We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Save Saved
You added Hotel L'Antico Convitto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Salita dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Walking down the ally to the front door you do wonder what you are going to find, you will not be disappointed. The wonderful friendly welcome on arrival from Antonella and Gabriella makes you relax and feel at home straight away, part of the family. Antonella helped us with investigating all routes and timetables for our trip to Pompei, made it very easy for us. Nothing is too much trouble. Our room was the junior suite and it was lovely, comfortable and clean with a super jacuzzi bath and massage shower. The breakfast buffet was super, lots of choice for everyone, on the first morning we were a little overwhelmed as to where to start first! Take your breakfast up to the wonderful roof terrace,overlooking the sea, for a special start to your day. Centrally located this hotel has everything within a short walk, restaurants, cafes, shops, beach and transport links to other destinations on the Amalfi coast. We came here to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time and would recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    87
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
86
235
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I had to battle with my husband to stay at this hotel because he wanted to rent an apartment on a cliff edge with amazing views, whereas I wanted to be somewhere central for Easter in Amalfi. I think we are all glad I persevered. From the moment we were greeted by the owner, to the moment we left with our free bottle of limoncello we could not fault the amazing service. Our room (3) was the family room and did not have ocean views (which we knew) but still had a lovely aspect. The breakfast was amazing, the best we had had so far in Italy. It was great being right in Amalfi to catch buses and ferries and we had some lovely dinners within a short distance of the hotel. Also a very ample supermarket just outside. Gabrielle at the front desk was incredibly helpful with our transport needs, as we left on Easter Sunday, calling the ferry companies to make sure they were running. If you are expecting a luxury hotel then this probably isn't for you, but if you want to be welcomed warmly in a clean, comfortable and central environment, I wouldnt look any further.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay. It is very very clean. The staff, as mentioned, is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is all you could want and much more. It is not at all hard to find if you just keep looking for their sign posted at the wee lane on the right side of the main road in Amalfi. You can easily manage your luggage unless you have severe health issues.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as your place to stay in Amalfi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

When we arrived in Amalfi we found it hard to find but when we did find it, it turned out to be a hidden gem. Perfectly located in the centre of Amalfi , the hotel is near to everything. The staff were very very helpful,Thank You Gabriella .Breckfeast was excellent and the room was spotlessly clean. We loved the roof terrace and spent some lovely evenings up there enjoying a glass of wine as the sun was setting I would recommend this hotel to anybody

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I were very much impressed with their wonderful hospitality.
All the staff are extraordinary kind and friendly. We often travel around the world and their hospitality we were extended this time was great and this is surely one of the best hotels we ever stayed.
The hotel is located three minutes on foot to the bus terminal and there's a supermarket just outside of their doorway and it's so convenient.

We'll definitely choose this hotel next time we visit Amalfi!

Room Tip: Junior suite with jacoozi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Can't say enough about the extraordinary hospitality i was extended. Grabriella even sent me home w packed lunch and gift!! Teresa is all around "wonder woman"; she serves at breakfast, makes the lemon jam and even cleans the rooms! All the staff makes this already beautiful place even more inviting to come back. I would, however, suggest to the owners to invest in a new mattress and larger tv for that room. After long, exhausting day trips some comfort is very appreciated.

I will certainly bring my husband back to beautiful Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

When we arrived Gabrielle showed us to our room and took my case, when we went in the room there was a bottle of Prosecco on ice with 2 champagne flutes (I was celebrating my 50th birthday) and she wished me a happy birthday, next morning lovely breakfast, when we mentioned room number to member if staff she said, oh it's your birthday, happy birthday, I felt very welcome in this lovely hotel. The room was excellent, had sea view and view of lovely church, the breakfast was vast, home made pastries and also a gorgeous lemon marmalade which was home made by the waitress. Lovely sun terrace on the roof overlooking sea and church in the town square where you can take your breakfast if you wish, we took a coffee and pastry up there after breakfast, best of both worlds.

I would love to return to Amalfi and would most definitely stay at l'antico convitto.

Thank you very much.

Angela and Steve

Room Tip: Room 7 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel L'Antico Convitto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Address: Via Salita dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Convitto 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Convitto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Convitto
l Antico Convitto Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Antico Convitto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.