We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent position, great view, delightful panoramic breakfast :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Nido

Save Saved
You added Hotel Il Nido to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Il Nido
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Salvatore Quasimodo 30, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Szeged, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent position, great view, delightful panoramic breakfast :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

It's a comfy hotel with modest price. We tried two rooms during our five day stay at the hotel. First, we booked a basic room with balcony and free wi-fi. Everything was ok, except that the water heating broke down in the bathroom. But staff were really understandig and we get a much bigger and nicer room, and what's more, price reduction!
Breakfast is excellent, they serve not only Italian sweets, but cereals, hams, cheese, yoghurt and fresh fruit, as well!
Thanks and reccommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    70
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
27
99
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

employees are friendly and were happy to have known in English. the hotel room is clean and nice designed. view is the balcony of the room was so nice. bed was very comfortable, breakfast poor. a little bit away from the city center, walking the roads are dangerous, should get a taxi.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We reserved 2 rooms (1 standard/1 superior) in May for a late Sep 2012 four night stay. One would expect with the advance reservation and length of stay we would receive their best rooms. We received rooms 5 (sub-standard) and 12 (super unclean and dated).

The "balcony" off room 5 is so small you can hardly turn around on. You are actually UNABLE to see the balcony or its window from the room because it is behind the closet.

Room 12 had a lovely balcony but the tub/shower was moldy and disgusting. There was a refrigerator but when you leave the room (with your room key) the electrical power is cut off so nothing will stay cold unless you stay in your room the entire time. The door to our refrigerator was hanging off one hinge. The tub and shower in the bathroom of room 12 are absolutely disgusting. Light bulbs above our bathroom mirror were missing or nonfunctioning. The floor was filthy - I wore socks always on the tile floors because of the dirt and had to change my socks continually.

We read they had an in-room safe (apparently so safe we couldn't locate it) and non-smoking which we did not observe either. Smoke poured into our rooms from the neighbors. The breakfast was boring and the same day after day. THERE IS NO ONSIGHT RESTAURANT - only a continental breakfast. The parking garage was a great convenience - but having our car repeatedly moved no matter where it was left in the garage or outside (you must leave your car keys with the manager) and its radio station, volume, seat placement & air-conditioning changed for no apparent reason was concerning!

When I tried to discuss our concerns with Michael he suddenly was unable to understand my English and made no attempt to compensate us. One last note - the night we checked in one of our room keys did not work. When we reported it to the front desk - he gave us the MASTER key --- so we could have entered any room we wanted at any time. NICE!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Good value and great views. The walk back from Amalfi town isn't so bad, and late in the evening 10 euros gets you a 2 minute cab ride home. No real bar or pool but clean comfy rooms are a bonus in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Had an amazing stay here. The view from the ocean front balcony suite was AMAZING! The staff speaks excellent English and is so kind and helpful. I really value great service and this hotel is among the best at serving its guest with the utmost care and respect. The free wifi was strong and worked like a charm. The free parking on the road was okay although a little scary getting in and out with the narrow windy roads of the amalfi coast. There was a resturant across the street playing live jazz music which was so romantic to hear in the moonlight on our balcony. My husband I even danced under the stars to it our first night. Once we closed our balcony doors our room was soo quite and we couldn't hear a thing from outside. The room was large and clean the bed was big and comfy. The buffet breakfast had a nice selection including cereal, ham, cheese, yogurt, breads & pastries, coffee & tea. they didn't offer any fresh fruit, but the fruit juice they offered was great. It's a short 5min drive to the city center. I wld highly recommend this hotel to travelers with cars!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a short walk from the hustle and bustle and has spectacular views from the balcony and the breakfast area. Having parking available was a definate plus. The decor was very dated and felt like you were staying at Nonna's villa. The bed was extremely hard and the bathroom was small with no counter top to place personal hygiene
products on. The room key operates the lights as well as the air conditioning in the room. I get saving electricity but after a day of sitting at the beach in the heat, the last thing you want to return to is a room that is stifling hot and try to get ready for dinner well sweating. The value for the cost is good but if you're looking for luxury this is not the place to stay

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed al Il Nido for our Honeymoon in July 2012. It was our first trip to the Amalfi coast and I think we hit on a real gem of a hotel. We stayed in the Eagles Nest room right at the top of hotel, where we had fanstastic panoramic view of Amalfi and a sea view that seemed to go on forever. The room was lovely and clean with good air con and a chiller to keep drinks (Prosecco!) nice and cold. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and congratulated us on our recent marriage with a love heart of rose petals and a bottle of wine on our bed when we first arrived. The hotel is a short walk (750m) from the main town of Amalfi, fine on the way down to town but a little bit of a trek coming home especially when stuffed with pizza/pasta/gelato etc...
We would definitely stay at Il Nido again and have recommended it to friends who are planning a holiday to Italy soon. Thanks to all the staff for making our honeymoon so special.

Room Tip: If you dont mind stairs book the Eagles nest room for one of the best private sun terraces in Amalfi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Il Nido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Nido

Address: Via Salvatore Quasimodo 30, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Nido 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Il Nido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Nido Hotel
Il Nido Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Nido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.