We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the centre of town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel L'Antico Convitto to your Saves list
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Salita dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Right in the centre of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. It was in the centre of town, not east to find on your own but they sent a porter to collect us and our luggage from the main square. The hotel was very quiet, a great spread for breakfast and a very pleasant roof terrace on which to take your breakfast.The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite which had a bathroom with shower and a separate Jacuzzi tub in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    125
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
113
309
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

On September 5th, my wife and I spent the day exploring the ruins at Pompeii, under a hot sun. We then drove over the spine of the Amalfi peninsula (great drive!) coming down to Amalfi via Ravello. We were celebrating 25 years of marriage, and this day also happened to be my wife's birthday. I had been in Amalfi 33 years previously and was a bit anxious: would current day Amalfi live up to the wonderful memories from 1980?

Over the previous weeks, I had been in touch with Antonella from the hotel: could she arrange flowers? Of course! Could she arrange for a bottle of Prosecco? Absolutely! On second thought could she replace the Prosecco with my wife's favourite champagne? Good idea, no problem! And where do I park the car? Luna Rossa garage, here's how it works. Then, 48 hours before we arrived, I asked her if, when we arrived at the front desk, I could quietly slip her a birthday card, without my wife noticing, and then when she brought us to our room she could prop it against the champagne bucket (as if I had mailed it to the hotel ahead of time). No problem. Finally, as it will be her birthday, can she recomment and arrange for a reservation at a great restaurant? Of course!

I am explaining all this to illustrate that no request was too much, and Antonella and her colleagues just went out of their way to make our stay absolutely wonderful. After we had checked in, sipped our champagne, had a shower, and got comfortable, I dropped by the front desk to ask Antonella a question. She took the opportunity to ask me if everything was ok and if the surprise worked out. When I said yes, the look of relief on her face was marvelous to see: she genuinely was concerned. This was no jaded hospitality industry wage earner! And as to the bouquet of flowers we ordered, we could not believe how big and beautiful it was!

The ladies at the desk had a discussion amongst themselves regarding which restaurant we should go to: "Should it be restaurant X? Great food but the atmosphere is not as romantic. What about restaurant Y? That's better". They really were concerned about getting it right. When I explained to them that we were both foodies and that we had heard that there was a Michelin-starred restaurant in town, they ended up making a reservation at La Caravelle, followed, the next day, by lunch at Marina Grande. Later on, when they were replaced at the front desk by Ferdinando, I commented to him that we were going to La Caravelle. A cloud came over his face. I interpreted it that he thought the restaurant was very expensive. He was correct, it was, but it was also a great foodie experience. Ferdinando recommended we eat at Al Teatro, which we did the next night. There we had a different kind of foodie experience, eating on a slightly rickety table in a small alleyway. After all our restaurant experiences, the staff were asking us if everything went well. Indeed! We did not have a bad meal in Amalfi.

So far this review concentrates on the staff. But the hotel itself was close to perfect, and superb value for money. There were a couple of minor problems with our room: the sink did not drain and a towel rack was broken. I mentioned it to the staff, we went for a brief walk in town, and when we got back everything was fixed. Breakfasts were the usual Italian fare, but with fresh squeezed juice and soft boiled eggs. And the best sugar doughnuts! No complaints for the price we were paying! This place is real value for money.

Location is perfect. Right off the main street, but absolutely quiet. Not too far to get to from the parking lot (make sure your luggage has wheels, but they will arrange a golf cart transport, if you request it). And the rooftop terrace was a great bonus both for breakfast and end of day relaxing. Our room had a bit of a sea view. Maybe it would have been nice to be in a hotel right on the water, with a complete sea view and balcony, but we would surely have paid much more and it probably would not have been as quiet. In my opinion it would not have been worth it.

Of all the places we stayed in during our three weeks in Italy, this was by far the best in terms of value for money. And then to top everything, when we left we were given a nice little bottle of Limoncello, with a hand written card from the staff. A delighful touch to conclude a birthday celebration.

