We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“up hill AND DOWN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valle delle Ferriere

Valle delle Ferriere
Valle delle Ferriere, Amalfi, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“up hill AND DOWN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Beautiful hike up the valley. Like others we could not complete the route up to scala through the valley as the nature preserve gate was locked but we took another route up to Pontone and then to scala. You can get the bus from scala to ravello and then back to Amalfi. Always insure you know the bus times. lots of steps all over amalfi so bring some Benjamin Gay!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    41
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“one of the highlights of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We knew nothing about this hike. It was not mentioned in our guidebook. We had been staying in Amalfi for 4 days and had run out of things to do so decided to walk towards the hills to see what we could see. We very luckily came upon this trail (I guess you could call it that although it's really nothing like a hiking trail back home) and we were thrilled with our discovery! The only drawback is it was raining that day, we had started in mid-afternoon and it was our last day in Amalfi so we could not go the entire distance. If we had known about it earlier, we would have hiked all the way to Ravello.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandie
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were proposed by our hotel to join a free guide to discover this treck. She took us to gorgious places we would never have visited by ourselves. We had a 3 hour walk, climbing a lot of steps, but it was worth it !!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Cool escape from Amalfi heat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We did the valle at the end of a long hike from Amalfi to Atrani, to Ravello. The trail from above (Pontone) leads down into the deep ravine with a small but swift stream that powered centuries of now derelict paper mills. The ruins reminded us of Cair Paravel in the second Narnia book by CS Lewis. A lovely walk back to the outskirts and through Amalfi ended the hike

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hike is well worth the trip. Beautiful waterfall at the end. You pass lemon tree and fig trees. We picked a fig and ate it along the way.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valle delle Ferriere also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Valle delle Ferriere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valle delle Ferriere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.