We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting, great rooms with decks with outstanding views, wonderful hospitality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Nido

Save Saved
You added Hotel Il Nido to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Il Nido
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Salvatore Quasimodo 30, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect setting, great rooms with decks with outstanding views, wonderful hospitality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have just spent a week in this great hotel....we arrived late at night. Martino, at reception, helped with bags....and something yummy to eat and appropriate appreciated drinks.....which we enjoyed on our deck. What a sight!!! The lights of the bay were stunning. As tired as we were, we sat and marvelled for some time. This service was typical of what happened through the next week. Appreciated lifts to and from the main piazza. Rooms splendidly serviced. Tasty breakfasts....Whilst there, travelled along the coast...and were/are convinced Amalfi town is the pick....and Il Nido is the place to stay. Thanks also to Mike, Domenico and all staff. Wish it was closer to Australia.

Room Tip: We loved Room 12.....great deck....and no obstruction of view.....though I don't think there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    64
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
27
99
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Up on mountainside with fabulous views of Bay of Napoli and Sorrento. Free shuttle to town. Wonderful restaurant, free breakfast. Well appointed interiors. Be sure to ask for room with balcony. We'd go back in a heartbeat if w ever get back to Italy!

Room Tip: Get a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augustenborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This small family-owned hotel, overlooking the bay of Amalfi can be rated with one word: perfect.
Incredible view from the terrace and breakfast room, just like being between sea and heaven. Nice and friendly owner and staff. And the cost is one of the most beautiful place in Europe.
Been there 5 times from 2004 to 2011, and for sure, -we will be back.

Room Tip: The best choice on the Amalfi Coast. Rooms on the upper floor have the best terrace and the best vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

It's almost year since I was there, but fond memories of wonderful service provided by extremely caring manager and owners daughter was reason we spent 2 extra nights in the hotel. Since hotel is 10 minutes walk away from city centre and we were traveling with our 4 year old daughter, hotel manager went out of his way to pick up and drop us in his personal car. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast which has a amazing sea view and a huge cup of best Cappuccino in amalfi. Since Internet was free of charge, it was great to chat with family back home after the day trips. Rooms were always neat and tidy, no issues in the bathroom too.
If you can walk for 10 minutes to reach city centre, this hotel is heaven in amalfi. (No pain no gain:). If you have a rental car, you cant go wrong. I had an option to go to different hotel on my first night but once you feel the comfort and cordial attention given by the manager, you will definitely come back to the hotel.
On the whole 100% satisfied, provided us with a transfer to Salerno to catch train to Venice. Excellent hotel*****service! If I ever come back to amalfi, I know my place to stay:)

Room Tip: Room with the terrace has the best view, spacious too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed here during low season. Most of the hotels in the area were closed, and there were very few guests at this hotel. So thankful to the owners for keeping this lovely hotel open during the low season! The staff was helpful and friendly. The tasteful decor is characteristic of this area. The town of Amalfi is nearby and you do not need to walk along the road for most of it, there is a nice walking path down some steps. The hotel's solarium roof deck has chairs and an amazing view of Amalfi. Breakfast is standard and cappuccino is delicious. The breakfast room has that beautiful view again! Wifi, parking, all included. The room had a lovely balcony too, and good choice of TV stations!

Room Tip: Higher floors will have a better view. There is an elevator so no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for five night, all very good, excellent staff, very nice and helpful in giving directions and advice, and the pathway to downtown (around 400m) is pleasant with a very beatiful view of the Amalfi coast

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szeged, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

It's a comfy hotel with modest price. We tried two rooms during our five day stay at the hotel. First, we booked a basic room with balcony and free wi-fi. Everything was ok, except that the water heating broke down in the bathroom. But staff were really understandig and we get a much bigger and nicer room, and what's more, price reduction!
Breakfast is excellent, they serve not only Italian sweets, but cereals, hams, cheese, yoghurt and fresh fruit, as well!
Thanks and reccommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Il Nido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Nido

Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 30, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Nido 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Il Nido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Hotel
Il Nido Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Nido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.