We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couple's stay in Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Save Saved
You added Hotel L'Antico Convitto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Salita dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Couple's stay in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It's usually an especially bad, or an especially good experience that prompt people to leave reviews; happily mine was the latter. I cannot explain how nice the staff were - you'd accuse me of exaggerating - but they were simply the most helpful and charming hotel staff I have ever come across. On our last day we were leaving early (too early for the breakfast). The manager met us to collect the key, waived the mini-bar costs as it was "only water and juice", offered to make us an espresso to wake us up and then gave us packed lunches (packed lunches!! so cute!). Finally he presented us with a bottle of limoncello, with a hand written note of thanks for our stay. This typifies the way we were treated throughout our stay.
The room, terrace, location and value all exceeded our expectations, but it was the courtesy of the staff that made this such a touching experience.
My advice: stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    92
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
85
234
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Hotel L'Antico Convitto for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon trip and loved it there. The staff could not do enough for us and were really helpful when planning things to do and see in and around Amalfi. When we left for an early flight they packed us some breakfast to take with us and even gave us a bottle of Limoncello as a parting gift!

The room we had faced the ocean and provided a fantastic view of Amalfi and the Doumo which is literally a stones throw away. It was also very clean and serviced to a high standard each of the days we stayed there.

The terrace at the top - Hotel L'Antico Convitto's is right at the front facing the ocean and the most well appointed one up there - was a great place to relax and unwind at the end of the day.

The hotel is located right in the heart of the township of Amalfi and within easy walking distance of the beach and many shops and restaurants. We arrived by bus at the bus station and it was a short 5 minute walk to find the hotel.

All in all a great stay at a great boutique hotel. We certainly appreciated the exceptional service and attitude of all the staff there who really made my wife and I feel at home in Amalfi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Amazing --- location great staff very friendly and helpful --rooms great --- definitely to be savoured Its situated right in the heart of the town - surrounded by the most amazing scenery We will be back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel for couple nights and we liked especially for the stuff kindness. Hotel is right in the center of the town with next door to supermarket but also in very silent place that was very important for our small child. Room wasn't very big but it was very cozy. Also we liked very much the terrace at the roof, it was very nice to have breakfast there. So thanks to the stuff, and I think that all new travellers will not regret for staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is the nicest hotel. The staff is truly exceptional. The rooms are perfect, and Antonella and Gabriella took such good care of us. I could not imagine a better experience. We were three couples and each of us had a great room. Large, extremely clean and comfortable, with all the amenities you would want. Breakfasts were great, the view from the Terrace was phenomenal, and everything worked perfectly. But that is not what makes this hotel great. What makes this hotel great is the service. We felt pampered at all times. Just lovely!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 and our friends stayed in room 8. Both are terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We are family of four and stayed at this gorgeous little,hotel in Amalfi. Rooms, location, breakfast, the terrace, the service was perfect. Antonella, Gabriella and Theresa helped us so much with recommendations for local restaurants, day trips, swimming spots and cafes. It was a very memorable part of our holiday as it was so lovely to come across inch a welcoming hotel. We highly recommend it and its team, they were great and Amalfi is beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

What can I say about this hotel that hasn't been said already?
It didn't take long to understand why so many people have waxed lyrical about the staff and location.
Gabriella, Antonella and the rest of the staff are the most helpful my new wife and I have ever had the pleasure to meet. They even gave us a gift on the morning we left by way of a congratulations for our marriage, which was both unexpected and kind.
Throughout our stay they went above and beyond, making sure we had everything we needed and filling us in on local trips and hotspots.
The location is perfect, we were on the doorstep for the countless number of excellent bars and restaurants, and barely five minutes' stroll away from the water.
If you are planning to stay in Amalfi you MUST stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel L'Antico Convitto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Address: Via Salita dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Convitto 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Convitto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Convitto
l Antico Convitto Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Antico Convitto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.