We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay! Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Save Saved
You added Hotel L'Antico Convitto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Salita dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay! Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel really touched us with their hospitality! The staff are genuinely kind and attentive to their guests! Rooms are very spacious and extremely clean! The hotel is quite new and the rooftop terrace is a spectacular spot for breakfast. The cathedral clock mentioned by others is wonderful as it adds to the Amalfi experience! Breakfast was one of the best we had in Europe, freshly squeezed (on demand) Amalfi oranges just lovely. Location is perfect as is within the central village but our room had a partial ocean view which for the price was an absolute bargain! Thank you again team for a truly wonderful stay you really made our to the Amalfi Coast perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    328
    90
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
90
241
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had an amazing stay despite the poor weather at Hotel L'Antico Convitto. the staff was So friendly, and would bend over backwards to make you feel really welcome. We were greeted with the nicest lady at breakfast time, who made us great cappuccino and fresh squeezed orange juice if available. breakfast was delicious with italian pastries and salamis. they lent us maps to other cities and recommended some nice hikes for us to take. Room was spotlessly clean, and spacious. We loved the new shower with side jet streams- that was really cool! Beds were separated into two small twins as requested. They gave us a yummy snack and offered us cappucino once when it was rainy and we were resting. Another time the front desk gentleman reheated my leftover meal in the microwave for me at my request with the hugest smile and earnestness as I don't think he quite knew his way around the kitchen, and when we left, they presented us with a beautiful hand painted glass bottle of limoncello with a nice card. Doesn't get any better than this. Loved the Amalfi. miss it already!

Room Tip: Our rooms were in the 100 section- first floor and faced a noisy street. might be good to request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel, Rakefet
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

No point in repeating evrything said in previous reveiws. All the praise is fully deserved.
We stayed for 7 nights and we loved every minute.
Espcialy heart warming is the amazing freindly and profetional service of all the staff!!
I would give them 6 stars if I could.
Excelent value for money.
The only drawback is the cathedral bell that blows in your ear from 0700 to 2200. As we are early birds we didn't mind. But if you want to sleep late it might be annoying.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spent three nights here last April (2013) and can not say thank you enough to all at l'Antico Convitto for making our stay so enjoyable. We booked on the 'phone to make sure that the beds were just right for our needs (a proper 'matrimonial' not singles stuck together) and were immediately impressed by the patience and care of hotel reception. The hotel itself is kept spotless and the rooms are spacious and recently refurbished. We loved the excellent breakfast with such friendly service - whilst you can breakfast on the roof-terrace with its splendid view we actually preferred to stay downstairs to enjoy being looked after. We planned several trips with the help of the hotel, and soon learnt to trust the advice we were given. Places to eat, travel arrangements, things to do - all were made easier and more enjoyable. We are usually stubbornly independant when travelling, but here it would be a big mistake. The location could not be better - just behind the cathedral but in a quiet spot right next to both supermarkets and restaurants. Our room looked over a little alleyway and we spent our first morning watching a bride leave her family home - with neighbours throwing confetti: enchanting. Most of all this is very child-friendly place to stay - our three-year old felt thoroughly at home and he was treated with just the right amount of welcome. Everyone was so kind, so sincere, so helpful ... And a parting gift and note, made after bills had been settled, was a delightful parting touch. Oh - and we also found this very reasonably priced for the location. Really faultless.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have spent four nights here and we loved it! Antonella and gabriella are very very helpful, professional and friendly. There is also a gentlemen on the front desk sometimes in the evening and he is lovely too. Brilliant location, amazing breakfast, rooms are spotlessly clean (l am fussy!) and the internet is fast. My husband and l will be sad to leave. The experience here has been one we will always remember. They also arranged tours to pompeii and the amalfi opera saving us time and effort.

Room Tip: We stayed in rm 8, views to sea in the distance. The church bells are part of the charm so enjoy tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

First time on the Amalfi Coast and this was a perfect choice. We could repeat all the good things others have said about the sun deck, the breakfast the rooms the cleanliness the location all of which were excellant but the best thing of all are the staff. What amazingly people. Nothing was too much effort. They advised us about walks, printed maps, told us about places to visit, organised taxi's and porters for our luggage on the last day and did it all with a smile. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be very nice. Rooms at the front open onto the street and are more noisy tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hotel L'Antico Convitto was one of our best hotels during a 2 week trip down the Amalfi Coast. When I go back to the beautiful town of Amalfi again, I know exactly where I'll be staying... here! You walk down a charming little backroad and all of a sudden a huge glass door opens and takes you to a bright white lobby area with an elevator. The elevator takes you up to the 3rd floor where the nicest hotel staff are located. Room was gorgeous with raised jacuzzi. Breakfast was great, and able to eat on rooftop deck overlooking Amalfi and Mediterranean- perfection. Literally everyone who works here is overly nice, even the lady who poured my coffee in the morning. Stay here! Located right in the heart of Amalfi, easily walkable to beach/town/restaurants/shops/cathedral square.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 10. Perfect everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel L'Antico Convitto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Address: Via Salita dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Convitto 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Convitto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Convitto
l Antico Convitto Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Antico Convitto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.