We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B in Almalfi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza del Duca Hotel

Save Saved
You added Residenza del Duca Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza del Duca Hotel
Via Mastalo II Duca 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 30 hotels in Amalfi
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Charming B&B in Almalfi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

In a very busy and touristy place, this was a charming B&B. At the top of 75 stairs, our room had a nice view. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. You do have to walk up the stairs, but they have a free service to carry to luggage.

Room Tip: The website gives a choice of rooms. Pick one with a view over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    59
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
14
132
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Returned yesterday after another month in what we think of as our other home. Are we depressed, well Stirling on a very cold and rainy day does not help! On the plus side we are returning in April. If you want to know a little more read our reviews for April/May and September/October in previous years. Truly missing everybody, all our lovely friends at del Duca and the many residents of Amalfi that we have come to know.

Room Tip: 6 very different rooms, all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in beautiful Amalfi for 2 nights. This was the nicest hotel we stayed at for our entire trip (4 weeks). We chose a standard room, that was a bit small, but more than adequate. The furnishings and decor, including the bathroom, were exquisite! We had a large window with a view of the town and the water. Breakfast included your choice of coffee, juice, cereal, yogurt, cold cuts, cheese, rolls, and pastries. This is a family owned business and they make you feel like part of the family. There are about 70 steps to get to the hotel, but when we arrived in the square we called and "the boys" came and took our luggage and us in a cart, up to the hotel. All this took about 5 minutes. If we're ever in Amalfi again, this is where we'll stay. Maybe we can get those same musicians, under our window, to serenade us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We loved this hotel. My two sisters, my mom and I were traveling together. We were able to reserve the 2 bedroom apartment which has a very fully outfitted kitchen, a living room, a bathroom and two bedrooms. In addition there is a rooftop terrace with tables and chairs and OUTSTANDING views of the city, the cliffs, the harbor.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. They assisted us in arranging for a boat to Capri and sugggested very good restaurants and excursions to other towns.
One thing you must be ready for in Amafli....STEPS! The town is nestled into the cliffs and so you are usually either walking up or down steps. It is a bit of a hike up to the apartment, but well worth it in our opinion.

Room Tip: we only experienced the two bedroom apartment and have no knowledge of the other accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at Residenza Del Duca for the first 2 nights of our tour along the Amalfi coast and what a great start it was. We loved it and cannot recommend the Residenza Del Duca highly enough. Yes there are a lot of steps but having known this before we arrived this was no issue and to be honest after lots of excellent food and wine it did us good!
We booked a superior room and upon booking we were asked what room we would like which was very nice. We booked Maria d’Aragona as I had read that this room comes with a balcony. The room itself is lovely, traditional in style, very well equipped including tea and coffee facilities which is rare, nice sized bathroom with a very powerful shower. The fridge was appreciated for keeping drinks cool too. The balcony was a real plus and lovely to enjoy the warm evenings on.
All of the staff were very helpful and friendly, we could not fault any part of the service. Free wi fi was very useful.
It rained both mornings so we had breakfast in the small breakfast room, cosy but more than adequate. Breakfast was a selection of breads, fruit, croissants and yoghurts. Plenty to start off the day with.
Amalfi itself is a gem of a town, cobbled streets, full of Italian charm and the breath-taking Dumuo which dominates the main square. Plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from and a very well stocked supermarket for provisions (handy for those drinks on the balcony!)
Ravello is easily reached by bus from Amalfi and is a must!
A great start to our trip and would definitely book here again.

Room Tip: It's worth the upgrade for the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We only stayed one night in this cosy little hotel but that was enough for us to really love the hotel and its owners, who were very warm and helpful. The room was nicely decorated and comfortable with a nice view of the sea. Breakfast on the terrace was beautiful with a view of the mountains. Location perfect, few minutes walk from the sea and one minute from main street and square. Good wifi service. Hosts were excellent and provided lots of detailed information (bus and train timetables, maps and suggestions) as well as lending us beach towels.
Highly recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel direct as they would be willing to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalfi, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Found the hotel via Trip Advisor. If you are not afraid of steps (92) this is a wonderful 7 room B&B hotel in the middle of town. Very nice rooms decorated by the talented mother in the family. Many hotels would admire her skills. Very nice breakfast og good service. Good prices for the quality.

Remember to take the tour of Amalfi with the local guide, Wed/Sat.
Visit also Ravello and the Villa Cimbrone Gardens. More than amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms with terrace in a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residenza del Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza del Duca Hotel

Address: Via Mastalo II Duca 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and friendly family hotel in the historical centre of Amalfi a touch away from the bus-station, the harbour and the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residenza del Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Del Duca Amalfi
Hotel Residenza Del Duca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza del Duca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.