We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot in Amalfi town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel L'Antico Convitto to your Saves list
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Salita dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot in Amalfi town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We are a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 children) and we stayed for 5 nights at Hotel L'Antico Convitto in mid-September. The hotel is right in the heart of Amalfi and everything is easily accessible to visit other towns - the ferries and bus station are nearby and we travelled easily to Ravello, Positano, Maiori & Minori. The staff at the hotel were great fun, very helpful, family friendly and really took the time to chat with our children. Prior to arriving they sent emails to us giving us maps and information about the area and how to arrive at the hotel. Breakfast was great with plenty to choose from, rooms and bathroom were clean, the roof top terrace was a nice spot to have our morning coffee. Loved the staff - Gabriella, Antonella, Teresa and Ferdinando. We travelled for 5 weeks and this hotel with its friendly staff was a definite highlight for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    101
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
92
267
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was our special trip to Amalfi to celebrate a big anniversary and we are so glad we chose this hotel. The welcome was warm and very friendly from the lovely Antonella and this carried on throughout our stay. We even received a couple of gifts to celebrate our anniversary which were very nice as well. We also received lots of good advice on how to make the most of our visit. The night receptionist Ferdinando was such a nice guy as well. Our room (no.5) was very clean, comfortable and had a great bathroom. It also had a nice courtyard view onto a very typical Amalfi view of characterful buildings, lots of greenery and a glimpse of mountains between them - very nice. Room was fairly near the reception area but was nice and quiet and only a short stroll to breakfast. Breakfast wad buffet style and had a great selection of everything from cereals, fruit, ham, cheese to croissants and pastries. We took ours up to the lovely terrace to start the day taking in the beautiful views over Amalfi towards the sea and right next to the tower of the Duomo Cathedral. We also spent a few evenings up there with some wine, relaxing on the comfortable loungers. Location of the hotel was great with the main square and Cathedral very close. An easy short walk from the bus station and ferry on the seafront, even with a bit of luggage. Nice little supermarket right next to the hotel entrance as well. We stayed in mid September and the weather was really beautiful up to around 28c with plenty of sun and warm evenings. Almalfi will always be special for us and staying at the Hotel L'Antico Convitto was just the perfect choice. Thank you Antonella & Gabriella!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights here..it is right in the heart of beautiful amalfi town & the staff were extremely friendly.
They were very helpful right from the time of booking with regular e-mails regarding car park / local amenities & through out our stay were always willing to help. The breakfast was nice with good variety.
The room was spacious & very clean. They even gave us a bottle of limoncello as a gift when we left.
The price is reasonable for the area & it's a ideal hotel to stay & explore the local area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel was perfect! It was right in the middle of everything yet felt like a quiet and peaceful retreat. The rooms were spacious, clean and every detail charming. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful and I can't say enough about how pleasant and sweet the entire staff was. We were treated so well and they went above and beyond to make sure every need was met. Wonderful service all around. No pool but a gorgeous roof top deck in which you could eat breakfast among the gorgeous views! Gotta park in a parking lot and walk through a tunnel to get to the hotel...they had porters help with luggage so it was no problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

An impressive staff always there for help, advice and a small talk. The hotel is right in the centre of the town close to the famous old Cathedral. The harbor, beach and bus station are at a short walking distance. The hotel is very quiet. The room was clean and comfortable. They served us a good breakfast with fresh fruit, marvelous italian coffee, cheese and ham. We very much enjoyed our three weeks stay here. The hotel is very recommendable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just stayed two nights in Room 8. Rooms 7, 8 and 9 have the view of the Cathedral spire. Clean, modern and very comfortable room. Large room by Italian standards. Definitely 4 star. Pleasant professional staff. Good breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit and yoghurt, boiled eggs; along with the usual European options. Nice cappuccino too.
We had a hire car and payed E20 per day for long term parking in the nearby underground car park. The hotel can send you parking advice if you ask. GPS makes hire car driving in Italy much more pleasant. Salerno up to Amalfi was doable. Amafli to Sorrento would be more challenging.
At E120 per night our stay was good value too.

Room Tip: Some rooms eg 7, 8 and 9 look to the distant sea over roof tops and the Cathedral spire. If you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I can't rate this hotel highly enough. The location just off the main street of Amalfi and but a stone's throw from the Duomo is perfect. There's even a supermarket right by the entrance. The staff were always on call for help, advice and a joke. From the moment we arrived - hot and dusty from a long journey - we were made to feel welcome, and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel shares the building with another hotel, a B&B and other enterprises, and is oddly laid out with reception on the 3rd floor and some of the rooms on the 1st - upside down, as it were. Our room was beautifully decorated with a high vaulted ceiling, cool local tiles and a very well appointed bathroom. The breakfast was eclectic and always with something delicious one wanted to eat. There was no sense of 'not being allowed'. We asked for a kettle and tea- bags: "Of course! Of course!" We wanted to hang out some laundry on the roof: "Of course! Of course!" And we took our breakfast on a tray up to the same roof terrace with its stunning views over the rooftops to the Campanile of the cathedral and the blue Mediterranean beyond. Though our room look down onto the street below, the double-glazed French Windows were very effective; when closed the room was almost silent but for the quiet hum of the air-conditioning. Highly to be recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Antico Convitto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Address: Via Salita dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Convitto 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Convitto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Convitto
l Antico Convitto Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Antico Convitto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.