We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place far from the center of Amalfi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Ninfa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Ninfa to your Saves list
Hotel La Ninfa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mauro Comite 35 | Strada Statale Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average place far from the center of Amalfi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed here for a day, Amalfi is a beautiful place w.r.t. the hotel
THe Hotel was approx 800m-1km from the main center, but it is over the hill so getting there walking along with strolleys, seemed like 4km. You can take the bus which we were not aware of before we reached the hotel.
Staf was ok, approach of the room was through a small spiral staircase, mind u I mean really small, we had 2 bags not that big and it was difficult to get the bags to the rooms. So if its a bigger bag u'l have a real tough time.
Room was clean n tidy with a fridge, also complimentary wi-fi which was somewhat weak. View from the window of the room was breathtaking over-looking the sea.Bed was ok
The bathroom was outside the room, which was a put off although it was a private one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    119
    42
    20
    15
See reviews for
42
344
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Italy and a stay at La Ninfa. First the good. The room was a bargain for the view you get. We stayed in the balcony room and the view was exceptionally beautiful. Maria and her staff were incredibly gracious and the bathroom in the suite was the best we had during our stay in Italy (It was large with a deep jetted tub and rainfall shower) . Now for the bad. When we entered the room I immediately got the feeling it wasn't propertly cleaned. The bedding, more specifically the throw pillows, were disgusting. They were old, ripped and had what looked like spots of food stuck on them. The walls (and I know white walls are hard to keep clean) were dirty, and the floor had spots (maybe coffee?) on it. I also wonder if La Ninfa may have a bed bug problem. On our last day my husband woke up with a track of welts on his side that after 3 weeks have still not completely healed.

Overall I think La Ninfa is a good value if you proceed with caution and give your room a thorough inspection.

Room Tip: Not a good choice for the elderly or those needing extra help on stairs. Also two of the rooms are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at Hotel la Ninfa. Maria takes great care of her guests and let us stay in the apartment attached to La Ninfa. We loved it! It is very spacious and private. We loved having breakfast in the hotel every morning. What a breathtaking view! Maria also helped us rent a scooter to get around. We highly recommend it for adventure seekers because the roads are narrow and windy but it's an amazing feeling to live like the locals.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Amazing hotel, great price, it is small and kind of hard to find when you drive for the first time in Italy. But we loved it. its only 10 min walk to the center of Amalfi. We stayed in the room #5 which is like a penthouse , it is the only room in this hotel with the balcony like that and all the goods. We loved it from the first minute we opened our doors. This room is good only for two because its only one bed and not much space even for bags. Also this Premium room can only be book directly on hotel website and not on 3 party web sites ;). If you traveling as a couple do not think twice book this room you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Go directly on hotel website , do not use third party websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I found Hotel La Ninfa on Trip Advisor, and noticed a few bad reviews about the hotel being racist? I did not encounter the slightest instance that was even mildly related to such a bold statement. My friend and I are both from Singapore, and we decided to give it a shot because the photos looked fantastic!

Maurizio is an absolutely lovely person and so accommodating and caring. When he informed me that the hotel had a few problems with some leaks, we were notified that we would be put in a hotel nearby instead. I told him that I was honestly looking forward to my stay at La Ninfa but if the problem wasn't fixed, I guess we had no choice, but to keep me updated.

He called me shortly after before we left for Amalfi to let me know that all was well and he even upgraded us to the Junior Suite! We were so touched and appreciative of him going out of his way to make sure our stay in Amalfi was perfect, and it really was, topped off with a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival and a warm welcome from himself and one of his staff.

The view was fantastic, the room was awesome (facing the sea) and everything was just fabulous. Maurizio and his staff are some of the most friendliest people we have met that really made our visit to Amalfi complete.

Grazie Mille Hotel La Ninfa!
I 100% recommend this place to anyone visiting Amalfi.
Great staff, Great rooms, Awesome views.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the rooms with a sea view, you won't want to miss out on a view like Amalfi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had the bad luck of staying here during 4 days. The room is tiny, don't have storage space. The accustic of the room is terrible!!!! No elevator (impossible for old people or with disability), breakfast is the poorest I've ever seen: no butter, no ham and cheese, no eggs. To go to the beach you have to pay 15 euros to use an elevator (or you may walk 460 steps for free) and don't have the right to choose your spot at the beach. Awful!!!! This is not a boutique hotel!
Staff is ok and the view is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The dining room has a nice view, as advertised, but that's where this hotel stops being honest. The hotel website is extremely misleading from using very wide-angle lenses to give the impression the rooms are larger than they are (most rooms we saw couldn't fit luggage in). Your "ocean view" for most rooms is actually through the -Entrance Door!!- through the kitchen, bar or dining room. You have to, of course, close the entrance door for any type of privacy because they make food or drinks 2 ft. outside your room. Staff will wake you up early (making food outside your door) and you do not feel like you have any privacy as you can hear guests in other rooms quite easily. Do not go here if you are looking for any type of intimate retreat.

We saw lots of guests complaining and hotel management offered a bottle of wine (which is cheap in Italy) but basically shrugged it off and walked away while people were talking with them. Very poor service.

I was also shocked that they have no concept of security of personal information - watch as they leave your passport in a common wooden key box for all to access and flip through.

Friends of ours stays in another hotel in Amalfi and theirs was same price but much better quality. Overall, this is really low value. Don't be fooled by their misleading pictures - check out my pictures for a sense of what it is really like.

Room Tip: Get them to take pictures of your room specifically AND what it looks like from inside the room look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel La Ninfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Ninfa

Address: Via Mauro Comite 35 | Strada Statale Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Ninfa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Ninfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ninfa Hotel
La Ninfa Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Ninfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.