We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel in a superb location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Ninfa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Ninfa to your Saves list
Hotel La Ninfa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mauro Comite 35 | Strada Statale Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Hotel in a superb location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed in the La Ninfa Hotel for 3 nights during August with my family at the beginning of our Italian holiday. The location of this hotel is absolutely superb although a little difficult to find despite it is on the main road and a few minutes' drive to Almafi.

You need a car to get around this part of Italy but unfortunately parking is extremely difficult as there is just not enough parking areas/spaces around (not by a long long stretch). We used the car park in the hotel (space for about 6-8 cars) and left the keys in the hook in reception as they always need to play "musical cars" to move cars in and out of the tight spaces so people can get in and out. The hotel charged 15 euros per day/part day for the parking.

You can walk into Almafi (no more than 20-30 minutes) where the bars, restaurants, shops are. You need to be careful and keep to the edge as the roads are narrow very twisted, there is always a lot of traffic and drivers tended to come round the bends and sharp corners very fast. Taxis are available but it's very expensive for couple minutes' drive back to hotel as it's a fixed charge of 15 euros. Buses ran regularly into Almafi and are far cheaper.

Hotel La Ninfa is a lovely hotel, there are only 8 rooms and we had two for our family of four. The breakfast area and rooms all have murals painted which was really nice. The rooms were kept clean. One of our room is much bigger than the other but both en-suites were really nice.

The breakfast area overlooked the bay/sea below and and the view is stunning. Breakfast is continental and food is fresh and the coffee lovely. The lady who sorts out breakfast is nice and friendly. However, the beds were quite hard and if you are not used to sleeping on hard beds then it can be uncomfortable but overall we enjoyed our stay in the La Ninfa and if we ever come back to Almafi we would consider staying here again but we are not sure if we would come back, as nice as the coastline is, the problem with parking would put us off.

Room Tip: Go for the room with a balcony if you can, it offers extra space and has a fantastic view. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    124
    43
    22
    15
See reviews for
43
354
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent a too short 2 nights here to end our honeymoon in Italy. We were absolutely in love with the Amalfi coast and Hotel La Ninfa was the perfect spot!!
We stayed in the 2 - level suite that included a small balcony with breathtaking views of the water. The room was clean and lovely...we both loved the soaker tub and the rainshower (which has amazing views of the ocean....just fantastic)
The continental breakfast was lovely - still-warm croissants and pastries, cappuchinos and fresh juices as well as local fruit. We started each day with open windows and views of the water....
walking to town (Amalfi) was a quick 10 min walk and was totally worth it for the great shops and restaurants.
The beach walk is pretty challenging - 300+ steps down was a piece of cake, but back up was another story!! We ended up paying the 15 euros each the second day to use the elevator down and have access to the lounge chairs (the beach is rocky). The water was gorgeous and blue and we bobbed around for hours happily.
Amalfi coast is magical, and we were so happy with our choice of La Ninfa!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

La Ninfa - a hotel I will remember for not only the most amazing reason in my life - my engagement was here - and what a great hotel for it - the hotel's views were unbeatable!!! - but also bc of the over the top service my fiancee and I received here. We were greeted directly by the manager, Maurizio, who checked in with us multiple times over our two week stay and was always so friendly but the ultimate professional. Also great was Carmen who spoke English perfectly and was always ready with a great recommendation for food or gelato in downtown Amalfi. The private beach below can't be beat. We will FOR SURE be back for our one year anniversary if not BEFORE! Thanks!!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great but the ones directly on the Med are particularly special :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked the corner seaview room and the view was unbeatable! We felt like we were perched right on the edge of the cliff - with the weather so balmy, we took to leaving the windows open one night and just enjoyed the cool breeze! It makes such a difference when you wake up to a view of the sea and the sparkling coast... :)

A few things to note when you are staying at this lovely place though: it is not the most central location (ie you will need to take the bus, especially at night, which comes in apx 30 min intervals). The entrance of the hotel is by stairs, so be aware if you are bringing big luggages, though Carmen helped us very graciously with ours. Also, the rooms are on the small side (which is probably common in the area).

But other than that - come for the view. it's worth it.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had an excellent time at Hotel La Ninfa. Our room had a great view of the coast and was also very clean and easy to live in. At the front desk Carmen and the rest of the staff were extremely helpful with aiding us sort our travel plans and other items, and we can not thank them enough. Overall, Hotel La Ninfa is an excellent place to stay and i would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We loved our stay at La Ninfa. Staff was very gracious and helpful..especially Carmen! Our room was clean and breakfast excellent. Great place..highly recommended. We will be back! thanks again, Mark and Shelley :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was an amazing place in an incredible location on a cliff overlooking the sea. There is a great beach below that you can walk down to, however we paid for chairs and umbrellas which included the use of a lift to the beach. The staff were great and really helpful, and our room was very private with its own entry off the road down from the main building. If I had to be picky, the breakfast consisted mainly of sweet pastries whereas an option to simply have cereal or toast would have been nice. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#10 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#24 of 30 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
1.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 30 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Suites
Hotel Bellevue Suites
#28 of 30 in Amalfi
3.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Ninfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Ninfa

Address: Via Mauro Comite 35 | Strada Statale Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amalfi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Ninfa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Ninfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ninfa Hotel
La Ninfa Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Ninfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.