We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location and great value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fontana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fontana to your Saves list
Hotel Fontana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Duomo 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant location and great value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I came to Amalfi for a friends wedding and this hotel is fab. I read other reviews about the noise and breakfast etc but was not put off. Firstly the location is bang smack in the middle of things so you would be silly not to grab breakfast out, nevertheless there is a continental style breakfast that will suffice if you so wish. The staff are super friendly and the place has a laid back family feel. My room was huge for the price and I had a window overlooking the square. Now yes it is noisy-ish as you are facing the main square in Amalfi but the view of the cathedral was spectacular and I enjoy listening to the hustle and bustle! I left my windows open at night and at 6am you can smell bread being baked which was divine! This is a 3 star hotel but it has everything you need and the hairdryer in the room was good. (I bring my own wherever I go!)

Getting up to the reception is difficult because there are stairs if you are by yourself and have a lot of luggage. However if you are in twos just wait with the bags and ask at reception for help. This is typical of a few hotels in amalfi as the place is all stairs! Not great if you have mobility issues in general and Amalfi is definitely not the place if you use a wheelchair.

The only thing I would have liked is a safe in my room (unless I couldn't find it!) .

I'd stay here again the price point is brilliant!

Room Tip: For bread smells and a view of the square go with a square facing room, for quiet and the sea ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    80
    34
    22
    8
See reviews for
34
84
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Hotel Fontana is so easy to reach, 2 minutes down from the bus and you are there, in the middle of Amalfi town. Cathedral, cafes and beach on your doorstep. Arriving and leaving was so easy. I loved its location, so central. And also the fact that I got a sea view room, so nice!! Also the service was quite good, particularly the lady in the morning shift, she is so attentive and friendly. The only problem for me was that the wi-fi can be used only in the main public area and it's not free. I may pay for wi-fi, no worries, but definitely not if I cannot use it in the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This hotel was actually worth every penny. We had an amazing view, 300 feet from where the buses drop you and Sea Front. It's at the foot of the beautiful Cathedral of Amalfi. The owners are all family and couldn't be more friendly! The only reason I did not give this 5 stars was because the noise can be a little unsettling if you are use to complete silence when you sleep. We just got up when everyone else in the town seemed to be up, ate the wonderful free breakfast and took a nap around 1400 everyday. It was just great! We will go back!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have 3 HUGE windows, floor to ceiling, that open to the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

"HOTEL FONTANA, AMALFI: This was booked through our Australian travel agent, and despite being a 3-star "cheap" hotel, it was almost as expensive as our 4-star hotels in Florence and Rome. Fortunately a friend had warned us about the steep flights of stairs from the road, so we left our bags and asked reception to fetch them, and took the lift from the ground floor restaurant. We had booked a "non-smoking twin-bed Junior Suite with sea-view terrace", and when we opened the door the room reeked of stale tobacco smoke, the curtains were grubby, and there was only a tiny Juliet balcony - no terrace, a double bed and a single bed. We immediately went back to reception to complain and were told that this was their interpretation of our booking, however they would upgrade us. We were then given a huge suite, with an enormous terrace: Still grubby curtains; a mezzanine with a double bed and 2 single beds on the lower floor; a box room/wardrobe, and a bathroom. The beds were so uncomfortable (thin lumpy mattresses) that my friend had to use my inflatable airplane seat to get any rest at all. The linen was clean but shabby. The lavatory seat roamed freely. The tiled floors were dusty. The breakfasts were minimal. When I asked for a beach towel at 5.30 pin, the grumpy man on reception said he didn't know where they were kept. When I got one off the maid the next day, it was full of holes. This family hotel has seen better days, and the only thing going for it is the ideal location."

Room Tip: choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, AL
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

So, not everyone who works here speaks English. I didn't go to Italy to be at home. It sits between the sea and the main plaza. Its basic and clean, maybe a little quirky...but quirk never killed anyone, it only enhances the experience. High ceilings in the rooms, with French doors leading out little balconies. The breakfast buffet was various sweets, but a croissant and Nutella with espresso is a marvelous way to begin the day. The staff was helpful, especailly the morning manager. I found it to be affordable and charming with the best possible location. The bus stop is just out front. The only trick was finding the entrance as the lower floor is dedicated to other shops. Go to the far side of the building and there's the stairs up.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front face the sea, rooms to the back face the piazza, rooms on the side get a slice of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Location was perfect in amalfi to use as a base for the coastal area. I stayed 2 nights and enjoyed my time - room was large but no view and quiet noisy as its above the main square but i was fine with this as it adds to the experience. Staff weren't too helpful with tips but that was ok as its easy to find information out. The breakfast was good with variety and set me up for the day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We have just returned from 3 nights at the Hotel Fontana. It is a 3 star property. It was a great stay. The hotel was very clean. The rooms are basic but exactly like the website shows. There were no surprizes. If fact our room had beautiful 12 feet ceiling - french doors with little balcony - full of charm - it is an older, family run hotel. You are right in the heart of Amalfi. The buses, ferries etc are right outside your door. Excellent location. If you keep your doors closed at night - noise is not an issue and the air conditioning worked perfectly. The staff were very polite and friendly - they genuinely cared. We loved our stay here. I would have no hestiation staying at this hotel again. If you know Italy this is exactly how the 3 stars properties are. Just to note if you have trouble walking - there are approx 10 fairly steep steps to walk up to the hotel enterance - but that's Italy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fontana

Address: Piazza Duomo 7, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fontana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontana Hotel Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fontana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.