We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Save Saved
You added Hotel L'Antico Convitto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Salita dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in Amalfi
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We found this little hotel in the heart of Amalfi. It's wonderful! The staff is very friendly, the breakfast is delicious, and the rooms were nice and very reasonably priced. The only downside is the nearby church, where the bells start ringing at 7am and continue to ring every 15 minutes throughout the day. If you're an early riser or a heavy sleeper you're probably fine though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    79
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
69
206
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My wife and I spent a night towards the end of our trip to Napoli and Amalfi Coast in October 2013. Before the trip, the hotel staff had provided us information on how to get to the hotel and parking arrangements. But we were still a bit skeptical on how easy it was to walk from the public carpark Luna Rossa to the hotel with luggage. When we got there, we found that the public carpark was nicely built and walking through the tunnel to the piazza and then to the hotel was quite manageable even without the use of the hotel's free porter service. The hotel building, located at the end of a small lane, is nicely decorated and well maintained. It is very close to Duomo and the piazza and very convenient. The hotel staff was fantastic with Antonella and her colleagues attending the breakfast room being very proactive and helpful. The room was of good size, very clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast was ample with variety and prepared with heart. We took breakfast upstairs on a tray to the rooftop terrace and had one of the best experiences during our trip. I would definitely stay there if I go to Amalfi again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My sister in law and I booked the cheapest type of room so we didn't expect too much for E72 a night. We had a twin room, spa and decent size bathroom , and very comfortable beds for this rate. Prior to our arrival we received a welcome email from Antonella with maps and arrival information…very helpful
We caught the ferry from Positano to Amalfi and on arrival I called the hotel to arrange for the bags to be delivered to our rooms. There was no charge for this service surprisingly.The hotel is in a quiet lane way so the only noise we could hear was the toll of the near by cathedral bells
It is the third level (I think) and has a lift so no problems with walking, there is also a wonderful terrace area where we could enjoy our evening aperitif.
We also made use of a very reasonably priced washing service.. a great convenience when travelling.
The breakfast was excellent with freshly squeezed orange juice waiting for us each morning.
This is not a five star hotel but the service provided by Antonella and the other staff would out do most, I also noticed quite a few hikers staying as it is a fantastic region for this activity.
I will definitely return to this hotel on my next trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in October. We loved Amalfi of course (who doesn't) but our experience was made all the richer by the help and service given to us by Gabriella, Antonella and Teresa. This is what travel dreams are made of.
The position of the Hotel is first class - close to the port, all shops, groceries and great restaurants (try Da Gemma). The room we had was beautifully decorated in Amalfi blue, was roomy with plenty of hanging space and had a great spa. It was spotlessly clean.
Gabriella and Antonella couldn't do enough for us - from arranging an airport pick up by Sergio, to bringing our bags up, suggesting trips, tours etc.
And Teresa with her breakfasts and great coffee - thank you so much. We left a little bit of our hearts in Amalfi but we know you girls will look after them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The staff at this hotel is truly what made the experience memorable. They were very accommodating, friendly, and gave excellent recommendations for dining in Amalfi. We'll definitely return to the same hotel on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

the hotel is pretty well situated, just off the main street. theres a grocery store right next to it too. the staff was super friendly and they even arrange a tour of something everyday. we did the lemon tour. they really try to please, but the room set up was very similar to a days inn or similar, nothing great. except maybe for the orange tree right outside our window!

good price, great location, but im sure there are better deals around the town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

From the moment we walked into the reception we felt we were in the right place. Every staff member was so welcoming and attentive. We could not fault the place. So convenient and Amalfi has more of an authentic feel than perhaps Positano. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. It's not too big and busy and suited us perfectly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel L'Antico Convitto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Convitto
l Antico Convitto Hotel
Address: Via Salita dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Convitto 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Convitto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Antico Convitto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.