We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Residencia Del Duca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza del Duca Hotel

Save Saved
You added Residenza del Duca Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza del Duca Hotel
Via Mastalo II Duca 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Residencia Del Duca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

By far our favorite hotel in Italy! We stayed at the Residencia Del Duca for our honeymoon, and loved it. This was not a "splurge" stay for us, but it felt like it! Staff was very friendly and accommodating, and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was delicious and tranquil on the balcony with a beautiful view. Location was perfect--right in the heart of town and the nightlife, and just minutes from the beach. Our room had a lovely view of the piazza below and (some of ) the ocean. Rooms were air conditioned (but you have to ask for the controller) and bed was comfortable (although its two twins pushed together). We kept our windows open most of the time to enjoy the ocean breeze--no bugs! Double paned windows kept the room silent at night. Bathrooms were good size with pretty Amalfi tiles. Would definitely recommend this hotel to couples seeking a romantic getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaagerola, proprietaria at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    59
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
134
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Gerardo, Daniela and Andrea made our stay completely delightful! Gerardo turned me into a coffee fiend with his 'to-die-for' cappuccinos! Clean, beautiful rooms with an amazing view and staff who couldn't do enough for you. Gerardo even served us breakfast before time because we had to make an early start. Definitely coming back!

Thanks! JoAnn and John

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaagerola, proprietaria at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

Stayed here for 8 nights in May while in Amalfi/Ravello to get married and have nothing at all to complain about! Service, staff and food were all first class. The steps are a bit daunting at first, but once you get used to them you don't notice the trek. Also there are porters around the town to help with your baggage.

Breakfast was excellent every morning on the terrace, with a good choice of cereal, fruits, bread etc. The hotel is just off the main street, right in the heart of the town in relation to shops/port etc. When eating out try some of the smaller restaurants off the main street as the food/value does seem to be better. However for a real treat I would recommend Ristorante Marina Grande at the beachside for dinner, a fantastic place for dinner. I've never met more friendly & welcoming staff. For lunch & snacks the blue bar a couple of doors further down do a great selection of sandwiches & salads!

Would recommend Residenza del Duca for anyone going to Amalfi and looking to stay in a smaller family hotel. Also Antonio looking after the car deserves mention!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaagerola, Proprietaria at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales U K
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

the earlier reviews are spot on
really enjoyed our stay
two points to make
1 the chairs on our terrace were uncomfortable
2 we had a look at an (unoccupied) single room...it looked dark and very small
john & geraldine

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaagerola, proprietaria at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon for 3 nights and couldn't have imagined being in a better place. The hotel was clean, comfortable and located in a perfect spot relative to shopping, restaurants and the harbor. The hotel staff was very accomodating and friendly. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast of fresh fruit, coffee, pastries, meats, cheeses, etc. on the outside terrace every morning. We also have the receptionist (Daniella?) to thank for scheduling a hike with Amalfi's best tour guide - Vincenzo! He was very knowledgable, entertaining and easy to talk to. We spent over 10 housr hiking with him through the mountains, visiting various different towns and points of interest. It truly was one of the most memorable events of our honeymoon. I would recommend a stay at Residenza Del Duca and a hike with Vincenzo hands down!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaagerola, owner at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

The Amalfi coast is stunning and Amalfi is a superb place to situate yourself as it is lovely, not too overrun with tourists and possess all the links (buses and ferries) you need to get to other villages, Pompei and Capri. The coastal towns are beautifully tucked into the nooks between hills and rise up the cliffs from the sea, therefore the terrain is all about stairs. The Residenza del Duca is located near the main square of Amalfi town, up some stairs (don't let that deter you, there are people who will help) and offers a charming and helpful staff. The hotel is small and very pretty and beautifully updated. The owner and his son and daughter are gracious and accommodating. The service is excellent.
I recommend walking to gorgeous Ravello which is up from the next town east, Atrani, the place of departure. At least a day trip to the island of Capri, and Positano should be on your itinerary. There are many opportunities for hiking to nearby villages and specific well worn hikes like the breathtaking Path of the Gods hike between Praino and Positano. Also, don't miss the Duomo in Amalfi. Go inside as the convent, chapel and crypt are at least if not more interesting than the cathedral itself. Lastly, go behind the obvious in Amalfi (and other towns). Explore the passageways and staircases that lace around behind the main thoroughfares...that's where the local life and the best restaurants are. A trip to Salerno and Pompei are also recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaagerola, owner at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

I booked the Residenza after reading reviews on the internet - but - apart from being delighted with our room and the staff, there was an unexpected extra that really made our holiday special. Our receptionist recommended that we see the 'real' Amalfi by walking in its surrounding hills - our guide was Vincenzo. Weather had been very changeable but fortunately was excellent on our chosen walking day. We certainly saw sights we would never otherwise have seen, plus enjoying the knowledge and charm of this very attentive and considerate young man. Thank you, we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaagerola, owner at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza del Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza del Duca Hotel

Address: Via Mastalo II Duca 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and friendly family hotel in the historical centre of Amalfi a touch away from the bus-station, the harbour and the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residenza del Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Del Duca Amalfi
Hotel Residenza Del Duca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza del Duca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.