We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“L'Antico Convitto Fantastico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Save Saved
You added Hotel L'Antico Convitto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Salita dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Edisto Island, SC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“L'Antico Convitto Fantastico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed at L'Antico Convitto for three nights the end of March and 1st of April. This is a great hotel with very comfortable, clean rooms, a wonderful shower, and great service. Nice views from the rooms and we woke every morning to church bells. Gabriella helped us with maps, restaurants and tourist sites. The breakfast was simple but good and the capuccino delicious. They also have a computer available for use by the guests. Amalfi is a wonderful location to explore the Costiera Amalfitana. We loved Ravello and took the bus there and walked down to Amalfi. This is a beautiful ancient path with wonderful views. We also visited Positano and Furore. We only wished that we had more time to walk more of the trails and explore the towns. This hotel was a terrific bargain and we definitelty hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    87
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
86
235
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed at L'Antico Convitto for 6 nights in March, and used our Amalfi base to explore the Amalfi Coast, see Sorrento, and visit Vesuvius, Pompeii and Herculaneum. Having travelled up and down the Amalfi coast during our stay, I am pleased we chose to stay in Amalfi itself, as it seems somehow more authentic and pretty than some of the other towns along the coast. There is a great selection of places to eat and drink right on the doorstep of the hotel (literally) and all seemed good value for money, none were obviosuly over-priced. Amalfi also has the most fantastc Cathedral (Duomo) I think I have ever seen, also the resting place of Saint Andrew the Apostle. Despite the hotel having no parking of its own, the local garage they use is conveniently located and easy to access, albeit I guess reasonably pricey at €13/day at the time of our visit. Breakfast each day was simple, but perfectly acceptable and served with fresh coffee or tea. We stayed in 2 rooms as we extended our stay by 1 night and had to swap rooms as a result, and both rooms we had were large, exceptionally clean and very well appointed for the cost. Local buses (SITA) operate all along the Amalfi coast and are also a very good way to see the coast if the driver needs a break and an opportunity to take in the scenery (not reccomended whilst driving!!). All in all, a lovely break in a great spot. I'd reccommend this hotel and location highly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

What a wonderful little hotel. Rino and Gabrielle were so helpful and generous with their time and attention and advice. We were there very off-season, so there were only one or two other families in the hotel. We found it very quiet except for the #$% church bells that pealed promptly at 7am daily. Last bell is at 10pm. The location is perfect, within steps of a full-service grocery and many restaurants. (Off-season anywhere on this part of the coast means limited options for restaurants, shops, and hotels.) Our room was beautiful, spacious, comfortable and very clean.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights and my stay was pleasant. All the staff at the reception
were very helpful and gave me nice advices. It is a bit difficult to find the hotel at
first but it is close to the center (of course Amalfi is a small town, but anyway
it was close), and that was nice to get around.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Great location right in the centre of Amalfi and our room overlooked the main street. Room itself was clean and spacious, although at times was quite nosiy. We experienced a few issues with our TV and air conditioning. Breakfast was pretty average - was given a completely overcooked egg by a grumpy waitress, who appeared hungover. Whilst our stay overall was quite pleasant, I think 90 Euros for our room was grossly over-priced, especially when compared to the great hotel we stayed at in Capri (see other review).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We wanted to have a bit more space and booked the quadruple room. It had a living room with a sofa bed and a small bedroom.

The hotel was recently renovated and clean. The staff was very helpful. Being just off the main street of Amalfi, the location is very central.

Our room was said to be a quiet one, but all speech in the corridor could be heard clearly in our living room. As the hotel is small, this didn't really disturb. Nearby church bells kept ringing quite much during daytime, but this can't be avoided anywhere in central Amalfi.

The internet connection didn't work during our stay, there was a problem with internet connections in the whole city. The hotel offered to give a mobile internet connection, if we would have had an emergency.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed here with our one year old along with two other couples with toddlers, for a week at the end of July. The hotel staff was amazingly accommodating, with everything from room change requests, making dinner reservations, booking transfers and making friends with our children!

The rooms themselves are simple but clean, some are more spacious than others, though definitely suggest that if you are traveling with small children and you will have a stroller, book a room on the reception floor so you don't have to cart it up and down the stairs. The antique elevator is small but we never waited long for it when going up and down and the small grocery store underneath was great for purchasing milk every night. (There is also a mini bar refrigerator in the room where one can store milk and small perishable things.) The breakfast was nice for us as well, enough choices (eggs, croissant, cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast, meats/cheese and various pastries - plentiful for Southern Europe) to keep us full until lunch and we loved the coffee service we got every morning.

The hotel's location is great, just a minute or two from the main square and a few minutes from the beach. Would also recommend Da Maria just down the street, for wonderful food, service and it's a very child friendly restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel L'Antico Convitto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Antico Convitto

Address: Via Salita dei Curiali 4, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amalfi
#3 Family Hotel in Amalfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Antico Convitto 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel L'Antico Convitto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Antico Convitto
l Antico Convitto Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel L'Antico Convitto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.