We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and private beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Ninfa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Ninfa to your Saves list
Hotel La Ninfa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mauro Comite 35 | Strada Statale Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Amazing views and private beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I give this place a 4 and a half. As said by many reviewers this place has to die for views. The place is very adorable with antique looking furniture and beautiful tiled floors. Our room was spacious with a lovely bath. The breakfasts were great - one of the highlights of my trip was sipping my cappacino while overlooking the bright blue water. Probably the best thing about this place is having a private beach, I imagine especially during peak season when the area gets quite crowded. There are quite a few stairs to the beach which was not an issue for me at all but could be an issue for older folks.

I really liked the location, being just outside the main town of Amalfi, made it much more relaxed. There were some lovely local restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.

Only negatives are that the beds are not too comfortable, and for the rooms that face the common area it is a little bit noisy. But overall i would definitely recommend and good value in an expensive area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    124
    43
    22
    15
See reviews for
43
354
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had the junior suite which had a magnificent view from the balcony. Carmen was very pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately, that is where the positive comments end. Room was very small and non-functional and bed was just a double. There was no place for suitcases. There is NO elevator and the stairs are steep, narrow and (to get to our room) very windy. The breakfast was meager and sub-standard for a 3* property. There is no restaurant and no restaurants close by. The hotel is a 15-20 minute walk from downtown Amalfi. When we were leaving, we were struggling to get our bags up the narrow, steep, windy stairs and asked the young man sitting in the office next to the stairs for assistance. He said "We don't provide that kind of assistance. If that's what you're looking for go to a 5* star hotel."

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at La Ninfa with my boyfriend for two nights in November absolutely loved this place! We booked the junior suite which did not dissapoint! The view from the private balcony & also the bathroom are amazing! Unfortunately the weather was not the best so we could not enjoy the beach situated beneath the hotel! There is a jacuzzi in the bathroom which I loved sitting in here having a glass of champagne overlooking the sea. Bed was very comfy , room was clean. It is a small hotel however it is peaceful & relaxing. la Ninfa is a bit of a walk into town we always walked to town great scenery about 20mins! Both Carmen & Maurizio were lovely & very helpful. Advising where to eat, bus timetables ect. Overall we had a fantastic time here & we hope to come back in the summer time!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

La Ninfa is situated high on a cliff just before Amalfi .We arrived by bus and were dropped right at the door of La Ninfa. This is an advantage, so you do not have to walk 15 minutes along the narrow road down the hill into Amalfi proper. You can walk, however, if you are brave. The bus to Amalfi takes just five minutes. .Buses to other locations all leave from the central Amalfi bus terminal on the waterfront. We used La Ninfa as a base to visit Ravello, Positano and Sorrento. It was a good choice. As you enter La Ninfa, the terrace view is breath taking. Breakfast is served on the terrace, so take your time and enjoy your coffee, pastries and the view.. Carmen is wonderful with suggestions for restaurants and side trips. We highly recommend La Ninfa!

Room Tip: I understand some rooms have a balcony view. Ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Perfect location, staff, accommodation and view!!!!!!!! I will be back and reccommend to all my family and friends for their future plans to visit the beautiful Amalfi.THANKS Maurizio, Carmen and Maria! I felt like I was at home and everybody went out of their way to make my time at La Ninfa simply perfect. Thanks for a magical, beautiful and relaxing time! A tip to anybody staying at La Ninfa in the future... ask Maurizio where the best pizza is and meet Salvatorre :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Got there very late around 11pm and no one home. Eventually roused the manager and he couldn't be more helpful however.... there had been some problems and our room was not available to due electrical problems. He had made alternative arrangements for us in a 4 star hotel 300metres away. If his service is anything to go by, this is a good place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We arrived here in the last week of a 2 month trip and it was fantastic. Everyone will make you feel at awesome. Breakfast was fantastic (apologies to the breakfast lady I forgot your name) olga is so accommodating, Carmen will help you arrange anything and is a pleasure to be around and Maurizio did what he did. Make sure you get some of Carmen's grandmas homemade brew it is the best orangecello. Also ask for then to arrange pesce di oro restaurant to come and get you was best meal out there at reasonable price. Other place to eat is mamma Stella's pizza in amalfi. Also beach is so serene take your time on the walk up or else non hiking types will have sore calves. Stretch them out and relax !!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdagostino, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Ninfa, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Davide,

thanks for the review and also for choosing our hotel.

I hope that you will come back soon in Amalfi Coast so you could try more orangcello!

Best regards

Carmen Amorino
Front Office Manager
Hotel La Ninfa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#24 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
1.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites
Hotel Bellevue Suites
#28 of 30 in Amalfi
3.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Ninfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Ninfa

Address: Via Mauro Comite 35 | Strada Statale Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Ninfa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Ninfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ninfa Hotel
La Ninfa Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Ninfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.