We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Save Saved
You added Hotel L'Antico Convitto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Salita dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A friendly stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Can only really echo the good things said about the hotel by others: very friendly and helpful staff, good position, comfortable. Had pleasant room overlooking the cathedral. So the bells ring, made a nice atmosphere! Oh yes, the marmalade is excellent too!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    87
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
86
235
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Excellent staff with great location makes this a great choice for Amalfi. It's close to beach just 2 minutes walk. Extremely helpful staff and I really appreciate their help during our stay. I would strongly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We very much enjoyed Hotel L'Antico Convitto. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We appreciated their recommendations, help finding trails, and especially the very nice parting gift!

The hotel is several floors up, and our room overlooked the single main street leading from the sea through the heart of Amalfi. We could watch the other travelers moving up and down the street from above as well as the local merchants. Breakfast was upstairs, and you could take that breakfast to the roof. There are actually several hotels in this building, and we were delighted to learn that our hotel had the rooftop terrace closest to the sea. The views from there were wonderful. You could see all around the city. The staff spoke enough English and we enough Italian that would could communicate effectively.

Positives: Friendly staff, location in the heart of Amalfi, access to the entire city, very clean, well-appointed room.

Negatives: A bit noisy for light sleepers, but that is to be expected in town.

Advice: Be ready to walk a short distance from the ferry or the main road when you arrive. It is not far, but it can be a little challenging through the crowds and cobbled streets. We recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cootamundra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this delightful hotel towards the end of our 5 week European trip.
The hotel was very comfortable and central. The breakfast was lovely and our room better than we expected. We were welcomed very warmly by Gabriella and Antonella after our transport from Naples had been organised for us (thankfully). Antonella continued to provide the most amazing service as we were having train and internet troubles. Nothing was too much trouble for her. If good service is important to you then this is the place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We found this little hotel in the heart of Amalfi. It's wonderful! The staff is very friendly, the breakfast is delicious, and the rooms were nice and very reasonably priced. The only downside is the nearby church, where the bells start ringing at 7am and continue to ring every 15 minutes throughout the day. If you're an early riser or a heavy sleeper you're probably fine though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I spent a night towards the end of our trip to Napoli and Amalfi Coast in October 2013. Before the trip, the hotel staff had provided us information on how to get to the hotel and parking arrangements. But we were still a bit skeptical on how easy it was to walk from the public carpark Luna Rossa to the hotel with luggage. When we got there, we found that the public carpark was nicely built and walking through the tunnel to the piazza and then to the hotel was quite manageable even without the use of the hotel's free porter service. The hotel building, located at the end of a small lane, is nicely decorated and well maintained. It is very close to Duomo and the piazza and very convenient. The hotel staff was fantastic with Antonella and her colleagues attending the breakfast room being very proactive and helpful. The room was of good size, very clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was ample with variety and prepared with heart. We took breakfast upstairs on a tray to the rooftop terrace and had one of the best experiences during our trip. I would definitely stay there if I go to Amalfi again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My sister in law and I booked the cheapest type of room so we didn't expect too much for E72 a night. We had a twin room, spa and decent size bathroom , and very comfortable beds for this rate. Prior to our arrival we received a welcome email from Antonella with maps and arrival information…very helpful
We caught the ferry from Positano to Amalfi and on arrival I called the hotel to arrange for the bags to be delivered to our rooms. There was no charge for this service surprisingly.The hotel is in a quiet lane way so the only noise we could hear was the toll of the near by cathedral bells
It is the third level (I think) and has a lift so no problems with walking, there is also a wonderful terrace area where we could enjoy our evening aperitif.
We also made use of a very reasonably priced washing service.. a great convenience when travelling.
The breakfast was excellent with freshly squeezed orange juice waiting for us each morning.
This is not a five star hotel but the service provided by Antonella and the other staff would out do most, I also noticed quite a few hikers staying as it is a fantastic region for this activity.
I will definitely return to this hotel on my next trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel L'Antico Convitto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Address: Via Salita dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Convitto 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Convitto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Convitto
l Antico Convitto Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Antico Convitto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.