We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth seeing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amalfi Musical

Amalfi Musical
Piazza Flavio Gioia | Largo Cesareo Console, 3, 84011 Amalfi, Italy
+39 334 917 7814
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Amalfi
Type: Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Every Wednesday and Saturday at 9pm, AMALFI MUSICAL tells a story set in ninth century about the rise of first Republic of Amalfi. Through the story of Antonio and Giovanna's love, thwarted by perfidious city's persecutor Sicardo, the show tells the story of Amalfi's liberation from bloodthirsty Lombard supremacy. The performance is in Italian language with surtitles in English and other languages. Reservation required.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Well worth seeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

If you like musicals don't miss it. The action takes place in the atmospheric old Arsenal and the players perform right in front you. There are easy to read sub title boards in different languages and we were sat in front of an English one.

The music is very good and the players give it their all. We loved it and would highly recommend.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    32
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sorrento, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A pleasant way to spend an evening and promote the arts.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The show offers a patriotic example and a positive moral lesson but catchy tunes. It does feature energetic acting and professional-sounding voices. The ancient armoury in which the play is performed adds to the atmosphere and is almost worth the price of admission, which includes a tasty glass of wine.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dramatic production”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The show was really good and sub titles on the big screen worked well. However due to a big storm on the night we went there were several storms and electoral power failures so we never knew how the show ended because they had to stop the show in the middle. At least we found out that the princess killed the baddy but we don't know if she got rescued by the main man.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Worth seeing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We enjoyed the Amalfi musical experience very much. The venue is very unusual rather like an underground cave but in good condition. A complimentary juice was offered on arrival by pleasant staff. The actors had good voices and created a sense of intrigue by moving from one stage to another and using the area directly in front of the audience. We paid 22 euro each for tickets which was enough as it was difficult to see the advantage of the more expensive 30 euro ticket. The 70 minute performance was very entertaining and I recommend it to visitors and locals alike. I personally didn't like the dry ice as it makes me cough!! The translations on two large screens meant everyone could understand the plot!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stunning venue and show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Amalfi Musical is on Wednesday and Saturday evenings, starting at 9pm. It is a one act 70 minute show. I had always been reluctant to go to an opera however for non-Italians there are well placed screens providing translation.
Tickets are 21 euro's, however we paid 30 euros each which included reliable transport organised via our Thomson rep Sharon. The acting and singing was of a high standard - I bought the CD after!
The venue is in a vaulted cavern with stunning lighting, a perfect dramatic backdrop for the story. Most seats are front row, as you sit along the walls of the cavern, with the musical then occurring across the length. This worked really well and added to the intimacy of the show.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amalfi Musical also viewed

 

Been to Amalfi Musical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalfi Musical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.