We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel L'Antico Convitto to your Saves list
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Salita dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Bergen, Norway
1 review
“Great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

An impressive staff always there for help, advice and a small talk. The hotel is right in the centre of the town close to the famous old Cathedral. The harbor, beach and bus station are at a short walking distance. The hotel is very quiet. The room was clean and comfortable. They served us a good breakfast with fresh fruit, marvelous italian coffee, cheese and ham. We very much enjoyed our three weeks stay here. The hotel is very recommendable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    94
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
91
253
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just stayed two nights in Room 8. Rooms 7, 8 and 9 have the view of the Cathedral spire. Clean, modern and very comfortable room. Large room by Italian standards. Definitely 4 star. Pleasant professional staff. Good breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit and yoghurt, boiled eggs; along with the usual European options. Nice cappuccino too.
We had a hire car and payed E20 per day for long term parking in the nearby underground car park. The hotel can send you parking advice if you ask. GPS makes hire car driving in Italy much more pleasant. Salerno up to Amalfi was doable. Amafli to Sorrento would be more challenging.
At E120 per night our stay was good value too.

Room Tip: Some rooms eg 7, 8 and 9 look to the distant sea over roof tops and the Cathedral spire. If you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I can't rate this hotel highly enough. The location just off the main street of Amalfi and but a stone's throw from the Duomo is perfect. There's even a supermarket right by the entrance. The staff were always on call for help, advice and a joke. From the moment we arrived - hot and dusty from a long journey - we were made to feel welcome, and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel shares the building with another hotel, a B&B and other enterprises, and is oddly laid out with reception on the 3rd floor and some of the rooms on the 1st - upside down, as it were. Our room was beautifully decorated with a high vaulted ceiling, cool local tiles and a very well appointed bathroom. The breakfast was eclectic and always with something delicious one wanted to eat. There was no sense of 'not being allowed'. We asked for a kettle and tea- bags: "Of course! Of course!" We wanted to hang out some laundry on the roof: "Of course! Of course!" And we took our breakfast on a tray up to the same roof terrace with its stunning views over the rooftops to the Campanile of the cathedral and the blue Mediterranean beyond. Though our room look down onto the street below, the double-glazed French Windows were very effective; when closed the room was almost silent but for the quiet hum of the air-conditioning. Highly to be recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. It was in the centre of town, not east to find on your own but they sent a porter to collect us and our luggage from the main square. The hotel was very quiet, a great spread for breakfast and a very pleasant roof terrace on which to take your breakfast.The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite which had a bathroom with shower and a separate Jacuzzi tub in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

On September 5th, my wife and I spent the day exploring the ruins at Pompeii, under a hot sun. We then drove over the spine of the Amalfi peninsula (great drive!) coming down to Amalfi via Ravello. We were celebrating 25 years of marriage, and this day also happened to be my wife's birthday. I had been in Amalfi 33 years previously and was a bit anxious: would current day Amalfi live up to the wonderful memories from 1980?

Over the previous weeks, I had been in touch with Antonella from the hotel: could she arrange flowers? Of course! Could she arrange for a bottle of Prosecco? Absolutely! On second thought could she replace the Prosecco with my wife's favourite champagne? Good idea, no problem! And where do I park the car? Luna Rossa garage, here's how it works. Then, 48 hours before we arrived, I asked her if, when we arrived at the front desk, I could quietly slip her a birthday card, without my wife noticing, and then when she brought us to our room she could prop it against the champagne bucket (as if I had mailed it to the hotel ahead of time). No problem. Finally, as it will be her birthday, can she recomment and arrange for a reservation at a great restaurant? Of course!

I am explaining all this to illustrate that no request was too much, and Antonella and her colleagues just went out of their way to make our stay absolutely wonderful. After we had checked in, sipped our champagne, had a shower, and got comfortable, I dropped by the front desk to ask Antonella a question. She took the opportunity to ask me if everything was ok and if the surprise worked out. When I said yes, the look of relief on her face was marvelous to see: she genuinely was concerned. This was no jaded hospitality industry wage earner! And as to the bouquet of flowers we ordered, we could not believe how big and beautiful it was!

The ladies at the desk had a discussion amongst themselves regarding which restaurant we should go to: "Should it be restaurant X? Great food but the atmosphere is not as romantic. What about restaurant Y? That's better". They really were concerned about getting it right. When I explained to them that we were both foodies and that we had heard that there was a Michelin-starred restaurant in town, they ended up making a reservation at La Caravelle, followed, the next day, by lunch at Marina Grande. Later on, when they were replaced at the front desk by Ferdinando, I commented to him that we were going to La Caravelle. A cloud came over his face. I interpreted it that he thought the restaurant was very expensive. He was correct, it was, but it was also a great foodie experience. Ferdinando recommended we eat at Al Teatro, which we did the next night. There we had a different kind of foodie experience, eating on a slightly rickety table in a small alleyway. After all our restaurant experiences, the staff were asking us if everything went well. Indeed! We did not have a bad meal in Amalfi.

So far this review concentrates on the staff. But the hotel itself was close to perfect, and superb value for money. There were a couple of minor problems with our room: the sink did not drain and a towel rack was broken. I mentioned it to the staff, we went for a brief walk in town, and when we got back everything was fixed. Breakfasts were the usual Italian fare, but with fresh squeezed juice and soft boiled eggs. And the best sugar doughnuts! No complaints for the price we were paying! This place is real value for money.

Location is perfect. Right off the main street, but absolutely quiet. Not too far to get to from the parking lot (make sure your luggage has wheels, but they will arrange a golf cart transport, if you request it). And the rooftop terrace was a great bonus both for breakfast and end of day relaxing. Our room had a bit of a sea view. Maybe it would have been nice to be in a hotel right on the water, with a complete sea view and balcony, but we would surely have paid much more and it probably would not have been as quiet. In my opinion it would not have been worth it.

Of all the places we stayed in during our three weeks in Italy, this was by far the best in terms of value for money. And then to top everything, when we left we were given a nice little bottle of Limoncello, with a hand written card from the staff. A delighful touch to conclude a birthday celebration.

Conclusion: don't look elsewhere, book Antico Convitto right now!

Room Tip: We had room 7. It had windows on two walls and probably the best view of all the rooms. The bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne,aus
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We only stayed here 1 night as we moved along the Amalfi coast and were very happy we chose this quaint little hotel hidden down a lane way off the main shopping strip. It was very clean, close to buses and ferries and the main church. Breakfast was great and staff, particularly Antonella went out of their way to please. I would definitely recommend this place if you want a nice comfortable room at a good price amongst the action of Amalfi, however If you want 5 star this is not for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Amafi itself is a little jewel on the coast. L'Antico Convitto made our stay there very special. The location in the centre of town is perfect. The rooms are spacious and the rooftop terrace is a magical place to have breakfast overlooking the blue water.
But the staff here are the standout. Nothing is too much trouble. Help with trays to the rooftop with extra coffee for breakfast, printouts of train timetables with the most convenient times circled, bookings for tours and events - always with a genuine smile.
Would recommend again and again.

Room Tip: The family room is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Antico Convitto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Address: Via Salita dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Convitto 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Convitto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Convitto
l Antico Convitto Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Antico Convitto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.