We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Mueseum of the Republic of Amalfi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Municipal Museum of Amalfi (Museo Civico)

Municipal Museum of Amalfi (Museo Civico)
Piazza Municipio | entrance off Corso Roma, Amalfi, Italy
089/871066
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 16 Attractions in Amalfi
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Interesting Mueseum of the Republic of Amalfi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great historical insights into the reasons for the rise of the maritime republic of Amalfi. Very recommended.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
126 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Lovely Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great experience this was a lovely museum and a nice place to while away a few hours great location and stunning views all around. Museum is not too expensive as far as I can remember I certainly did enjoy it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Closed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Went to the Tourist Info office to find its location. Was told that it is now closed and its contents have been transferred to the Arsenale della Republica museum.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouyen, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Astounding Collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I thought I was museumed out after touring Italy for more than 30 days...but this quiet little museum charges a meagre fee, unpretentious guards and they don't mind cameras! YEAH. The marble work, the notes in English, the wonderful collection is a must.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Our hotel advised that there was a walking tour available, this tour took us to the museum. We were so happy we did we learned so much about the history and saw the Amalfi table, a very important document of navigation law dating back in the 11th century. We enjoyed it very much. Don't miss it, it's worth it. There is an entry charge, i can't recall how much.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Municipal Museum of Amalfi (Museo Civico) also viewed

 

Been to Municipal Museum of Amalfi (Museo Civico)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Municipal Museum of Amalfi (Museo Civico), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.