We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT place to stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza del Duca Hotel

Save Saved
You added Residenza del Duca Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residenza del Duca Hotel
Via Mastalo II Duca 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
Greenville, SC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT place to stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon for 3 nights and couldn't have imagined being in a better place. The hotel was clean, comfortable and located in a perfect spot relative to shopping, restaurants and the harbor. The hotel staff was very accomodating and friendly. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast of fresh fruit, coffee, pastries, meats, cheeses, etc. on the outside terrace every morning. We also have the receptionist (Daniella?) to thank for scheduling a hike with Amalfi's best tour guide - Vincenzo! He was very knowledgable, entertaining and easy to talk to. We spent over 10 housr hiking with him through the mountains, visiting various different towns and points of interest. It truly was one of the most memorable events of our honeymoon. I would recommend a stay at Residenza Del Duca and a hike with Vincenzo hands down!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaagerola, owner at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    59
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
15
135
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

The Amalfi coast is stunning and Amalfi is a superb place to situate yourself as it is lovely, not too overrun with tourists and possess all the links (buses and ferries) you need to get to other villages, Pompei and Capri. The coastal towns are beautifully tucked into the nooks between hills and rise up the cliffs from the sea, therefore the terrain is all about stairs. The Residenza del Duca is located near the main square of Amalfi town, up some stairs (don't let that deter you, there are people who will help) and offers a charming and helpful staff. The hotel is small and very pretty and beautifully updated. The owner and his son and daughter are gracious and accommodating. The service is excellent.
I recommend walking to gorgeous Ravello which is up from the next town east, Atrani, the place of departure. At least a day trip to the island of Capri, and Positano should be on your itinerary. There are many opportunities for hiking to nearby villages and specific well worn hikes like the breathtaking Path of the Gods hike between Praino and Positano. Also, don't miss the Duomo in Amalfi. Go inside as the convent, chapel and crypt are at least if not more interesting than the cathedral itself. Lastly, go behind the obvious in Amalfi (and other towns). Explore the passageways and staircases that lace around behind the main thoroughfares...that's where the local life and the best restaurants are. A trip to Salerno and Pompei are also recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaagerola, owner at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

I booked the Residenza after reading reviews on the internet - but - apart from being delighted with our room and the staff, there was an unexpected extra that really made our holiday special. Our receptionist recommended that we see the 'real' Amalfi by walking in its surrounding hills - our guide was Vincenzo. Weather had been very changeable but fortunately was excellent on our chosen walking day. We certainly saw sights we would never otherwise have seen, plus enjoying the knowledge and charm of this very attentive and considerate young man. Thank you, we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaagerola, owner at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

With a helpful staff, great breakfast and clean, comfortable rooms, Residenza del Duca is a wonderful, affordable option in Amalfi. The most remarkable feature was the bathroom, which was quite large for Europe. The shower had great water pressure and multiple shower heads that we really appreciated since the weather was on the cold side in March. We will certainly stay there again if we have the opportunity. For more about our trip to the Amalfi coast: http://justanothertravelblog.blogspot.com/search/label/Italy

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaagerola, we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful revie at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

In June of 2008, my husband and I stayed at the Residenza del Duca and it turned out to be the most beautiful experience and memory that we brought back with us from Italy.. Everything about the hotel was beautiful--the lobby, the room, the bath and the belcony with it's view. The staff, too, was wonderful! They were kind, friendly, helpful and made our stay with them the best experience we have ever had at any hotel. They did a beautiflul job in decorating, food, and service. Staying there gave us a feeling of actualy being in a home in Italy. I really can't say enough good things about it. It was what we were looking for in Italy and will always remain the highlight of our 2 week trip.
The 70 steps to the hotel were really not bad and worth the climb and we are in our 60's, so I would recommend this very special hotel to anyone.
Thank you .

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaagerola, owner at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsbee, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

We just got back from two days in amalfi. We stayed two nights here. We emailed back and forth to set up the reservations and everything was just as described. They set up the transfer and that was handled very well. We loved our stay. The room was great. Very clean. Great breakfast. We were able to sit on the balcony one morning and have a great start to the day. They were very helpfull with buses and how to get around. I can not say enough good things about it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaagerola, owner at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

During our 4 weeks in Italy, Residence Del Duca was the stand-out accommodation. Daniela, Andreas and their dad Gerardo were welcoming and helpful and the room we occupied for 9 nights was a real delight. Location and outlook were terrific, and the 80 steps worth every breath! (see YouTube for the climb). Our room was immaculately presented, tastefully decorated with a spacious ensuite and multi-function massage shower - great after a day's walking. A bonus was the large terrace with its comfy table and chairs and sun lounges which we made full use of. All this over-looked the Piazza dei Dogi and Cathedral spire with ocean glimpses to the south-west. The majestic Torre dello Ziro is also clearly visible. The main street, bus stop and beach are all very close to the hotel.

A vase of Asian lillies appeared in our room one day, after Daniela had been to the market and this was typical of the hospitality. We loved the freshly brewed coffee at breakfast and freshly picked tomatoes and greens appeared one morning from the dad's own garden.

Residence del Duca is a wonderful boutique hotel in a fascinating area of Italy.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillaagerola, owner at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2009
we are close to Christmas and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all our guests as you have written wonderful reviews about us and our small house.
Wishing you a happy Christmas and a sparkling new year, I hope to see you soon!
Greetings!
Daniela & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza del Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza del Duca Hotel

Address: Via Mastalo II Duca 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and friendly family hotel in the historical centre of Amalfi a touch away from the bus-station, the harbour and the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Residenza del Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Del Duca Amalfi
Hotel Residenza Del Duca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza del Duca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.