We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutiqe hotel at non boutique prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza del Duca Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residenza del Duca Hotel to your Saves list
Residenza del Duca Hotel
Via Mastalo II Duca 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Boutiqe hotel at non boutique prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during March 2010. The hotel is nothing less than amazing. It is like a botique hotel where each room is unique and has a different theme. The owners thought of every last detail when designing the rooms as there wasn't one little thing I felt I was missing. Each piece of furnitute is unique and antique looking. We had a private terrace overlooking the piazza underneath which was lovely! The beds where comfortable and the room quite which allowed a good night's sleep. The staff - Andrea and Daniella where very nice and very helpfull. If yo come with a car, there is a guarage service that charges by the day. Only downfall is that we had to carry our luggage about 70 steps to reach the hotel - but it was well worth it! If youcome during the season (which start in April and lasts all summer), there is a porter that carries your luggage all the way to the room.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    60
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
138
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

The stairs to this hotel seems unending and the hotel is located at the top most floor. What more with luggages!! There is no porter at the square even though some reviewers said that there are porters to help with the luggages. So we had to lug it all the way up only to be told that there are no porters during low season! The hotel should have an intercom at the bottom of the stairs so that travellers can call up and ask for porter service, at least!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Residenza del Duca is a quaint, well-kept bed and breakfast in Amalfi. The building is just up a side stairway from the main square of town, with the entrance to the B&B about three flights up. The folks at the front desk were always helpful and even tried to help us contact the Italian baggage delivery service regarding our delayed bags. The rooms were very clean. The beds are roughly queen-sized and firm. The linens were comfortable. The bathrooms appeared newly remodeled with nice showers. Our room, number 6 I believe, had a view of the sea. We didn't eat at the B&B, so I can't say anything about the food, but the cafes in Amalfi had wonderful croissants, much like the rest of Italy. We drove from Rome to Amalfi, which takes about 4 to 5 hours, and the hotel arranged for parking. Basically we would call (or have the desk call) this nice old man who would meet us at the traffic circle, and either take the car or drop the car. It was easy and the valet was so friendly that I would look forward to see him.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

Amalfi was our second stop on our 3 week honeymoon. What a beautiful (small) town. We arrived on our 3rd day in Italy (having been in Rome for the first two days) and not speaking the language too well were a bit nervous about finding Res del Ducca. We phoned the hotel as soon as we were dropped off at the bus stop (after an extremely hair raising bus trip from Sorrento - if you're afraid of height - sit in the aisle!!!) and a golf cart appeared within minutes to transport us and our 3 weeks worth of luggage, up the steep hill. Many of the other reviews say that the stairs were a killer but we didnt think they were that bad. There are quite a few, but it doesnt take long, and when you dont have to carry your bags up those stairs, there's not much to complain about! We stayed in the room Giovanna Fattoria (I think it was called that?) which was beautifully decorated with a lovely large private balcony with two comfy loungers. It overlooks a small but bustling square and sitting on the balcony with a bottle of vino while the sun set, was amazing! We loved Res del ducca and the wonderful and friendly service we received here. It was the most expensive stay of our trip (130 euros/night) but the balcony really added a lot of value. We're the kind of people who enjoy our food and chilling with a glass of wine after dinner, chatting about the days events and what we're doing next night. Definately get the room with the balcony!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaagerola, Proprietario at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

It's a simple and unassuming place, but fine as a base from which to explore Amalfi, Ravello and the surrounding area.

You need to be happy climbing a few stairs to get up to the hotel from street level since there's no lift. But then again, the whole of Amalfi is on a hill rising up from the sea, so you probably wouldn't visit unless you didn't mind a bit of legwork. The hotel offers a free porterage service to collect your bags from the centre of town and carry them up to your room. They also offer a (paid) car parking service.

Breakfast is modest but they do make nice cappuccinos for you!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaagerola, proprietaria at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Del Duca had the largest and most beautiful room on our 2-week tour of Italy. Our budget was 100 Euros or less per room per night for 2 travelers, and we got Del Duca at a steal as it was winter time. The room was nice and big, the bathroom was nice and sizeable with rain shower.

The only downside is the 70+ steps, but having gone up the 300+ steps in the Florence Duomo and the 500+ steps in the St Peter's Basilica in the Vatican just before that, Del Duca's steps were nothing in comparison.

One more thing is, try the pizza from San Giuseppe, just a few steps away from the Del Duca. It had one of the best marinara pizzas on our Italian trip.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaagerola, proprietaria at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We drove the Amalfi coast and arrived in town about 14:00. We were instructed to wait by the round about and call the hotel. They would send someone from the garage to come pick up the car and the bags and we could then do the short walk to the hotel.

You are thinking "this sounds a little odd and perhaps amateur" however this is the way it seems to be done in Amalfi and it worked like clockwork.

Tip: When you wait by the round about in Amalfi (if you enter from Positano, it's the immediate left after the tunnel) you will see a small parking area. I would recommend you just park and sit in your car until they come and get you. It takes about 15 minutes from when you call and there are police about however it's a little confusing to know what to do.

Once they have taken your luggage and car walk to the main centre of town by the church. Keeping the church on your right, continue up the road and with 50yds on your left you will see a sign (a tile) for the hotel. I say this again as most hotels do not have a Neon sign or hotel chain sign. It's relatively easy to find but this tip would have helped us.

The hotel itself is all you need. Very clean. Great bathroom facilities (jacuzzi/massage shower). Staff are great. Good breakfast. Lovely area to eat breakfast. Spacious rooms with high ceilings. The views are ok but if you are looking for views, Amalfi is not the place - go to Ravello or Positano.

And that's it. It's a great base. Really. You wont spend long in the hotel but it's everything you need. Your luggage will find you in your room.

Important note: If you have a hip problem or hate steps, there are steps here to reception. Only about 60 or so. But it's worth knowing if this is a problem for you.

Last Tip - You will have to pay for your parking. It's about 18 euro for 24 hours again if I remember correctly. Either way, ask and factor the price in.

In summary - great staff, great base, clean, spacious and err.....with unnecessarily brilliant bathrooms!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaagerola, proprietaria at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza del Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza del Duca Hotel

Address: Via Mastalo II Duca 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and friendly family hotel in the historical centre of Amalfi a touch away from the bus-station, the harbour and the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residenza del Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Del Duca Amalfi
Hotel Residenza Del Duca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza del Duca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.