We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza del Duca Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza del Duca Hotel to your Saves list
Residenza del Duca Hotel
Via Mastalo II Duca 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Maldon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at Residenza Del Duca for the first 2 nights of our tour along the Amalfi coast and what a great start it was. We loved it and cannot recommend the Residenza Del Duca highly enough. Yes there are a lot of steps but having known this before we arrived this was no issue and to be honest after lots of excellent food and wine it did us good!
We booked a superior room and upon booking we were asked what room we would like which was very nice. We booked Maria d’Aragona as I had read that this room comes with a balcony. The room itself is lovely, traditional in style, very well equipped including tea and coffee facilities which is rare, nice sized bathroom with a very powerful shower. The fridge was appreciated for keeping drinks cool too. The balcony was a real plus and lovely to enjoy the warm evenings on.
All of the staff were very helpful and friendly, we could not fault any part of the service. Free wi fi was very useful.
It rained both mornings so we had breakfast in the small breakfast room, cosy but more than adequate. Breakfast was a selection of breads, fruit, croissants and yoghurts. Plenty to start off the day with.
Amalfi itself is a gem of a town, cobbled streets, full of Italian charm and the breath-taking Dumuo which dominates the main square. Plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from and a very well stocked supermarket for provisions (handy for those drinks on the balcony!)
Ravello is easily reached by bus from Amalfi and is a must!
A great start to our trip and would definitely book here again.

Room Tip: It's worth the upgrade for the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    62
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
143
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We only stayed one night in this cosy little hotel but that was enough for us to really love the hotel and its owners, who were very warm and helpful. The room was nicely decorated and comfortable with a nice view of the sea. Breakfast on the terrace was beautiful with a view of the mountains. Location perfect, few minutes walk from the sea and one minute from main street and square. Good wifi service. Hosts were excellent and provided lots of detailed information (bus and train timetables, maps and suggestions) as well as lending us beach towels.
Highly recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel direct as they would be willing to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalfi, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Found the hotel via Trip Advisor. If you are not afraid of steps (92) this is a wonderful 7 room B&B hotel in the middle of town. Very nice rooms decorated by the talented mother in the family. Many hotels would admire her skills. Very nice breakfast og good service. Good prices for the quality.

Remember to take the tour of Amalfi with the local guide, Wed/Sat.
Visit also Ravello and the Villa Cimbrone Gardens. More than amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms with terrace in a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of June and would definitely stay here again. Perfect location with lovely and clean rooms and terrace. Best of all was the friendly service. Nothing was too much trouble from organising our luggage to be picked up from the port, to having our laundry picked up to recommending walks and helping with transport. And all with smiles on their faces. Don't hesitate to book this accommodation!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nobleton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Travelled back in 2010 and stayed 6 days in this little gem. The terrace was perfect for a pizza and wine dinner for two; something we will never forget. The hosts were wonderful and allowed us to change rooms two days into our stay for a different view and experience. Lovely breakfast and lemon cello to go!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We visited Amalfi in November, when some hotels have already closed for the season. We were delighted to find the Residenza del Duca just off the main street. It is not a hotel as such, being located on one level on the top floor of an old building, but had everything one could want from any hotel, and more. We had a large room with windows onto a piazza below and views to the sea, for a really reasonable price. Large, well equipped bathroom, and, unusually for this part of the world, our own tea and coffee making facilities. A simple breakfast is served on the terrace or, since it was quite cold on one our our days, inside in a small breakfast room. What really made this hotel stand out for us was the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners. They allowed us to use the hotel phone to make a call to Rome, at no charge, and were helpful to us in finding accommodation in Rome. There are quite a few steps up to the hotel but that is common in Italy, particularly in this area. We were also lucky in that our weather in November/December was just perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was a great find. No great view (although we could see a bit of the sea from our room) and no pool, but with 6-7 rooms and staff which make you feel totally at home, in a perfect location. The room was a decent size and nicely done up, as was the bathroom. Breakfast on the terrace was very nice. The staff was super helpful about train/bus/boat times, booking tickets, recommending restaurants, etc etc. Could not have been nicer! If I go back to Amalfi, I would stay here again. My only two negative points would be that it is quite noisy late at night and early morning, and the AC did not work very well so the only way to keep the room less warm was by keeping the French doors open. Also, you need to be fit: 70 steps, no lift, to get up to the hotel's floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmela L, Proprietario at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank You for kind report about Your stay with us!
We are very sorry for the inconvenience about the air-conditioning that has been soon fixed.
It would be really very nice to meet You soon
Our best regards
Carmela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza del Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza del Duca Hotel

Address: Via Mastalo II Duca 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and friendly family hotel in the historical centre of Amalfi a touch away from the bus-station, the harbour and the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residenza del Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Del Duca Amalfi
Hotel Residenza Del Duca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza del Duca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.