Conclusion: don't look elsewhere, book Antico Convitto right now!

Room Tip: We had room 7. It had windows on two walls and probably the best view of all the rooms. The bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne,aus
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We only stayed here 1 night as we moved along the Amalfi coast and were very happy we chose this quaint little hotel hidden down a lane way off the main shopping strip. It was very clean, close to buses and ferries and the main church. Breakfast was great and staff, particularly Antonella went out of their way to please. I would definitely recommend this place if you want a nice comfortable room at a good price amongst the action of Amalfi, however If you want 5 star this is not for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Amafi itself is a little jewel on the coast. L'Antico Convitto made our stay there very special. The location in the centre of town is perfect. The rooms are spacious and the rooftop terrace is a magical place to have breakfast overlooking the blue water.
But the staff here are the standout. Nothing is too much trouble. Help with trays to the rooftop with extra coffee for breakfast, printouts of train timetables with the most convenient times circled, bookings for tours and events - always with a genuine smile.
Would recommend again and again.

Room Tip: The family room is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

What a great place! Tucked up a very uninspiring alley off the main street (blink and you will miss it) this place is an oasis of grace and charm in a very busy town. Literally minutes walk from the main piazza, you could be anywhere. The staff are really friendly too, and very eager to help. We spent 3 nights here. Initially we had a 'junior suite' (very nice by the way!) as our room was not available, and we had to change the next day. However, the staff moved all our stuff while we were out (into another equally lovely room) and when we got back there was a lovely bowl of fruit as a 'thank you' - we also got a bottle of limoncello on our departure. Nice touches. Breakfast is great, lot of variety and you can have it on the roof terrace if you wish - wasps can be a pain though if you go outside so make you own choice. Tip - you will never find it if you arrive by bus, boat etc - just give them a ring and they will send a porter down with a little buggy to pick you up (allow a bit of notice - find somewhere for a coffee while you are waiting!). Also - the little supermarket by the front door is great for drinks and picnic stuff, and the greengrocer near the entrance to the alley does very nice fruit.

Room Tip: seems most are very nice - the junior suites are bigger. Most, if not all will have a limited view b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have just recently returned from Italy having spent 2 nights at L'Antico Convitto. What a fantastic hotel! We arrived on the bus from Salerno and the hotel is located just a 5 minute walk, just off the main street leading up from the Cathedral.

If you're looking to stay somewhere away from the busy, and sometimes noisy streets of Amalfi, then perhaps this hotel isn't for you. If however you are looking to stay somewhere slap bang in the middle of everything, then Hotel L'Antico Convitto is the place!

We were made to feel very welcome by every single member of staff we met - they were all very friendly and chatty. In particular, Antonella who runs everything by day and Ferdinando who looks after the hotel by night, are both lovely.

The rooms were spotlessly clean, they had everything we needed - aircon, a safe, comfortable beds. I have read some reviews in which some people have said that the rooms were quite small - we hardly spent any time in our room (apart from sleeping) so this was never an issue.

Possibly the hotels' best feature is their roof terrace - this overlooks the sea and beautiful church tower. On both evenings, before going out for dinner we sat up there for a couple of hours with a bottle of wine purchased from the supermarket right next door, just watching the night draw in - it was wonderful! The staff at the hotel were most accomodating and gave us wine glasses and ice bucket to take up there.

The breakfasts were also good, there was a good range of pastries, cheeses, hams etc to choose from. You can even take a tray and enjoy your breakfast upstairs on the roof terrace!

I loved this hotel and part of the reason for this is because the staff here are so helpful and friendly. I holiday in southern Italy almost every year and will probably return for a short stay in Amalfi. When I do, I will most certainly be staying at L'Antico Convitto again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#12 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
0.2 mi away
Villa Lara
Villa Lara
#7 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Antico Convitto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Address: Via Salita dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Convitto 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Convitto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Convitto
l Antico Convitto Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Antico Convitto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.