We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Ninfa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Ninfa to your Saves list
Hotel La Ninfa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mauro Comite 35 | Strada Statale Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“amazing amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

We stayed at hotel la ninfa for 2 nights and 3 days over bank holiday monday in may. the room we booked was upgraded by Maurizio and we got to stay in the junior suite, room 5. the views from the room were amazing, we had a private balcony overlooking the ocean. I would definitely go back to that hotel again, great value for money and very welcoming staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    113
    37
    16
    15
See reviews for
40
319
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

I thougth better, the view was nice but the service not good.The reviews of the hotel described Maurizi but I didn't meet

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdagostino, Proprietario at Hotel La Ninfa, responded to this review, April 29, 2009
the hotel la ninfa apologizes if you were bad, but you have not requested any particular service and we have offered the standard of the hotel as your booking, for whatever extra was the concierge at your service 24 hours on 24
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

We came to Amalfi in the off season (March). After a adventurous experience on the bus on a Sunday during Carnival (which we had to get off the bus and walk thru 2 towns before finding a cab to take us the rest of the way.)..we arrived at La Ninfa. Our greeting made us feel like we were long lost friends. Our room (an upgrade) was incredible. I can't say enough about the views from our bathroom!!! Hand stitched towels - clean, decorated adorably. It was a joy to be in there. The breakfast was tasty and perfect and with an incredible view as well. Because it was the off season we pretty much had the hotel all to ourselves - so we didn't see the staff much - but when we did they were very helpful.
The walk to town is about 15 min going down and 20 going up. Be ready for a hike - but you can't beat the views. If you can figure out the bus system buy tickets at the bus stop in town and hail the bus for those lazy days.
The rooms were cute & cozy with a mediterranean feel. The only single bad thing I can say about our stay is that our bed was quite hard but it would not keep us from coming back again and again. PLUS - Free Wifi!
The people in town are very kind & friendly - the friendliest in all of Italy! Try the Mediterranean pizza place. Fast food pasta - but incredible!!! you'll easily find it by all the towns kids hanging out there.

Thank you La Ninfa for a wonderful stay. I HIGHLY recommend this to anyone wanting a cozy gorgeous stay in Amalfi.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

The hotel views were absolutely amazing. I didn't have a oceanside room simply because I didn't request one and it didn't matter at all. Right outside of our door was the breakfast room which overlooks the ocean with a spectacular view. Maurizio was a wonderful host. He took my friend and I on his vespa into the town and was very generous in helping us with whatever we needed. Although there is a walk into town I found it to be quite enjoyable and it does help that the weather there is always amazing. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning on staying in Amalfi. It was very clean, the room was spacious and decorated, the staff was very helpful and the breakfast was always really good. Not to mention there is an amazing private beach if you walk down the stairs of the mountain. Go here for a relaxing vacation and a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Hotel La Ninfa is a quaint hotel. The view from the breakfast room is incredible with large open windows. It is close to downtown and has beach access. In order to get down to the beach you have to climb down a fair amount of stairs, but in Europe you can't really get around that! Once on the beach the view is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

We booked a room with sea views at La Ninfa on account of the predominantly favourable reviews on this site.

First, the upside: spectacular views, and favourably priced compared to hotels closer into town. The breakfast room has particularly breathtaking views, and waitress service was friendly.

The downside: the hotel's private beach was, unfortunately, closed for the season, meaning we had to travel into town (the room did not have a balcony, as we had requested). The 2km walk into Amalfi quickly became tiresome and is downright dangerous in parts (no pedestrian walk-way, crazy drivers and blind corners!). In the end, we opted for the safety of the bus, which operates a reasonably regular service and stops outside the hotel. Believe everything you hear about the roads - we felt very relieved not to have hired a car - riding the bus was frightening enough ! The room we were allocated was a short walk from the main hotel, and right on the roadside, so traffic noise was an issue. To add to our woes, the bed was so hard, it felt like sleeping on boards. Overall, the room had a fairly tired feel, and could have done with a good spring clean.

Perhaps it was 'end of season' syndrome, but we did not receive the 'Maurizio experience' most have described. Usually, we found the reception desk unattended, and the proprietor nowhere to be found. If you were to remove the amazing views, the experience felt closer to 2 star quality, and is not one we would repeat. We found ourselves wishing we had paid the extra for a better quality hotel - though wondered whether we had simply drawn the short straw and ended up with their worst room.

  • Liked — Sea views
  • Disliked — Comfort of the room, out of town location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavira, Portugal
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

Booked here as our friends were staying here and had picked this hotel from the views shown on the website, we managed to get a room via booking.com at a good rate and we travelled from Sorrento. Arriving on one of the busiest days, the gondola regatta, was a great atmosphere for the area, but chaotic. The staff were wonderful and helped us to check-in quickly so we could watch the regatta from the lobby/breakfast area. Our car was parked by the young man, somewhere unknown to us but he promised it would be looked after. We had dinner at the restaurant they recommended and we were picked up and taken there and brought back. Our room was down a spiral staircase at the end of the lobby, cute and cosy with a view over the sea. Don't come here with lots of baggage, travel light! There was wifi (free) so we could get online and check our mail etc. The next day we walked down to the town, wonderful walk on the windy road and fantastic views. The town well you have to visit to experience it yourself and look in the cathedral. Breakfast was serve yourself breads and croissants and freshly squeezed juices and fresh coffee. Maurizio was friendly and has a casual, cheeky chappy personality & loads of info of the area. Good place to stay and would go back. We walked down to the beach and had a swim in the sea.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Ninfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Ninfa

Address: Via Mauro Comite 35 | Strada Statale Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Ninfa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Ninfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ninfa Hotel
La Ninfa Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Ninfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.