the lady in the morning shift, she is so attentive and friendly. The only problem for me was that the wi-fi can be used only in the main public area and it's not free. I may pay for wi-fi, no worries, but definitely not if I cannot use it in the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This hotel was actually worth every penny. We had an amazing view, 300 feet from where the buses drop you and Sea Front. It's at the foot of the beautiful Cathedral of Amalfi. The owners are all family and couldn't be more friendly! The only reason I did not give this 5 stars was because the noise can be a little unsettling if you are use to complete silence when you sleep. We just got up when everyone else in the town seemed to be up, ate the wonderful free breakfast and took a nap around 1400 everyday. It was just great! We will go back!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have 3 HUGE windows, floor to ceiling, that open to the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontana

Address: Piazza Duomo 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontana 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.