We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long overdue review - Loved our visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza del Duca Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza del Duca Hotel to your Saves list
Residenza del Duca Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mastalo II Duca 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long overdue review - Loved our visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

This review is LONG overdue, in fact, 2 1/2 years overdue, but felt it deserved a belated review anyhow! We were married in Amalfi in the summer of 2008, and we occupied 5 of the rooms here during our wedding week. Everything was absolutely beautiful. The staff was courteous. The breakfast was simple, yet perfect while we enjoyed it out on the terrace. The rooms were beautifully decorated and made for great "getting ready" photos the day of the wedding. Great location close to the center of Amalfi, yet on a quite street. The only downside was the hike up the stairs. Shouldn't be a problem for most, but if you have knee problems, may take a while to go up. Nonetheless, I would stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizziedollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Residenza del Duca for 5 nights at the end of December 2010, taking in the New Year celebrations in Amalfi.
The hotel is conveniently situated in the centre of this very charming town, just a short walk from the bus terminus by the harbour. It comprises the top floor of an old residential building; our room looked out over a small square with a glimpse of the sea beyond. Above all, it was very quiet, aside from the church bells ringing from early morning. There is no lift access and thus various flights of stairs to negotiate so I would not advise the hotel for those who may struggle with steps.
The hotel is very charming and the owners could not be more helpful. A good breakfast is served. Accommodation could not be faulted; comfortable beds, traditional furniture, tea/coffee-making facilities, a very good shower-room with effective shower, everywhere impeccably clean.
There are many restaurants in close proximity and all recommendations given to us by the hotel were very good.
I feel that the Residenza del Duca offers very good value for money and is an excellent choice for visitors wishing to explore the Amalfi coast. I would also add that the local bus network is very good and reasonable in price so a car is not necessary for exploring the towns along the coast (and parking a car is a challenge around here).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank revitalise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma, italia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

I have stayed here several times over the past few years. The welcome is always warm, the rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast fantastic. The suite has a fantastic terrace and great views. The location is also superb... just a few minutes from the buses and ferries, yet in a quiet backstreet away from all the noise of the main street. Yes, there are some stairs to climb, but it is worth it!! I will definitely be returning here when next in Amalfi!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbamail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed there December 22-27, 2010. Great location, lovely rooms (with a terrace!), simple but fresh breakfast. The owners Gerardo and his son Andrea were very nice. On Christmas day they left a bottle of prosecco and candles for us, which we thought was so sweet. We absolutely had a great experience and would recommend this B & B to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JingLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

"The Residenza del Duca"
What an amazing and wonderful place.! It really is an ancient noble palace of the 26th century so well done to offer wi fi and satellite Tv if you want it and you won't even notice it for the fine artwork, tile work, crown moldings, hospitality, if you don't. We stayed in the "Antonio Piccolomini Room" , named after the nephew of Pope Pius 11. The double windows opened out onto a view of the water, fishing boats, and directly below the town square. Church bells drifted into the window along with the salty breeze. The room was so well done with quality and such attention to detail. The bathroom had beautiful tiles and a full body shower . Plush towels, high end toiletries, and even soft slippers are provided.
Geraldo, Carmela, and the entire family genuinely make you feel as though you are staying in their home and are honored guests. Gracious, kind, attentive, generous.
I have worked in and trained others for the "tourist industry" and Residenza del Duca is just excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nextadventure79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ont.,Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Thanks to all the great reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to book this hotel for 10 nights from Aug.29-Sept.11th. We stayed on Capri for 3 nights during this time period, and Gerrardo very kindly stored our large luggage for us, and had the room ready for us on our return. We highly recommend the "Gisulfo 11" (room 2). It is the only room with a terrace, and we found this to be a wonderful addition to a lovely room. We used it everyday for lunch, an afternoon nap in the comfortable lounge after sightseeing,or a glass of wine before heading out for dinner. The room is beautiful with a view of the bell tower of the duomo, Piazza Duca, and in the distance the harbour. The rooms were kept spotless and towels were changed daily. The morning breakfast served by Gerrardo was delicious and more than adequate-juice,bread,croissants,homemade jam,salami,cheese,tomato,variety of fresh fruit,yogurt,cappucino. Most mornings we were able to have it on the terrace, but there is also a cozy breakfast room if the weather isn't good. The location is steps from the main piazza, and although the church bells ring frequently, this in no way detracted from the location. The only downside is perhaps the 73 steps and 10 landings to get to the hotel from the entrance to the building; but we are seniors (61&68 yrs) and managed it several times a day. (although the mister complained a lot!). Gerrardo and his son Andrea are warm hosts and very willing to help with suggestions of what to see,transportation, and making dinner reservations. If we ever return to Amalfi, we would definately stay at Residenza del Duca again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robertjudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed here for two nights after booking at the last minute, as a result we had to change rooms after one night which was made painless by the owner Gerrardo who was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is right in the centre of town and a two minute walk from the beach so the location could not have been better for abosrbing the towns atmosphere. All of the rooms are unique which was charming and some offer lovely views. All were clean and well maintained displaying the care taken by the owner to offer a great base for a comfortable stay. Breakfast was nice and lovely on the terrace first thing in the morning with church bells ringing in the background. We had a lovely stay and were very grateful for the kind and authentic experience offered here. You may spend a few extra euros here than comparable accomodation but as we found it was worth the extra pennies for a superb stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickster1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luna Convento
Hotel Luna Convento
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Antico Convitto
0.0 mi away
Floridiana Hotel
Floridiana Hotel
#2 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#12 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza del Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza del Duca Hotel

Address: Via Mastalo II Duca 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza del Duca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and friendly family hotel in the historical centre of Amalfi a touch away from the bus-station, the harbour and the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Residenza del Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Del Duca Amalfi
Hotel Residenza Del Duca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing