We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Hotel but has some drawbacks.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Ninfa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel La Ninfa to your Saves list
Hotel La Ninfa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mauro Comite 35 | Strada Statale Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Cute Hotel but has some drawbacks.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

This is a really cute hotel. The owner is really sweet. But please note, this is more of a bed and breakfast then a hotel. Here are the good points: AMAZING VIEW; not TOO far of a walk to town; cute private and free beach; free internet; friendly staff; VERY clean! Bad points: We had an amazing view in our room....but our room was SOOO tiny and we barely had room to move - the view WAS incredible though; our shower as well was soooo tiny that you could barely move around (and we are not large people at all) but it was very clean too; while the walk isn't TOO far going into the town of Amalfi, it is quiet a trek back up to the hotel on the way back and the bus is ALWAYS crowded with people and you will probably be standing; the breakfast was not good...stale bread, warm yogurt, not a large variety at all - but it all was presented beautifully. We arrived by fairy from Sorrento and had heavy luggage...taxis at the marina in Amalfi wanted to charge us 20 euro to take us to the hotel which was ridiculous and the hotel even said it shouldn't be more than 10 euro. We ended up taking the SITA bus (which is great because it lets off right at the hotel) but it is ALWAYS packed full and we were standing (our bags we put under the bus). We made friends with some nice people at the hotel from England who agreed on all our points...hated the breakfast and felt that the hotel should offer perhaps at 3 set times a day a shuttle to and from downtown amalfi. Like i said earlier...going TO amalfi isn't so bad but coming back is different - not to mention there are barely any sidewalks and you have a very narrow road with cars, buses, and motorcycles zooming past you as you walk on the edge. You can catch the SITA bus to Positano as well but again, always crowded...the hotel staff said that it isn't always very crowded but everytime we went it was. After a certain hour in the evening, you can order food from the hotel restaurant anymore which is typically not a problem for us but because it had rained all day we didn't want to go anywhere by foot (or crowded bus) and we noticed that the hotel had a menu for food that they pick up or have delivered....well, we were too late. For such a small hotel to not provide certain things to their guests when it is raining out and the only real means of transportation is by foot and it is almost a mile away and all outdoors when you get there seems silly and unfortunate. All in all though it was fine...the hotel had very cute amenities with their logo on it (no conditioner though). i would recommend this hotel but just know that you get what you pay for. Hotels in the Amalfi Coast are not cheap...we payed about 95 euro a night and well....while that isn't nothing...there were definitely no frills. Oh yeah, one last things...there is NOT somebody always there that can answer all your questions...sometimes there is someone but then they don't speak english. So you don't have 24 hour service. Not a terrible hotel...but not the best. Most important was that it was clean and great view!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view...it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    108
    35
    15
    14
See reviews for
40
310
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011 via mobile

The place is quaint . The caretaker is outright rude .stayed there three days was told to keep it down at 8.00 pm .the best part was the views . But you grt get thats in. all of amafi. This preprieter has no buisness running a villa. Dont fall for the scam at dinner where she sends you to here friends restaurant the food is terrible and very overpriced.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

While travelling along the Amalfi Coast, we had the pleasure of staying at Hotel La Ninfa. We asked for a double sea view room and what a view! All you could see was the ocean. Water, water everywhere! Each morning we watched the sun rise and the fishermen out in their boats, cruise ships and freighters going by in the distance. We were a bit surprised that the room was not actually in the hotel but down the street a little way. And, while it was located on a busy street, the sound was not terrible. We were able to sleep without being disturbed. The room was comfortable although it would have been nice to have a dresser in the room so that our clothes were not in our luggage. The hotel itself was very nice. The breakfast room was sunny and bright and the staff was very friendly and happy to help. And, the private beach was great, too! We enjoyed our stay and loved the view!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Great view regular rooms seemed roomy bu the jr suite was very cramped but had a small terrace that help beautiful views.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

It was our 25 th anniversary we had the best room .the hotel owner was waiting for our very late arivel he was so nice and calm made us feel at home .
the location of the hotel is unbeliefeble on a cliff in one of the nicest little towns very old tiny streets so nice . we had a car but some days we just left the car at the hotel to take the bus very easy bus stop just steps away from hotel if you like to see a real old beatiful part of italie amalfi coast is it and the la ninfa hotel made it fantastic .
the view from the balcony wow even the toilet has a beatiful view .

Room Tip: we had the best room whit balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Though it was winter and evenf if i'm Italian, i could smell the parfume of a romatic Italy that stads in my mind trought the movies. Thanks to the Hotel La Ninfa i could reach the full pleasure of the Amalfitan Coast.
The wiew while during the breakfast it pays all the cents you pay for the room. Than the Owner is really really kind, as each italian expects from people from the south.
I ll come back there soon, cause of service, location, silence..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

My single room was hanging over the edge of a sheer vertical cliff with the most excellent views! The room itself was small and comfortable, clean, with a very nice bathroom. The breakfast was all sweets, which is common in many properties. Sweet breads and juice(?). No fresh fruits, cheeses, or meats as I recall. The staff is really friendly and helpful. It's a long walk to town (20+ minutes), but you catch great views along the way. You can walk 3 minutes in the opposite direction and catch a bus. I did that once on the day I departed and it dropped me off right at the waterfront. Either way, keep an eye on the traffic as you walk. Sidewalks are only partially provided.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Ninfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Ninfa

Address: Via Mauro Comite 35 | Strada Statale Amalfitana, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Ninfa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Ninfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ninfa Hotel
La Ninfa Amalfi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Ninfa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.