We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fascinating Look at the History of the Republic of Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arsenale della Repubblica

Arsenale della Repubblica
Largo Cesareo Console, 3 | angolo Via Camera, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
089871170
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 30 things to do in Amalfi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The ancient shipyard, monument to Amalfi's sea power, is surprisingly well preserved in its unique medieval form. Its impressive elegant architecture, modelled from stone and mortar, consist of two parallel aisles covered by a double series of separate cross-vaults, supported by ten pillars. The museum of the Compass and of the Maritime Duchy of Amalfi documents and illustrates the great history of the ancient Maritime Republic of Amalfi. The museum's collection illustrates the evolution of nautical navigational instruments, among which is the compass, "invented", according to tradition by the Amalphitan Flavio Gioia, in 1302. The compass revolutionized navigation techniques, thereby opening up ocean rautes to the "New World". "The City-State", founded in839, remainded politically independent until 1135. Artefacts and relics represent the fundamental historical factors which permitted and preserved Amalfi's political autonomy,its social progress based on the rule of law and its economic prosperity:. The Translation's body of the Apostle St. Andrew from Constantinople to Amalfi, is re-evoked in a precious miniature of the Pontificalis ad usum ecclesiae salernitanae 492 and by the rare chronicle edited in 1656 by Andrè Du Saussay, Andreas frater Simon Petri deu de Gloria S.Andreae Apostuli. Exhibits of Roman and Medieval sculpture, ancient parchments, codices and manuscripts, statues in tufa, portraits of personages who belongs to the "Mythology of Amalfi", cartographic illustrations of the entity of the Duchy of Amalfi, artistic costumers of merchants and Ladies, knights and sailors, standard bearers and ambassadors, the duke and his bride, created according to the original model-designs of Roberto Scielzo (1955), all enable the visitor to relive one of the most exceptional moments in the history of Italy.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A Fascinating Look at the History of the Republic of Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A trip to this small but important museum in the heart of town is a must for anyone who has an interest in anything other than pizza and shopping. Amalfi was an independent republic and a seafaring power when most of Europe was hiding out in the Middle Ages. On par with Venice, Genoa and Pisa, Amalfi's power and wealth may not have endured, but it explains why it has the great Duomo that it does, the pageantry that is still celebrated and traditions such as fine paper-making that last to this day.

The displays were well organized and usually in both English and Italian. In less than an hour you'll have a real sense that Amalfi's fame is not limited to its pretty views.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    11
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a stop for some culture and history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We found this museum very interesting. You lean about the history of the Republic that was Amalfi before it became part of Italy (in the 1800s), it was quite a powerhouse of trade. You only need about 40 or so minutes to see everything but it is definitely worth it. The museum is near the ferry and bus terminal, so very easy to get to. It was a nice diversion from all the eating and shopping.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A diversion from eating and shopping!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Museo della Bussola e del Ducato Marinaro di Amalfi is a wonderful diversion from the eating, shopping and promenading that seems to occupy the time of most visitors to Amalfi.
I came for a day round-trip by public bus from Salerno, but on arrival found little about Amalfi to excite me.
As a solo tourist from Australia it was culturally and historically informative to see the material collected and presented in the ancient shipyard, now the museum.
Some aspects of the material displayed seemed to be disconnected, but were relevant to the history of Amalfi: gorgeous robes worn by the elite, ship's compass, mariner's instruments and religious text manuscripts.
I recommend the museum as a cultural development exercise to jerk visitors back to reality: to escape the endless shopping, looking and ice-cream eating of Amalfi

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellford, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A hidden surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

As casual visitors to Amalfi we had no idea the scale and scope of this city's history. A quick visit to this little museum gave us a glimpse of the power Amalfi and its merchants wielded a millennium ago.
We didn't need more than 45 minutes to see everything here. It was a nice investment of our time.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“If you can pair the visit when an opera is being performed, this is a MUST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Another forumite has very recently made mention of the opera "Amalfi" in a recent posting. We saw it. Fantastic production! It was in Italian but this is not a problem, as I'll explain. When we first decided to go, we expected an "opera" which is what they did call it, but, I would say it was really a musical. And, these young Italian men and women put on an amazing performance. Let me add, however, that they had a large screen on which there was an English translation. As they sang in Italian, the English appeared. I speak, read, and write Italian well enough to say that the translation was excellent. I will add too that they seat the English speaking tourists first in the proper area so they can see the screen. You will need reservations for this. The acoustics are great. We also enjoyed the artifacts on display in the arsenal and reading the history of Amalfi. But, if you can attend an "opera", you'll have a remarkably good experience. And, do note: this is not a "black tie" venue. Casual slacks and a nice shirt for men is fine, and comparable women's wear is in order. I was very concerned (unfounded) that when we went to the "opera" we would be underdressed since we had only casual clothes with us.

Also, before the "opera" they have a degustation menu outdoors in front of the arsenal with wines, liquors, cheeses, meats, and other small finger food. This was a treat. Get there early. If you don't, the Italian mothers who bring their pre-teens to gorge themselves at the table will prevent you from having much to choose from. This was the only negative of this visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arsenale della Repubblica also viewed

 

Been to Arsenale della Repubblica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arsenale della Repubblica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.