We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“residenza del duca - the duca's apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza del Duca Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza del Duca Hotel to your Saves list
Residenza del Duca Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Mastalo II Duca 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“residenza del duca - the duca's apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

http://www.residencedelduca.it/eng/duca.htm

This review is for the apartment that the hotel rents, not for the hotel. It is an alternative to a hotel or b&b. We rented this lovely 2 bedroom apartment because we wanted to live like the locals do, we wanted a roofdeck with an ocean view to sip cocktails before going out and lie and read a book in the morning. It was much more affordable than a hotel would have been. We were able to go to the supermarket and purchase wine/champagne, fruits, cheese and bread. We were right in the square or I should say above the square.

The apartment was very nice with two bedrooms, large windows in living room and 1 bedroom for view of the water and an amazing huge roofdeck. Kitchen and bath were in good shape and were very clean.

The only downside, which was part of the experience, was the number of stairs to get to the apartment. We counted 182 from the base of the square. It made the gelato eating guilt free and made us feel good and healthy, but I am embarrassed to say that we were huffing and puffing on the way up.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    65
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
18
148
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We loved this hotel! In fact, it was our favorite hotel during our 2 week stay in Italy. Stayed here for 3 nights in May. Although Amalfi can be quite crowded with tourists, you wouldn't know it while staying at this hotel. It is located on a quiet side street, overlooking a piazza with a few restaurants and views of the surrounding city and hills.

Our room (Gisulfo II - room 5) was fantastic. The room was visually stunning. It also had its own deck with chairs and table that we could relax on, eat and drink while looking at the sights and enjoying the warm evenings. We had a partial view of the ocean as well. Bed was comfortable, shower very nice.

Maybe the best part of this hotel is the breakfast. Gerrardo, who runs the hotel with his son Andrea, provided fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee (LARGE espresso, unlike the tiny cups provided elsewhere in Italy) and delicious freshly backed pastries and cakes (you could smell them baking when awakening in the morning) that were served on a beautiful deck overlooking the town and surrounding hills.

Andrea, at the desk, was incredibly accommodating and helpful. Prior to our arrival, communicating via e-mail, he provided us with transportation from the train station in Salerno which made our trip down the coast to Amalfi relaxing and worry-free.

Would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again if returning to the Amalfi Coast.

One note: If steps are physically difficult for you, be aware that there is a stairwell with quite a few steps (76) going up to the hotel. However, a porter carried our bags so that as long as you can carry yourself up steps it should not be an issue.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

fantastic service, helpful owners, great breakfast on the terrace! be mindful that the parking is not included (it is about 20 euros per day) in the garage. also our car was damaged whilst in the garage which was very disappointing

Room Tip: room 2 has a fab balcony, well worth the extra cot
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

A small residence with 6 gorgeous rooms. The family who own it are exceptional, Gerardo and his son Andrea are always on hand, nothing is too much trouble. Gerardo's wife bakes fantastic cakes for breakfast, go at Easter to sample her Pastiera - to die for! Walk along the promenade in the evening and you will meet Gerardo walking the dog with his family, A special mention to Rita, the ever smiling lady who never stops cleaning, our room was immaculate, After a few days you feel as if you live in Amalfi, we stayed for 23 nights! Forget the few steps that past reviewers complain about, not a problem and a great way to meet all the neighbours in the building.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, West Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

amazing spot - right in the heart of Amalfi and only a few minutes walk from the Duomo or the port.

We had room 2 with the amazing roof top terrace (with table and chairs and sunloungers).

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and really made us feel welcome.

Good breakfast on a lovely outdoor terrace.

Would definatley recommend!

Room Tip: Room 2 with the terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. The location is perfect - central in Amalfi. The hotel staff were very helpful, friendly and recommended good restaurants, walks and must see nearby places. We opted to use their shuttle service to Naples airport which was organised without any hassels or problems. Although a little pricey, it took the stress out of getting buses and trains to Naples at the crack of dawn. The rooms were spotless, a decent size, in perfect decorative order and came with a distant view of the sea. The only one minor complaint was that we had to change rooms on our second night, but this was not a big deal and the hotel staff moved our belongings for us. Overally we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found it excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

The hotel good locations: in the center city. Near supermarket, bus station, central place, beach 2 min walk. Good and spacious room. In the room was kettle, tee, cups, glasses, refrigerator. Room features hydromassage shower.
Brecfast included fresh baking, fruits, sausage, cheese, tasty coffe. Wi-fi was in room.
In the recepcion was guides about Amalfi coast.
Staff are friendly and always willing to help and answer all questions!
This Hotel is very comfortable for beach holiday and travel to outlying!
We really liked the hotel and we would once again stop there

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residenza del Duca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza del Duca Hotel

Address: Via Mastalo II Duca 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza del Duca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and friendly family hotel in the historical centre of Amalfi a touch away from the bus-station, the harbour and the beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Residenza del Duca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Del Duca Amalfi
Hotel Residenza Del Duca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza del Duca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.