We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza del Duca Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza del Duca Hotel to your Saves list
Residenza del Duca Hotel
Via Mastalo II Duca 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Family run feel - this place is well situated.
really friendly staff, clean elegant rooms and great breakfast.
The steps are easy if you are reasonably fit.
i had the fabled small room - which was perfectly adequate as a place to stay.
They had the deceny to send me images beforehand.
Great place to stay.

Room Tip: the small room is fine for a place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarebellum, Proprietario at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, we appreciate so much. We hope to see you again.
Best regards
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    62
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
143
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We loved our stay in Amalfi and at Residenza del Duca. WONDERFUL location right in the heart of town! Wish we would have been warned about the 70+ stairs in the buildig up to the hotel, so make sure you get a porter to help you!!! Lovely breakfasts every day served by the sweetest old Italian man who made me cappucinos every day! Quite simple, clean and overall loved it!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarebellum, Proprietario at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We're so sorry about the steps.
it is our practice to send an email to our customers, where we recall that there are 70 steps from the street to the Residenza del Duca, but they can take advantage of the free luggage service available from 8:00 am 20:00 (from April to October)
Thanks for giving us the opportunity to remind those who read this review, that arrived in Amalfi ,guests can call us or use the intercom to inform us of their arrival and use the baggage service.
We hope to have you as our guests again, but this time aware of the 70 steps! To be forgiven I will put in your room a nice bottle of wine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is a wonderful, romantic little property full of character and historic ambience.A bit tricky at first to find but worth the effort. Be prepared for a good hike up the seventy odd steps each time you come and go... The owner is helpful and friendly. He arrives each morning with ingredients for the breakfast buffet, and then proceeds to make coffee as requested, and to bake these wonderful jam filled brioches. Mmm....
The winter "hibernation" in Amalfi was just drawing to a close when we were there in mid March. Restaurants and businesses were busy painting, restocking etc. to ready themselves for the tourist hordes which would soon arrive starting after Easter. At our hotel, they had just revarnished the patio furniture (which was still a bit tacky on the first day of our stay) and had painted our room, which still smelled a bit of fresh paint. Our room was very special... we had a view from one window of the church belltower, and from the other window, we overlooked a small square lined with cafes. It was easy to visualize ourselves transported to another era....
We were so fortunate with this room as we had our own private part of the patio, where we could sit and soak up the setting rays of the sun and enjoy snacks and vino. We were separated from the breakfast patio area by some foliage and small gate. On the night of our arrival, the host set out some fresh cake and juice for us to enjoy on the patio.
We used Amalfi as our home base and did day trips to Positano, Ravello etc. We would wholeheartedly recommend this charming B and B for anyone planning a trip to the Amalfi coast area.
Having stayed in Sorrento for four days first, this was a perfect 3 night romantic getaway. We would suggest that anyone coming to Amalfi area to not try to "squeeze " the area in to a quick day bus trip fro Sorrento but to stay in the area and explore. There are lots of nice little restaurants in Amalfi and shops to browse. We found Amalfi more "real" and filled with locals as compared to Positano which seemed tourist focussed.
A tip we received from the front desk clerk.... if travelling to Amalfi from Rome via Naples, it is not necessary to transfer at Naples to the Circumvesuviana train to Sorrento and then to transfer to bus. Rather, stay on the train all the way to Salerno and catch the bus to Amalfi... very easy.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the private patio that adjoins the breakfast patio. It is very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villarebellum, Proprietario at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you, thanks for such a beautiful and detailed description of the hotel and surrounding area. We hope to meet you again.
Daniela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here during the ashcloud eruption on Iceland April 2010, when we got home we moved to a new city and a new country so therefore this review comes "a little bit late".
But nevertheless I must write our feedback because my wife and I are frequent travellers and have been staying on many hotels with OK service. But this hotel are sticking out from the crowd thanks to it is a family owned small hotel, and for us that is making so much difference when we stay at a hotel and you get the extra service and attention so many large hotels cant provide. We can recommend this if you are looking for something personal and we also recommend our room "Gisulfo II" beacuse if you book that room you will have your own personal terrace there you can have your breakfast by yourself, very romantic :-)
I must also say the owner are a wonderful host and you really get first class service and advices for your daily sight seeing trips in the surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

We asked for a room with a sea view and while it may not have been beachfront property we loved sitting on the balcony with a bottle of red looking down onto the street and across to the sea.

The rooms are great. Service outstanding. The place is small and cosy. And while you may read the reviews about the stairs don't be too put off.

And definitely do the free walking tour which the hotel suggests.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela M, Proprietario at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank You for Your report, we appreciate it very much.
We hope to meet You again in our house.
All the best
Daniela & family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We were able to book this last-minute on Easter weekend. We, luckily, got the last room and it was great! We were in room 2, where there is one mini-balcony and one large balcony that both face the ocean. Although much of the view of the ocean was blocked by other buildings, its center-ville setting allowed for a community feel. We could see the bustle of business below as well as visitors enjoying outside dining in the small square in front of the building. We slept with both balcony doors open, and were greeted with the early-morning smells of cinnamon bread at 5 am. We are also very close to the church, so the bells were another bonus. Daniella and the others were very nice and so helpful with dinner ideas, early morning wake-ups, and breakfast service. The internet worked like and charm and there was a few channels in English on the TV. We actually spent a lot of time in our room because of the rain, but enjoyed the traditional decor and beautiful tiled floors and bathroom. There was also a really nice Jacuzzi shower with 11 jets and two heads. A word of warning though, I would not stay here if you have any trouble with stairs, as there are a few flights that you must conquer to get to the hotel, but I enjoyed the little exercise it added to our day. Make sure you also take note of the parking situation, as someone from the hotel will need to meet you at the town square and park your car, because of the tight streets.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela M, Direttore at Residenza del Duca Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you for the friendly report. It will be very helpfull for other guests.
We are so sorry for the bad weather and we promise you'll find the sun the next time you're coming!
All the best
Daniela & family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza del Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza del Duca Hotel

Address: Via Mastalo II Duca 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and friendly family hotel in the historical centre of Amalfi a touch away from the bus-station, the harbour and the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residenza del Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Del Duca Amalfi
Hotel Residenza Del Duca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza del Duca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.